We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free entrance and Guide Book on Culture Day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockox House

Rockox House
Keizerstraat 12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
32 (0) 3 201 92 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 113 things to do in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Free entrance and Guide Book on Culture Day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

One for the diary - UK August Bank holiday Sunday is Culture Day. Free entrance to all Museums & Galleries. The Rockox House was real gem of a find. The Guide Book was a handy size and was one of the most informative and best produced I have seen. Everything was nice about this place. Friendly, informative staff made this one of the best little gallery/museums I have been to. A MUST see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
214 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Rockox House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is essentially an art collection displayed in the house of an old mayor of Antwerp. It consists of only a few rooms but with lovely art and furnishings. A free English booklet is available as well as a short video with English subtitles about the mayor, house and art collection. Photos are allowed inside without flash and entry is free with the Antwerp City Card. It is worth a quick visit if you are close by and have the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“zen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

during a short visit to the center of Antwerp, we had the opportunity to visit the Rockox house. great treasures from the old days, kept in an immaculate state. If you manage to get in there, don't let the opportunity pass you by

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Compact, but very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lots of Flemish paintings to see, as well as a useful short film to watch with English subtitles that is well worth the time to put things in context. The garden is very pretty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A small gem of a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I were looking for an art museum to visit during a late aftenoon after having just arrived by train in Antwerp. We found this small museum very close to our hotel and decided to give it a try. First, the staff were all very friendly, not stuffy at all which is often the case at larger more pretentious museums. Next, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the art work housed here, particularly the Flemish Medieval to early Renaissance pieces. They also had a number of paintings on temporary loan from the main art museum of Antwerp which was closed due to rennovation. Overall, we spent only about an hour which was quite enjoyable and the length of time we wanted to devote for that particular afternoon. It's well worth a short visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockox House also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Rockox House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockox House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.