We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World drug free powerlifting 2013 venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Antwerpen to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“World drug free powerlifting 2013 venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for the World drug free powerlifting 2013 over 5 days. This is a modern well kept Hotel around 4 miles from Antwerp City Centre (Local bus leaves regularly from a stop straight outside the Hotel €2 euros at time of writing this review each way) Food is of a good standard with a range of Beers, Wines and Spirits available (Quite pricey, but to be expected in a Hotel of this star rating in Belgium) Good service from friendly staff. Would defiantly stay here again when next in Antwerp.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Chris E,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay experience here on TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure hosting you and the World drug free powerlifting event at our hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to share you kind comments with my entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen if your travel plans bring you back to Antwerp!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    220
    136
    40
    26
See reviews for
53
158
32
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sadly we were only here for one night en route for a business trip to Germany. We had stayed here before several years ago as it is convenient for the motorway. We were delighted to see that the hotel had been renovated and in such an innovative and interesting way. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, efficient and welcoming. Everywhere was clean and the breakfast was enjoyable with plenty of choice. However the hot food could have been hotter. As we were only at the hotel for one night we did not have time to visit the city centre but we were told that we could have caught a bus just outside and for 2 Euros we would be in the centre. There were also bicycles to hire. Checkout was quick and efficient. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the quality was very good with excellent presentation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Patricia V,

Thank you for taking your time to share your positive experience here on TripAdvisor!
It gives me great pleasure to read that you like the renovation that has been done to the hotel in order to improve our guest stay experience.

I am happy to share your positive comments with my team and I would like to thank you for your feedback, as it is a base for us to further improve your future experiences at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen next time you travel to Antwerp, and hopefully you’ll find the time to visit the beautiful city center as well!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was a nice experience , Nice Stay!! Enjoyed three weeks here , the rooms are clean and basic, breakfast was good, something for everyone. The decor and pool are pretty awesome I want a pool like that at home. very modern but seems a bit odd having boutique-esq decor in the reception and then the rooms are standard for crowne plaza.I would definitely recommend for business and leisure travellers alike. The hotel is located a bit out of the centre of Antwerp, and my taxi cost about €14 from the Centraal station.

Abu Paul
Bangalore , INDIA

Room Tip: I was staying in the 12th floor , It was a nice view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Abupaul,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience in Crowne Plaza Antwerpen with fellow travellers here on TripAdvisor!
It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I’m happy to share your comments with our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back if you travel to Antwerpen again!
Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The rooms are clean and basic, breakfast was good, something for everyone. The decor and pool are pretty awesome I want a pool like that at home. very modern but seems a bit odd having boutique-esq decor in the reception and then the rooms are standard for crowne plaza. It really isnt convenient for the centre of town, it was clean and served its purpose. It is comfortable and I had a good night sleep. They over charged me for my roooms for which I had to point out and got a refund on. THe staff at reception werent the friendliest or most helpful I had to ask myself where and when breakfast was you would think this is infomration you would volunteer to your guests when they check in. you get what you pay for it is the Crowne plaza after all not like you are staying at a 5 star hotel, not memorable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear KavitsMJ

Thank you for taking your time to post about your stay here on TripAdvisor.

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed our recently renovated and modern pool.
It is true that the hotel is not located in the City Center, that is why we built the entire hotel in the atmosphere of Antwerp, so that if you don’t make it to the city center, you still enjoyed a nice part of Antwerp!

We do have a bus that stops right in front of the hotel and takes you to the center in about 10 minutes if you wish to visit the historical city center.

We absolutely appreciate the feedback you posted, as this is a great tool for us to grow in guest experience, so thank you again and we hope to welcome you back if your travel plans bring you to Antwerpen again!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here a few years ago . The hotel was fairly nice and staff pleasant.

On my return have noticed a HUGE renervation has taken place. The whole hotel has had a face lift which makes it warm, inviting and a pleasure to do business.

The staff are great, always willing to help. Say hi to Merlin always seems to be on front desk and what a nice guy.

Food is great, try the entrecote!!

Beds are cumpfy and nice. Black out curtains , Perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Indiana_Tricky

Thank you very much for your positive review here on TripAdvisor!
Our hotel has indeed been renovated, and I’m very pleased to read that this improved your stay experience!

It is my pleasure to share your kind words with my whole team.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back here at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen!

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'm using this hotel when I travel to Belgium since 2 year now and I was never disappointed by the hotel.
the room are confortable and the staff always dedicated.
Good restaraunt and bar
Sprot, SPA and pool are very nice and always clean

Room Tip: Room in the upprt level are quieter than the 1st or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear 37Pascal,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor!
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service you received here at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you travel to Antwerpen again!
Warm regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Antwerp for a business meeting and I was extremely satisfied with the hotel and its staff team members. I would definitely recommend for business and leisure travellers alike.

The hotel is located a bit out of the centre of Antwerp, and my taxi cost about €14 from the Centraal station. The decoration throughout was very modern and with lovely modern touches. There is even a 'food shop' located near the reception, with sandwiches, snacks, drinks etc, which I thought it was quite handy if you are in a hurry. Check-in was very smooth and the receptionist was very nice and welcoming.

I was given a room on the 11th floor, with nice views to the park. Size was good and decoration was also very modern. Room was very clean, with all the amenities you'd get in a business hotel.

I had dinner at their Anna restaurant, and it was very good. The service was a bit slow, however the team members were working really hard, as the restaurant was quite full. Service, again, was very good, with the waitress being quite friendly. Breakfast was very good also, a lot of variety, much more than you'd normally get (at least in the UK!), there were many hot items, but I really enjoyed the choices with the cold meats, cheeses and 6 types of bread and bread rolls!

As I delivered a training at this hotel, I really enjoyed their meeting rooms and their food options. The meeting room was located on the last floor, with amazing views from the top. The food was really good and with great presentation - I had to take a picture, it was really different from what I'm used to in hotels across the UK. The team members were very helpful, and really helped me to have a great and productive meeting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear JulesM2012,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience here on Tripadvisor.
I’m very glad to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and meeting here at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen!

It gives me great pleasure to share your kind words with my whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you travel to Antwerpen again !

Kind regards,

Hans Wils
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Antwerpen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Antwerpen

Address: Gerard Le Grellelaan 10, Antwerp 2020, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Antwerpen 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into the modern Crowne Plaza Antwerpen hotel for easy access to Brussels Airport and central Antwerp.In a leafy residential area known as the Green Heart of Antwerp, Crowne Plaza Antwerpen is surrounded by parks and green zones. This welcoming high-rise hotel affords city or park views from all its stylish rooms, and you can log on to complimentary wireless Internet anywhere in the hotel.Brussels Airport is 30 minutes by airport shuttle bus, which stops directly outside Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. You can hop on local buses to reach Antwerp's historic centre in 10 minutes. We're seconds from Antwerp's Ring Road, with easy access to the rest of Belgium, and halfway between Holland and France. Leave your vehicle in our ample car park.The Crowne Meetings Team can arrange successful conferences for up to 500 theatre-style in one of our 14 meeting rooms. All rooms have complimentary WiFi (60 MB per 24hrs), while those on the 16th floor offer spectacular city views, sure to impress clients. Enjoy complimentary access to Octopus, the pool & wellness centre of Crowne Plaza Antwerpen.Mingle with locals over a business lunch or family dinner at the relaxing Anna Living and Bar. From the sumptuous breakfast buffet to a sandwich between meetings, a Belgian beer after sightseeing or a succulent steak for dinner, you'll find an enticing menu throughout the day at Crowne Plaza Antwerpen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Antwerpen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Antwerpen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.