We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leopold Hotel Antwerp to your Saves list
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package tour and I don't think I would have picked a better hotel myself. Great hotel in a convenient location, about 10 minutes walk to Keyserlei and the beginning of the shopping district and to the central train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful and when we asked to change rooms because of traffic noise there was no problem. An excellent choice for breakfast each morning. Rooms were a good size and modern after a refresh a couple of years ago. Our first room was one a front corner on the first floor above some traffic lights so there was some noise but we moved to a higher floor overlooking the park and it was quiet. The only gripe I would have was the WiFi tended to be weak in the rooms but that would not turn me off returning. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high or at the back if you need quiet or are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Leopold Hotel for your trip to Antwerp and for your nice review. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back one day.

We wish you a very happy Holiday Season and a New Year filled with prosperity.

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    257
    75
    14
    8
See reviews for
56
216
33
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel is situated opposite the city of Antwerp's park and is an easy, ten minute, walk from the central rail way station. The entrance, through a manually revolving door, is flat (street level) and would probably be suitable for wheel chair access. The check in staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Our large double room was situated on the 7th floor (reached by lift) and to the rear of the building. The room is well appointed, with en suite bathroom room (shower over bath), tastefully decorated and furnished and very clean. The bed was large (two large singles zipped together) and very comfortable for a good nights sleep. The bar, opposite reception, was well appointed and looked after room service.The staff here were very helpful and friendly and made one feel welcome.
The only negative thing I can think of was that the room maid forgot to restock the beverages tray with coffee whitener one afternoon. Such is life!
Overall; a good city centre, well run medium sized hotel, which I would have no hesitation in using again to visit the beautiful city of Antwerp..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for the time that you have taken to fill in this review. I am very happy that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. I will share these comments with my team and hope to be able to welcome you in the future.

We wish you a Happy Holiday Season and a wonderful New Year!

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The trains between Antwerp and the Netherlands no longer run after ten in the evening, so I got stuck in Antwerp last weekend. Because of the coming holidays and the current Christmas market, it turned out to be very hard to find a hotel for the night. The people at the front desk of Leopold helped me out by making a whole bunch of calls to other hotels in an effort to find me a room, which they eventually did.
Thank you guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review. We´re happy that we were able to help you and we hope whenever you decide to come to Antwerp again you will consider our hotel for accommodations.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in a corner room, which is more spacious. It's also clean and the bed is comfortable.
Hotel location is very good, right at the Central Park, next to the Central Station and some nice stores.
Staff is frendly and helpful.
Breakfast is very good.
A good cost-benefit hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We always do our best to guarantee to all of our guests a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albania
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Last year the TripAdvisor logo is every where. I selected this hotel for the stay because of the good reviews here. And it was right. Good location - two blocks from the central station - it is also not that far from the city center. We walked to there. As a lazy tourist we find that the room looking to the park (in reality across the busy street) is good and the equipment works well. Breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

First of all the positives: good location, well decorated (if a bit dated) and good to have tea/coffee facility in the room. Also easy check-in and check-out.
And now the not so positives: for a four star hotel we were disappointed with the level of service. For example, on returning to the hotel at about 10pm we went to the bar to get a night cap - there was no member of staff anywhere to be seen. When someone did eventually emerge, they were with some friends who had some takeaway food and they had a nice little chat at the bar. We weren't even acknowledged; so we went to bed without buying a drink. Added to this, the reception staff weren't particularly friendly or welcoming and I just felt like I made the wrong choice of hotel. Another issue for me (although not unique to this hotel) is I cannot stand a "double room" actually being two twin beds shoved together. It's so uncomfortable. Other hotels I've been to have dealt with this by having some sort of cover to put on top of the two mattresses; but not here. Needless to say, I wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Leopold Hotel. Your comments are very important for us as we always strive for improvement to offer our clients the best service. After reading your complaint about our staff, I personally investigated the issue.The people standing at the bar with take away food were not friends neither staff. They were regular guests from the hotel having a conversation.
We apologize for the inconvenience and regret that you did not enjoy your stay due to a misunderstanding. We truly hope you will give us a second chance next time when you visit Antwerp.

Best regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Good hotel! I got a room at the front which is at a busy street, but I was not bothered by it at all, very soundproof.
The bed was very nice and the bathroom too.

Minor issues were an empty minibar (why?) and a non-reset safe (open and locked so I couldn't put anything in it).

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back (x1x instead of x0x), the front rooms have park view but also are close to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranceDZ, General Manager at Leopold Hotel Antwerp, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for your time and review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We do not fill the minibars in the rooms anymore since we offer a wide range of products to our clients in our Grab&Go shop (open 24h/24). Our hotel staff is always at your service to reset the safe. We apologize fot this minor discomfort.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

France De Zutter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leopold Hotel Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopold Hotel Antwerp

Address: Quinten Matsijslei 25, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopold Hotel Antwerp 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leopold Hotel Antwerp(former Carlton Hotel) has undergone a complete refurbishment and metamorphosis in 2009. Our 127 fully renovated guest rooms offer high quality Hypnos beds with a minimum size of 180 cm. The spacious rooms are decorated in hip, yet warm colour schemes, including I-Pod docking station and free Wifi. Leopold Hotel Antwerp is a contemporary 4 star hotel offering friendly and flexible service, all day food & drinks in a loungy atmosphere. The Leopold is all you may expect from a city centre boutique hotel. It's smart and sophisticated yet fun and just that little bit quirky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Leopold Hotel Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Leopold Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leopold Hotel Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.