We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food, ambience & service in Old City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estro Armonico

Estro Armonico
Oude Koornmarkt 16, Antwerp 2000 , Belgium
+32 3 226 08 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 984 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Maryland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Perfect food, ambience & service in Old City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Hard to find but very worth it. All food cooked over open fire....best baked potato iI ever had....lamb delicious, salad with chopped apples divine...great lamb brochettes.....but the dish I will remember is this baked apple with Calvados for dessert...
An intensely personal experience. My new favorite restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

An Antwerp gem! Food is excellent. Service is also great. The place had 2 servers, one being the chef who cooked the bread, potatoes and meat on an open grill.

For starters try the Brick, Salad with bacon (I'd order two!) and the Artichoke dish. We were very happy with our lamb chops and fillet mignon. Not too happy with the apple pie but a lot seemed to like it. I can't wait to go back and try their other dishes!

We were a group of 5 adults and 2 kids. our bill came to 150 Euros. Not bad for the amount of food we had and how pleased we were with our meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hard to find but please don't give up get to the ally way 16 Oude koornmarket got at the end you will find a gem of a Resto
Must have the streak & baked potatoes , yummy wine list is small but great for the menu . Love it

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Marvelous hidden gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend and I ate here with friends of hers while visiting Antwerp. This restaurant was marvelous. As others have mentioned, watch the steps going down and up, they are steep and slippery in the rain.

Once inside you feel like you are in another time. There is an open wood grill in the small dining area where various things are grilled and heated. The menu is surprisingly well-priced for the atmosphere and quality of the restaurant. I love lamb but am particular about the way I like it to taste so I rarely order it. Here, I decided to try it and am so glad I did, Delicious, savory, perfectly cooked. I rate it as one of the five best meals I've had in my travels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“your clothes will remember you were there...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good grilled meat and friendly staff at normal Belgian prices. Nothing really over the top, but you'll be OK.
Two potential drawbacks: (1) watch the stairs to enter the restaurant, as they are really steep and small; (2) because it is a (very) closed cosy space, you are seating in the same area where your meat is being grilled, and whatever you have on will smell like grilled meat for the rest of the night.
Would I go back? Only on a cold winter night, as I am sure it will feel very warm inside...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estro Armonico also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Estro Armonico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estro Armonico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.