We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Antwerpen to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel for business...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Crown Plaza is my choice hotel when I visit Antwerp. It is a well run property that offers good service and fair value. The room was very functional and offered most of the things you would expect to find in a business hotel. The environment of the hotel is nice and all of the facilities seem to be well maintained. To sum up this is a good hotel for a business stay !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear RickyRbts,

Thank you very much for your great review.

It's such a pleasure to read all your positive remarks as we are focussing on being THE business hotel in Antwerpen.

I’m pleased to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    223
    139
    41
    26
See reviews for
53
161
32
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip recently. Check-in was painful as the hotel had clearly not geared up for a large group arriving simultaneously. Once in, the room was spacious and clean and well enough appointed for the needs of a travelling businessman.
The bathroom was clean and came with essentials as required. The wardrobe space was large and there was a safe also.
Complimentary bottles of water were a nice touch, although the mini-bar was empty, so a tease that could've backfired if I'd relied upon it to have a midnight snack.
The bar in the hotel is pleasant enough, but does feel like exactly what it is....a hotel bar. I was surprised when returning from a night in town and fancying a nightcap to be told by the barman that the bar was closed and the only way to get a beer would be to go to the petrol station down the road. I found this to be most offensive, and even when I qualified myself as a resident, he advised that room service would not be able to pour a beer.
The town centre is about 3 miles away, which means you'll need to grab a cab. Not a huge problem, but certainly a surprise when you book a city hotel that you expect to be in the middle of things.
All in all, it's clean, modern, functional but quite a way out of town, but I would stay there again, but now armed with additional knowledge.

Room Tip: To get a good view of the city, which is a few miles away, get to the tenth floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Liamnye,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review on tripadvisor.

It's a pleasure to read all the points you loved during your stay.

Please know that all our minibars contains only a complimentary water. You can actually fill your minibar with products from out of our Grab & Go that is located next to our reception desk at the ground floor. This way of working offers our guests a larger collection of products which they can choose to keep them cold in their own minibar.
This service is open 24/7 so I am very surprised to read our barman has send you to the
gasstation. Offcourse I will give the restaurant your feedback to avoid this feedback in future.

Please also know you can make use of public transportation to the city center in front of our hotel. This (shuttle) service will take you to the town center every 10 minutes.

Thank you so much for your feedback once hope to welcoming you back soon,

Best regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a good hotel. The rooms are a good size. The staff are helpful. The decor was fine. The bar area was comfortable. It is quite a way out, at least a 45 min walk to the centre . We asked the desk how much a taxi was. They said around 10 -15 euros to the centre. We were charged over 20 euros, they go on the meter and took the long way around. Someone else said they paid a similar amount. On the way back it was 13 euros, so that was a bit disappointing , not the hotels fault but it leaves the hotel guests feeling unhappy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear AXB1,

Thank you to share your experiences of your last stay online

It's been a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I am so sorry to read there were problem regarding your taxi service. We always try to avoid these cases as we are working close together with the biggest taxi company in Antwerpen.

Please know you are also able to use a very efficient public transport line in front of our hotel that brings you to the city center within 10 minutes. This bus will drive every 10 minutes.

Me and my team are looking forward to welcome you back soon for another positive stay!

Best regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a european coach tour. Beautiful public areas, very modern and attractive. The bedrooms however are in need of updating and seem to be stuck in a nineties time warp. That said the rooms were exceptionally clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The staff in all areas of the hotel were very helpful and friendly. A pleasant 1 nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear greatobealive,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to read everything was as you expected it to be at time of booking.
We have indeed renovated our lobby and restaurant recent. I would like to let you know we are still undergoing an upgrade regarding our guestrooms.

Very good to read you have noticed guest satisfaction and the attitude of our staff are one of the most important points we are focus on at the moment.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Arrived on Saturday evening on the 7th June after a long drive via France. We were greeted by Merlin at the front desk and he made our checkin so smooth and really looked after us 4. He showed excellent customer service which we really appreciated. Even when we got to our rooms he checked with us if everything is ok. Our one night stay was excellent and we shall be back as we were shown fantastic customer service. Many thanks to Merlin and his team.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Hardeep,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell other travellers about your very positive experience here at our hotel.
A great service and a good quality room and leisure center are our top priorities and we're happy to see you enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was superb! Excellent facilities and rooms tidy, clean and comfortable. Nice touches like complimentary water and Antwerp biscuits was thoughtful. Breakfast had a lot of variety and coffee machine excellent. Gym was open from 6am to 11pm was well equipped so no complaints. Check in was smooth and staff very pleasant.

Overall, price was good / food excellent - really good value!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Globetrotter,

it's great to see that your travel plans brought you to Antwerpen and that you enjoyed staying with us!

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hi Crowne Plaza team,

After 2½ years staying in your hotel on a weekly basis, I am still a very happy customer and that is because of your excellent hospitality and the warm welcome of your staff and also because of the facilities your hotel is offering.
It is great to see that you are improving on a continuous basis, like the new digital TV system, increasing the Wifi capacity and a new airco-system.
All these improvements are done without increasing the room rates.

Besides, the sports and leisure area is also great and always very clean.
It is a pleasure to swim in the big heated swimming pool and relax in the spacious sauna and steam room.

Furthermore, I highly appreciate your loyalty programme “Priority Club” of IHG which offers a lot of choices for redeeming really a free hotel night without block out dates, you often see with other loyalty programmes.
So, keep up the good work and see you next week !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Pascal,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen with other travellers.
It's great to see you're enjoying staying with us and it's always a pleasure hosting you!

Best regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.