We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leopold Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Nimy, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked the hotel for a Saturday night, through Booking.com for €96. Reviews were good and it didn't disappoint. A short walk from central station. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Desk service was helpful (help with directions) and polite. There were was a bar but we didn't get a chance to use it. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I didn't have breakfast, so not sure what it was like. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in Leopold Hotel and that we lived up to your expectations. Thank you for this kind review and we look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    289
    83
    14
    8
See reviews for
59
238
40
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although Antwerp is not that far from Amsterdam, I hadn´t been there for ages. And that´s a shame really, ´cause the city has a lot to offer. A short visit included Rubens Huis, the MAS and the cathedral. Lunch at the Rode Hoed, an exquisite dinner at Graanmarkt 13 and one night in the Leopold hotel.

The hotel is conveniently close the central train station and on walking distance from the city centre, next to a park. Although my booking did not seem to have come through in good order (two rooms in stead of one) this was dealt with in a professional way. Rooms are what you can expect in this price class, clean and convenient, although the bath room might do with some upgrading. At the least a closer look at the state of the worn down and rather small towels would not hurt (although this seem to differ per room).

Bar tenders kept on bringing snacks to the people present and the free Leffe is of course a big bonus. Breakfast buffet consisted of all the things you could wish for.

Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is really convenient for the train station and other transport links and only 15-20 mins walk to the city centre. The room itself was clean with a large comfortable bed and a good shower.
However, our room overlooked a cafe which played really loud music until the early hours of the morning. The rooms away from the street would be much quieter!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to read that you had a nice stay and in the same time we are sorry to hear that you didn't had your well deserved night sleep. Normally this is a quiet area, but in the weekend that you visited us the city hall organized a two days concert in the park across our hotel. We hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We lived in Antwerp 1990/1991 and used the Leopold as our base for our trip down memory lane, the hotel is well situated 5 mins from central station 5 mins from the Meir ( shopping) less than 10 mins from the old city. The staff were pleassant + helpfull we booked through the hotel web site (best price) and recieved a complimentary drink, didnt eat at there, all in all a nice stay. Our return to Antwerp was agreat success, it is a lovely city much nicer than Brussels + less touristy but loads to see + do.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Leopold Hotel during your return trip to Antwerp. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our staff. We hope that whenever you decide to come back, we will have again the honour to accommodate you.

KInd regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

+ nice staff, good location, clean, modern rooms, nice beds
- airconditioning is loud and doesn't work (makes 60db of noise, only brings the temperature down to 23 degrees Celsius), air quality is bad (1100 ppm of CO2, which is not good)

Room Tip: only book in winter, spring or summer would be too warm in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at our hotel. All guest comments, regardless of their nature, are very important to us. We will ensure our air conditioning system is checked and repaired. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Having booked at the Hotel Astoria nearby(same owner),I was greeted by the "offer" of an "upgrade" to a "four star" hotel at the same price.I therefore correctly deduced that the Astoria had overbooked,and therefore arrived at the Leopold somewhat annoyed.
Regardless of any 4/3star distinctions,I found the Leopold quite pleasant.I had a fourth floor room facing the road,with a leafy park beyond.There was no significant road noise,and the air conditioning was acceptably quiet and effective.There was plenty of space and furniture ,with excellent storage.The bathroom was most satisfactory with a large bath having the rare convenience of a proper soap rack ,proper towel storage,and generally a much more useful facility than new trendy fads of bowl-on-shelf etc.
There were two little annoyances.The bed,made from two large singles locked together,was too large for the bottom sheet or upper covers.The bathroom had the shocking omission of a humble toilet- brush.Apart from not having the item for my own use,this means that the maid must take one from room to room,with a potential risk of transmitting infection,as well as not being too pleasant for the maid!
The breakfast was similar to the Astoria,with no distinctive features and perhaps not of the claimed "four-star" standard in that there was almost complete use of pre-packed preserves,only one cheese in a state of nature,and a very basic juice dispensing machine.Bread was confined to two types of roll and factory sliced(for the toaster).Perhaps this comment is being fussy-I have been to France a lot recently....
For the price,the Leopold provides a very comfortable stay in a pleasant location by a park

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this nice and detailed review regarding our hotels. Your review is very important to us as it helps us in our strive to provide a high quality service to every one of our customers. We hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels in Antwerp.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel. Rooms are quite spacious, the staff is great and the breakfast very good. The location was also very convenient. The hotel price was also a surprise in the good way. I would rate it excellent if they had a drive way or an easy way to unload the car upon arriving.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Leopold Hotel and for this great review. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.7 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#2 of 77 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#11 of 77 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#6 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopold Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.