We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems okay but slow internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Leopold Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
1 review
“Seems okay but slow internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Hate to say it, but when traveling for work, no high speed Internet is a serious problem.

My room smells a bit smokey and there was some hair in the bathroom.

That said, the hotel seems decent for the money, especially if high speed Internet isn't a concern. The staff were really nice and helpful here as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for making the effort to share with us your findings. I’m very sorry to say we recently had some WiFi issues and therefore were unable to guarantee an impeccable service to our guests, as we usually do. We are delighted to share with you that we are currently working on a new WiFi system for the entire hotel that will offer all guests impeccable, complimentary high speed WiFiI! All our rooms are non-smoking, however, we are sorry to say this rule is not always respected by everyone. It is absolutely unacceptable to find hair in the bathroom, as we pride ourselves with clean service. We will investigate what has happened and ensure such things are dealt with asap.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    227
    66
    13
    7
See reviews for
52
196
29
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The location near the city park is nice, especially if you have a room with a view, which are sold at a higher price. There was a bit of a mess at the reception:, I had booked 2 rooms, payed them in advance - but only one was reserved and they made us pay twice. When leaving, the hotel parking garage was charged but we did not use the garage. Double payment could not be settled on a Sunday... So, although staff was friendly - this was a mess.
Rooms are fine, bathroom ok, breakfast ok, not great. All in all not unhappy but surely not my favourite and next time I would look for another hotel, Average!

Room Tip: Room with a view is nice but comes at a cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are indeed located very centrally at the beautiful city park of Antwerp! Regarding your bill, on behalf of the reception staff, I do apologise for any confusion and delay. We hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Quick summary: this is the business-class hotel that tries harder. Good breakfast included. 10-minute walk to train station; 15-minute walk to town center. Helpful, friendly professional staff.

We stayed 4 nights in room 605, which felt pretty spacious. The king bed was two twin beds pushed together, but very comfortable. A range of pillows made for a good sleep, no matter your preference. Our room looked over the side street (partial park view) and was pretty quiet.

Good size work desk and utility plugs. Complimentary wifi works well and smoothly. You can get some work done here. Desk chair, two sitting chairs, and a side-table.

Good storage space for clothes in closet and drawers, places to put two suitcases if you want to work out of them.

Coffee/tea maker; large in-room safe; robe; a few English language TV channels as usual, i.e. CNN, etc. Many things that add up to a comfortable stay.

The bathroom is on the small side with a big sink. Problem: round-bottom bathtub with hand-held shower, but no grab bar. Yup - the husband slipped, and hit the edge of the tub and his head on the open door edge (he left it open because there was not fan in the bathroom -- to reduce the steam. He's okay, but no grab bar with a round-bottom tub and shower is a litigator's dream.) Nice herbal toiletries. Wash cloths as well as towels - not always available in European hotels.

Excellent housekeeping. Friendly, professional, helpful English-speaking staff at the desk.

Breakfast is pretty good, with many hot options in chafing dishes, and a nice range of pastries/breads, cereal, fruit buffet, veggie buffet, yogurts. The only issue is that the hot beverages come from a serve-yourself machine, but there is only one machine in the room. Things could get backed up on a busy morning. They need another machine to handle the crowd.

Sleek but friendly bar and lounge area. The big screen TV provided a sociable center for the World Cup games. On sight restaurant, but we usually went out and around instead.

Small things for improvement: the bedside lights could be brighter. Get a grab bar in the tub.

The location has good and less-good points. It is about a 10-minute walk to the train station. Not too bad, but not with a lot of luggage. Thank god for roll-ons. It is also in a very residential area with few restaurants in nearby blocks. So: unless you stay in the hotel or want the falafel restaurant around the corner, you'll have another 10-minute walk to anywhere else you'd want to dine, or a 15-20 minute walk into the town center. Again, not bad in nice weather, but not the most convenient. I recommend heading toward the city theater area for a range of options that feel less commercial than the places nearer the train station.

To the good: it is right across from a nice park where I saw a few runners, as well as playground, etc.

Antwerp is a wonder of restaurants and shops, historic sights. The hotel is close enough, even if it is not right in the center of things.

So: this is a wonderful business-class hotel that offers very good price/value. As long as you are willing to do a short walk to really enjoy Antwerp, this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this elaborate review! I’m pleased to read guests notice the little details we try and incorporate into the everyday operation of our boutique hotel!
Please inquire about the restaurant ‘La Cigale D’Argent’ which is just around the corner (5min. walk) from our hotel. Also some other places to eat are located at around 5 min. from the hotel but I suppose sometimes guests may take a detour without realising. We hope to be more helpful on your next stay regarding the eating facilities.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimy, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked the hotel for a Saturday night, through Booking.com for €96. Reviews were good and it didn't disappoint. A short walk from central station. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Desk service was helpful (help with directions) and polite. There were was a bar but we didn't get a chance to use it. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I didn't have breakfast, so not sure what it was like. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in Leopold Hotel and that we lived up to your expectations. Thank you for this kind review and we look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although Antwerp is not that far from Amsterdam, I hadn´t been there for ages. And that´s a shame really, ´cause the city has a lot to offer. A short visit included Rubens Huis, the MAS and the cathedral. Lunch at the Rode Hoed, an exquisite dinner at Graanmarkt 13 and one night in the Leopold hotel.

The hotel is conveniently close the central train station and on walking distance from the city centre, next to a park. Although my booking did not seem to have come through in good order (two rooms in stead of one) this was dealt with in a professional way. Rooms are what you can expect in this price class, clean and convenient, although the bath room might do with some upgrading. At the least a closer look at the state of the worn down and rather small towels would not hurt (although this seem to differ per room).

Bar tenders kept on bringing snacks to the people present and the free Leffe is of course a big bonus. Breakfast buffet consisted of all the things you could wish for.

Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is really convenient for the train station and other transport links and only 15-20 mins walk to the city centre. The room itself was clean with a large comfortable bed and a good shower.
However, our room overlooked a cafe which played really loud music until the early hours of the morning. The rooms away from the street would be much quieter!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you had a nice stay and in the same time we are sorry to hear that you didn't had your well deserved night sleep. Normally this is a quiet area, but in the weekend that you visited us the city hall organized a two days concert in the park across our hotel. We hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We lived in Antwerp 1990/1991 and used the Leopold as our base for our trip down memory lane, the hotel is well situated 5 mins from central station 5 mins from the Meir ( shopping) less than 10 mins from the old city. The staff were pleassant + helpfull we booked through the hotel web site (best price) and recieved a complimentary drink, didnt eat at there, all in all a nice stay. Our return to Antwerp was agreat success, it is a lovely city much nicer than Brussels + less touristy but loads to see + do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Leopold Hotel during your return trip to Antwerp. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our staff. We hope that whenever you decide to come back, we will have again the honour to accommodate you.

KInd regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#12 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopold Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.