We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value hotel in lovely area of city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Antwerpen Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Antwerpen Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Meistraat 39, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great value hotel in lovely area of city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

stayed here for weekend with partner.the hotel is very clean with small bar and dining area next to the lobby.staff are friendly and speak good English and were helpful with directions around the city.we ate in the hotel on our first night as it was evening time when we arrived and were hungry.they serve a good selection of Belgian beer and the food was lovely too,i had the chicken korma and my partner had lasagne the portions are quite large it was hard to finish them.on the sunday morning of our stay there was a large outdoor market right across from the hotel,so for anyone who enjoys shopping this is a good area to be in at the weekend.overall a very pleasant stay rooms are cosy beds are comfy and for the price we paid I think it was excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for this nice review! we hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon,

best regards,
Team Ibis Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    324
    199
    34
    14
See reviews for
66
295
73
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised on my second visit to this hotel - the first was in 1997. It still benefits from a central, but quiet, location, within about 15 minutes walk of the main station. Its ghastly brutal architecture has blended in with its surroundings a little more now. It has been well looked after, and was probably cleaner and more shiny now than on my last visit. The welcome was fine.

I do like the new Ibis beds; my room had one and the difference was noticeable.

The bathrooms are still appallingly cramped. People with long legs (like me) have to sit on the loo carefully to avoid banging your knees on the wall in front of you. It's difficult to open the shower door without opening the main bathroom door (there's nowhere to stand). There was a certain amount of plumbing noise, coming either from the bathroom or the aircon unit, which could become annoying.

For the price I paid, this was good value. I would happily put up with its minor drawbacks for another visit. Antwerp grows on you as a city, especially if you have time to walk around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Great to read about your Ibis experience 17 years after your first stay in our hotel ! The hotel had indeed been fully renovated, and also the facade has been cleaned.
All our rooms have new Ibis beds, and are equipped with airco & flatscreen TV, Free Wi-Fi..

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Based on the knowledge that this is a budget hotel, I considered this an excellent stay. The location is phenomenal - close to shopping and the historic centre and across the street from the theatre (which is the reason we were there). The check-in and service throughout our stay was friendly. The rooms were modern and clean. They're a bit small, but as long as you're there to see the city and not stay in your hotel room, it's perfectly fine. Since it's a no-frills hotel, there's no breakfast or parking included, but if you walk down the street to Bakkerij van Helmont, you'll have a much better breakfast than you could hope for at any hotel. There's a market in the square across from the hotel on Sundays as well, which is fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We very much enjoyed your positive experience of our hotel and Antwerp, thanks for sharing!
As an alternative for the buffetbreakfast we also serve excellent coffee & croissants at our bar for only €6 !
See you next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is excellent, we were within walking distance of all of the central attractions and shopping. On Saturday and Sunday there is a large market on the square in front of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Excellent that the hotel is actively busy with sustainability (a bit annoying that they kept replacing the towels even though the old ones were hung up instead of on the ground). Parking is underground in front of the door. Convenient, but quite expensive at €18/day.

The rooms are clean and basic. There is very little storage space. The bathroom was tiny, even for Ibis standards. Some parts of the hotel are outdated (e.g. the hall and the stucco walls), but everything is okay.

We decided to skip the breakfast buffet and found more affordable and delicious options nearby.

We found it a bit ridiculous that you had to pay (€5) to have your baggage stored in lockers during the last day (have never experienced that in a hotel before).

Good for a weekend option, a bit too cramped for a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo D, Manager at Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, we try to improve our services by listening to our guests !
The lockers in the luggage room have been installed to ensure everyone's property. We have different sizes of lockers, even for €2 bags can be left safely with us.

we hope to welcome you again in our hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Antwerpen Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Antwerpen Centrum

Address: Meistraat 39, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Antwerpen Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum is in the heart of the historic town centre of Antwerp, near the famous Vogelenmarkt marketplace, Rubens House, the main shopping street (known as Le Meir) and just 700 m from the railway station as well as close to theatres. Book one of our 150 rooms and make the most of our facilities, a restaurant, bar with terrace area open 24 hours and 2 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Business guests will appreciate use of WiFi Internet access, public parking also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Antwerpen Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum Hotel Antwerp
Ibis Hotel Antwerpen Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Antwerpen Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.