We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location isn’t everything” 1 of 5 stars
Review of HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral to your Saves list
HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Handschoenmarkt 3, Antwerp B-2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
A TripAdvisor Member
“Location isn’t everything”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2005

The location of this hotel is quite something. The deafening frequent chimes from the cathedral a few feet away is more amusing than annoying.

The problem with this hotel is you feel you’re living in the ‘before’ photo , prior to a demolition or complete re-fit.

I don’t mind ‘worn’, ‘faded’ or a bit of ‘character’, I do object to filth, mould and a touch of resigned apathy from the otherwise pleasant staff.

Shame on Best Western, this is a great location for a nice hotel, unfortunately, it’s down the street and much cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    33
    25
    13
See reviews for
13
47
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ArroyoGrande
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

Would have given this hotel five stars for its location and the view of the cathedral and colorful market square. However our room was a shambles, with drapes hanging loose above the windows and dirty stained chaircovers. Everything about this hotel says "Clean me up because I deserve it!". Would we stay again, yes, probably because of the remarkable location But I would bring my own linens and a can of lysol spray. Really not so fussy but this was too much! Active travelers in their 60s from Califoria.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

The location is wonderful, and, with the windows closed during a very cold spell, I had no problems with noise. The management supplies earplugs for those who cannot abide the cathedral bells. A plethora of shops, restaurants, and all the sights are in walking distance. The staff is extremely friendly. My room was large, with an almost kingly Queen Size bed, nice and comfortable furniture. The rooms were clean, but the curtains rather shabby. But sitting at night at the windows of a comfy room with a beautiful view, with a great (and rather inexpensive) bottle of red wine from the brasserie downstairs, one thinks of returning any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

This is our second time in Antwerp, last year we stayed in the SAS Radisson Park Lane, which was good value and a super hotel for the diamond district but a bit of a trek for sightseeing, so this year we wanted something closer to the heart and picked the Villa Mozart because of it’s location, rating and price.

Yes the rooms are tried and perhaps the management are relying too much on it’s location, therefore the Villa Mozart is really a 3 star hotel and to be fair at three star prices (€103/ night early web special) and when you accept this you will not be further disappointed because the location is the best in the city. Between Grote Markt and Groenplaats and in the same square as the Cathedral (Handschoenmarkt), all the sights of this city - and there are many - are a few feet away. It is in the heart of the city and when you’re in the heart you can feel it’s beat – so you can expect some noise from revellers and the Cathedral bells – for us this was part of the experience and added to it’s pleasure.

It gets 4 circles because we had a fabulous weekend and would return again tomorrow. If you have your heart set on 4/5 star quality try the Hilton but you will pay for it, otherwise book the Villa Mozart for it’s location, because, like us you probably won’t spend much time in the room there is too much to see, the city overflows with cafes, brasseries, bars, restaurants, museums ………………….

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2005

Visited the fabulous city of Antwerp in April 2005 and a friend booked us into the 4 star Villa Mozart. The hotel has the best location you could want for shopping, sight seeing, restaurants, bars and clubs! Fabulous. However don't expect a 4-Star decor. We booked a junior suite for the three of us. This had a double bed and two single beds. Rooms are old and a little shabby - shower was spraying everywhere except into the shower, sheets were ripped. Not exactly what I would expect from a 4* hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.. so if you aren't expecting luxury, then this hotel has everything else. One thing.. you are overlooking the square and the cathedral.. the BELLS ring every 15 mins from about 7.15 in the morning!! Not suitable if you will be sampling lots of the Belgian Beers!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2005

We visited Antwerp in December 2004 ...

This hotel is located in the same square as the beautiful cathedral. It is such a wonderful location. Walking distance from the River, shopping, wonderful restuarants, Groenplaats, Grote Markt, subway and streetcar. This worked really well for us, as we were only going to be in Antwerp for 36 hours.

Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a private bath and two single beds. The windows opened up to a beautiful view of the cathedral. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous.

My only complaint was that the hairdryer wasn't very powerful. So my advice is to bring your own hairdryer and adaptor! The price was a little bit higher than I would have liked, but the location made up for that.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2004

great location but be aware of the noise from the late bar hounds and the mulitple garbage pickups.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral

Address: Handschoenmarkt 3, Antwerp B-2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Antwerp
Classic Hotel Antwerp
Antwerp Classic Hotel
Antwerp Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HotelO Antwerpen Kathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.