We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #9 of 77 hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located near train station. The rooms are clean, there is a well equipped fitness facility. The hotel is withing walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The breakfast fuffet was excellent and had plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear qube2010,

Thank you very much for your positive review, hope your travels bring you back to us soon!

Kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    282
    113
    19
    8
See reviews for
65
227
31
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vina del Mar, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I only used it for a week on business and it was far below expectations on very basics things, like:
- Shower without constant temprature
- No Laundry pick up
- Room service always cold
- 45 mins to get a taxi
I stayed in a business room and it was far away from being worth 185 EUR a night...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear mmedo,

On behalf of our entire staff I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at our hotel. We have already taken some measures based on your feedback and we have had a meeting with our taxi-company we work with, to better serve our guests and have had a taxi standby during busy periods. In regards to your room service comments, I’m happy to inform you that we have just installed a brand-new kitchen and have implemented a new room service menu to speed up the process of room service delivery. The focus of this is to ensure that we are able to deliver quality (hot) room service meals to the room as per the Radisson Blu standard. I appreciate the feedback you have given us and we will continue to use it to fine tune our operations. We hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork - Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at the Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel in Antwerp for 2 nights over the weekend of 18/19th January.
I'm a Club Carlson member so try to use their hotels if good rates available. Rate on this hotel for standard room was good considering its location near the central station and walking distance to diamond, fashion, shopping and old-town districts.

Check-in, fast, friendly, efficient - though no info re breakfast was provided - but it was detailed in a hand-out related to our stay. Given room on fifth floor facing central station. Standard room - (RM528). Room was large enough with plenty of storage, safe, minibar, desk, iron etc. The Free bottled water is a nice touch. Bed was very, very comfortable. In fact even more comfortable to hotel beds in some 5* properties I have stayed in. Room was spotless. Carpet could do with a slight freshen up, actually, the hotel could do with a paint job. Some walls near the lifts and in the rooms had a lot of scuff marks. Bathroom wasn't great. It did the job but not very modern or user-friendly. Shower (over bath) was running hot/cold. Leaked out onto the floor. I'm tall and the whole lay out of it made me feel wobbly in the bath/shower. This is really the only negative I have re the room.

Breakfast was excellent. Great choice. Good quality. Fantastic room - view to the Astridplein and the magnificent Central Station. Wi-Fi was free (as in most Club Carlson hotels) and fast - yes, fast!

Front of house were very helpful giving advice on taxis, directions and meal bookings.

It snowed A LOT! while we were there and the hotel kept the reception area as clean as possible. Luckily we managed to get our flight back home to Ireland OK - just delayed a few hrs. Lots others were cancelled! Antwerp itself is a nice enough city. Typical central European feel to it. People very friendly. Lots of lovely walks but not actually much to do there - especially in the snow/cold! Lots of great bars and restaurants. Big gripe I had with Antwerp/Belgium is its still legal to smoke in doors in bars/restaurants/clubs. I cant believe it. In the country where the EU parliament is based! Just shows you how stupid really the whole EU project has become. The MPs probably want to smoke so they kept it legal!!! ugh!!!! I hate smoke.... Our hotel didn't have this problem though...so really my comment is an aside to the hotel review.

Hotel has a small pool, sauna, hot-tub. We didnt use these faclities but its always great to have these as an option.

Hotel also has an onsite Aquarium!! and its very close to Antwerp Zoo.

All in all we had a great stay in the Radisson Blu Astrid Antwerp. Totally recommend it. A great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Room facing Central Station/Astridplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear i-love-ayia-napa,

Thank you for the great feedback! There is nothing better than hearing that you had no complaints about your stay or our property. Our number one goal is guest satisfaction and we are so happy we have succeeded. May I just add that smoking indoors in Belgium is definitely not allowed! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Antwerp.

With kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I spent in this Radisson hotel two nights in November 2012 (11th and 12th) and left the place with absolutely great impressions. Before you choose the hotel you think first of the location, and here the Blu Astrid has got several adventages: near the Central Train Station ( one of the best in the world - as industrial and architectural wonder!!!!), near the Diamond district (if anyone needs more radiant stones) and very close to the historical center. See my pictures and be sure that hotel shows no ad. tricks - rooms (not only mine) are pretty spacious, airy and quiet. Breakfast is great and - most important! - you feel yourself there at home, all the staff is very-very polite and informative, you can get help and advice at any time (24/7)... My special thanks to two young and very professional ladies - Mandy and Roxanna and some their colleagues at the front desk and around. Somebody could say: train station, strange crowds, but I walked around day and even night and never-ever could notice anything alerting. Though I could imaging: yes, the Europe is changing rapidly, but Antwerp (Blu Astrid included!) somehow keeps his spirit and takes care of their own people and of us, visitors. Next time I am in Antwerp, promise to stay only in this hotel, if I am lucky to get the reservation.

alftul

Room Tip: What I know is: if you stay in my room # 616 you'll never regret!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Very Nice Hotel, with big room and bathroom. The hotel is in front of the station and on the square where is the stop for the brussel airport bus. The area offers a lot of restaurant. The connection is for free. The breacfast is great but expensive so I suggest to pick a rate where is included. The hotel has also the fitness center but I did not get chance to use it

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As our first choices were booked, we ended up at this hotel for 2 nights. We were given a room on the 5th floor which was very clean and an OK size. Service was a mixed bag, some folks were extremely helpful, while others (it seemed like only teenagers were working the front desk one day) weren't - as we had to wait 15+ minutes to get our bags back from storage after waiting very patiently, and after finally asking a 3rd staff member - we did - however, we almost missed our outbound train as a result...

Our room, while on a "non-smoking" floor reeked of marijuana smoke for both nights which was unfortunate. Also, the location was a big negative for us, not easy to walk to the most interesting parts of town (at least 20 mins) and being near a train station the area is also pretty seedy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

No. of nights: 1
Purpose: business

+Awesome location
+Delicious breakfast incl. nice view
+Gym&Pool
+Very clean room&bath
+Friendly staff

-Small parking garage if one has a bigger car

- Heating/airco system
- Stayed there many times at the same day of the week but the same roomtype is not always the same rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Astrid, General Manager at Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BTNGU,

Thank you for putting your nice review here on Tripadvisor! I hope we can welcome you back soon at the Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel!

Kind regards,

Didier Boehlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp

Address: Koningin Astridplein 7, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#12 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, located right across Antwerp's Central Station (direct Thalys trains Paris - Amsterdam), offers 247 rooms and 18 meeting rooms. Broadband WiFi (100 Mb) free of charge in the hotel. Underground parking available. A Direct train will take you from Brussels Airport to Antwerp Central Station in 34 minutes. The city offers a mixture of magnificent architecture,fashionable shops, pubs and clubs, dazzling monuments and restaurants with superb Belgian and multicultural food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp Hotel Antwerp
Park Plaza Antwerp

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.