We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel opposite famous railway station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Central hotel opposite famous railway station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a lovely stay in Antwerp at the the Radisson Blu, booked via Eurostar offers. It is a strange modernist looking hotel used extensively by seminars and conferences. The room we were allocated smelled heavily of cigar smoke, even though it was labelled a non-smoking room. So we did not unpack and immediately requested a change which the hotel responded to without quibbling or checking our account. We were given a better room with a fantastic view overlooking Queen Astrid Square, a hub for travelling in and around Antwerp. It was a comfortable large room with all facilities in good working order, very clean with the most comfortable bed I used in a hotel in a long time. The hotel had a reasonable pianist/singer on in the evenings which helped us to chill out after a day's sightseeing. The breakfast was not included but priced at Euros 22 per head, so we made our own arrangements in the Cafe in the station opposite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Gerda L
Thank you for the great feedback. We are indeed a non-smoking hotel but I am glad to hear that your concerns got solved during your stay. I do however apologize for the inconvenience caused. For future bookings, I would recommend to check our rates inclusive of breakfast (at a reduced rate). We hope to welcome you back at the Radisson Blu Astrid soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    386
    149
    27
    16
See reviews for
95
322
38
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a work-related trip.
Arrived by train which is superb for this hotel. It is directly opposite the central station (the most beautiful train station I have ever seen)
So: great location!

Friendly quick check-in and there's free WiFi throughout the hotel once you log in with your room number.

The room was fine, bathroom definitely needs renovation: big crack in the sink and one of those shower-in-bath constructions that never really satisfies. Good bed. My room looked towards a street with a sex shop and gay bar, but it was quiet and I slept well even with the window open.

Had dinner, breakfast and lunch here. All good quality and tasteful meals. Plenty of choice at breakfast. It's a hotel so some of the food is a bit boring/standard. Friendly service from the hotel-college youths.

It is quite a walk into the old center of town and the immediate area around the hotel is a bit sleazy. So: ghastly location!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Nelsonhond
Thank you for your honest feedback about your latest stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. The hotel is indeed located conveniently if you are travelling by train. It’s great to hear that you truly enjoyed the meals our Chefs prepared. I am sorry though that we were not able to meet your expectations in all points and we have taken your suggestions on board. We do look forward to welcome you back soon at the Radisson Blu Astrid.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Decent size room albeit with small bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Vey good service both by the porter and the front desk. Parking in the basement. 1 minute walk from Central Station and the zoo. Always enjoy one of many good restaurants in Antwerp.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear hansenmf
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor. It is great that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and the "Yes I Can!" spirit of our team. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend visit in January 2013 but have stayed here on previous visits also. Really impressed by the standard of rooms and the very good service from staff both in terms of rooms and the bar area. Reasonable rates available and excellent standard of rooms and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Cjayn
Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your stay with us. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms and service excellent. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just for leaving we got a phonecall that the Park Inn was overbooked and if OK we could get an upgrade for the R.B. Astrid Hotel.
Arriving we asked for a frontside-room and got room 430. Very good sleep quality for a room with trams in front of you and built on a metro-station. Perfect frontdesk service.
The parkingservice of the hotel gave added value. The hotel was in the weekend very busy and they succeeded in a full house to keep breakfast going. Great job!
Location is perfect, ask for good restaurants at the front desk, they are prepared to give you full information, as for public transport.
We booked a very cheap package, were surprised by the upgrade, for that reason almost excellent. But of course it is a chain hotel, very busy and maintenace for the bath/shower tap was lacking.

Room Tip: Frontside rooms 4th flor and higher are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Family Sanders
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is very nice to hear you enjoyed the upgrade from Park Inn hotel to the Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel. We do our very best to give everybody the most pleasant stay. We will pass your comment regarding the bathroom to our maintenance department. We hope to welcome you back soon in the Park Inn or Radisson Blu Astrid hotel

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A typical chain Hotel situated in a good location for the Central Railway Station which is well worth a visit to see the wonderful old building and the platforms on several levels. This is the diamond district so lots of jewellery shops. Also close to the Zoo.

It is a 15 walk to old town but it is possible to take a tram if you prefer .

I had a standard room facing the inner courtyard on the 4th floor. There was a constant buzzing noise outside the room which I think may have been an extraction or air condition unit. Ask for a room on a higher floor or in a quiet location if this likely to bother you. Rooms are clean and comfortable with nice bath with shower over. There were two upright chairs around a small table which were not very comfortable for lounging or watching television.

The breakfast room and buffet were excellent and I agree with other reviewers comments about good service. I was not inspired by the main restaurant dinner menu but there are plenty of restaurants around the area,

Room Tip: See comments above ref. noise on low floors overlooking inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Trudy R
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is very nice to hear you find our rooms comfortable and clean and you enjoyed our breakfast. We recently expanded the menu in our restaurant so we hope our chef can inspire you during your next stay. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckz
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Radisson Blu is well situated near the train station and the zoo. We stayed in January and the people were very nice. A bit away from the main centre however ... a good 15 min walk away ... but thats nothing on a warm summers night or a cold winters evening!!
The spa was filled with business men and breakfast was a bit pricey .... we ate elsewhere :)

Room Tip: Non Smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djansen, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Puremanky
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It is nice to hear that our team showed its "Yes I Can!" spirit. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Dieter Acke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Address: Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, located right across Antwerp's Central Station (direct Thalys trains Paris - Amsterdam), offers 247 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Broadband WiFi (100 Mb) free of charge in the hotel. Underground parking available. A Direct train will take you from Brussels Airport to Antwerp Central Station in 34 minutes. The city offers a mixture of magnificent architecture,fashionable shops, pubs and clubs, dazzling monuments and restaurants with superb Belgian and multicultural food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Park Plaza Antwerp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.