We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Antwerpen Noord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Antwerpen Noord to your Saves list
Novotel Antwerpen Noord
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luithagen Haven 6, Antwerp 2030, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK/Antigua
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed next door, but wanted a decent evening meal (we were very tired after a very long drive across Germany at the end of a holiday weekend). Receptionist recommended the restaurant at the Novotel, and we were pleasantly surprised.

We both opted for an entrecôte with frites and bearnaise and these were delicious - just as a good Belgian steak should be. My daughter ordered spag bol, but this was unavailable, so she opted for the ribs, which were very good indeed - and a huge portion.

Lovely waffles for pudding (and my OH was impressed with his tarte tatin).

My only criticism would be that it would have been nice to have a couple of more child-friendly options - actually even adults like a good burger - but overall, a very good meal, especially washed down with some delicious Leffe blonde.

Not cheap, but not outrageous either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear,

many thanks for your comments. Very happy that you have found the way to our hotel restaurant. The collaboration between the Ibis Budget Port and the Novotel Antwerp, both from the same Accor family, is an advantage for all customers. Many thanks for your detailed input, this will help us to improve our servives even more.

Always welcome

Best regards

Bram Maes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    127
    65
    19
    4
See reviews for
83
39
25
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We a family of two adults and two children stayed here over Easter. We need to say that we had paid for the breakfast in the price and it was the best one we've ever had. Hot and cold food, and lots of it. The check in staff were uber friendly, and were able to answer our questions in perfect English! The gymnasium was a good size too. There was a lot of room in our family suite too but it was a little dated, but this wasn't a problem.

Yes, it was a little way from the city centre, but that's what we wanted as we had our car with us and the parking and wifi was free at this hotel for our entire stay of three nights. Definitely recommend and we are hoping to repeat the stay.

Room Tip: Try and book a room overlooking the swimming pool if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
it's very nice to read that we have succeed in our 3 main objectives, to share our hospitality with you and your family, to offer you a great stay and furthermore to read that you would like to comeback.
Many thanks for these super comments and hopefully we will be able to welcome you very soon again in the Novotel Antwerp.
Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stay at Novotels quite often. Like many chain hotels they are a bit boring, but when travelling on business they provide acceptable comfort at a reasonable price. Unfortunately, this is probably the worst Novotel I have stayed at. The hotel is old and the bedrooms and bathrooms need refurbishing. The restaurant, reception and bar areas are newer and better. However, dinner was really boring and aren't any other eating options in the area.

The location is industrial. So OK if you need somewhere near the motorway, but not if you intend to visit Antwerpen.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. These comments are used to increase on a daily basis our services.
It's true that we are still planning a renovation of 1 floor of bedrooms and 1 floor of bathrooms! All others have been refurbished between 2011-2013. We are trying to offer in the restaurant good value for money with as main objective to offer something for all. Having customers from a lot of nationalities it's true that the menu might seem a bit old-fashioned with evergreens as Carpaccio of beef, pepper steak, Please note that we have a reception staff that is more than willing in helping you to find a suitable restaurant uptown. Despite the comments I'm hoping to welcome you once again in the Novotel network.
Have a nice day
Bram Maes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here for a night whilst on tour. Very clean and comfortable. Had an evening meal which was good but not cheap. Breakfast was okay but because there were a lot of people staying it was a little chaotic. Free WiFi in reception. Not much in the surrounding area hence the need to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear,

I would like to thank you for posting your feedback via the Tripadvisor site. Comments, feedback and detailed information help us to improve on a daily basis our service level. It’s very nice to see that we have been rated comfortable and clean. Hopefully you had a good vacation and will we be able to welcome you in the future once again in one of the Novotel hotels of the Accor network.
Have a nice day

Best regards

Bram Maes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

It's definitely not walking distance from the city centre but it's not a major problem if you're driving. Parking is free and conveniently close to the entrance. People in the reception and restaurant were all nice and helpful. Buffet breakfast is €15 per adult which could be a bit dear if not for their children-eat-free scheme. We had no problem with the food selection as it's well balanced. We loved their fresh orange juice the most. Room was clean. Kid enjoyed playing table tennis. There were just two minor points that I didn't exactly like. FIRST, our room had a double bed and sofa bed. However, the sofa bed was still a sofa when we came in. We wouldn't have minded but it's been a long day for us we just want to all lie down straight away. We've been to other Novotel's everywhere with sofa bed but this is the first where we had to pull out the bed on our own. We booked for a family of four so I just thought the room should have have been made ready to accommodate all 4. SECOND, we were told that there were extra pillows in our room. Yes we did find the said pillows but it wasn't exactly an extra, it's just enough for the 4 of us 1:1. Though I should mention they were able to give us the real extra pillows when we requested.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear,

thank you for your comments on the Tripadvisor site. It's very rewarding for the staff to read that they are appreciated. Our normal procedure when reserving a room with children is that the sofa bed is already ready to use with all extra pillows, etc. in place. I'm very sorry that something was missed while dealing with your initial reservation. Hopefully this hasn't changed your confidence in our brand.
Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stargard Szczecinski, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have been in Novotel Antwerp several times. It's standard Novotel Hotel with good enough equipment and clean and nice crew approach hotel. Food choice is very limited and a bit too close to fast food. I recommend to test Belgium beer - Leffe Brune - for me really good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your impression and feedback provided via this review site. All comments are helpful to increase on a day to day basis our services.
It's rewarding for the staff to read that they are available and professional.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you very soon again in our Novotel hotel in Antwerp.

Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Quite a way out from Central Antwerp is this busy business hotel situated amongst factories and commercial premises in the area near the docks, so don't stay here if you want to be near the centre. It's about €20 by taxi to get back to Central Railway Station. Restaurant was very busy when I was there - not enough staff on and not enough tables. I gave up waiting for a desert. It's a safe area to go for a walk but mind the traffic and cycle lanes are also used by motorcycles so stay on the pavement. Cycle lanes are red / pink colour so use traffic lights and crossings to cross the roads, drivers just don't expect to see pedestrians out there.
Your keycard not only switches on electricity in your room but also allows you to use the lift so keep it handy.

Room Tip: Surprisingly this hotel offerred me a non smoking or smoking room and a choice of bath or shower. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram M, General Manager at Novotel Antwerpen Noord, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear,

thank you for taking the time to share your comments off your stay in the Novotel Antwerp via this network.
It's rewarding for our staff to see that they are appreciated.
It's true that we are not central located. We are situated only 10' away from the historical city center heart at the beginning of the commercial harbor district.
Our garden and outside swimming pool is the advantage that we have related to this off center location.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the Novotel Antwerp soon again.
Best regards

Bram Maes
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Antwerpen Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Antwerpen Noord

Address: Luithagen Haven 6, Antwerp 2030, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
#2 Green Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Antwerpen Noord 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Antwerpen is a 3 star hotel located between the city centre and the port, in the harbour business district, 7 km from the centre of Antwerp. It features 120 rooms, a bar and restaurant, as well as 4 conference rooms for meetings and seminars. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Antwerp with your partner or family. Its luminous, brand new interior with garden and pool views gives you a feeling of well being. Free WiFi and free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Antwerpen Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Antwerpen Noord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.