We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, quiet space in an amazing city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residentie Elzenveld

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residentie Elzenveld to your Saves list
Hotel Residentie Elzenveld
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   45 Lange Gasthuisstraat, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 108 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cool, quiet space in an amazing city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Total surprise on this place! Located within a historic convent that has been converted into a hotel and conference center, the hotel is in a beautiful old building in a very quiet area, surrounded by courtyards. Despite that only 10-15 min walk to most places you'd want to go, including the main squares and a longish 15-min walk to the train station. We had an upper floor room with a sleeping loft which was cool but the stairway was a little scary. No A/C, but it was OK when we were there, maybe something consider in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
16
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service minded staff. Modern and clean rooms. Great breakfast with good coffee. Overall a nice surrounding with a garden in the middle of the hotel. Good price. This will be the hotel for me when visiting Antwerpen.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Oasis in center of Antwerp. Room was not really big, but pretty fine for one night with marvellous sight to the patio. It seems there is reconstruction ongoing in the rooms thus it was little bit noisy in the morning (maybe too early for someone). Definitely nice breakfast compared to other 3* hotels! Great value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel in a truly historic complex is a quiet oasis right in Antwerp. I had the impression it would be farther away, from the photos and description, but actually it is steps away from the city center, and on the same street as the must-see Mayer van de Bergh museum. It's adjacent to the botanic garden, creating even more of a buffer from the city noises. Don't be put off by the garishly painted walls of the entrance from the street into the courtyard; once through the courtyard, you are in a complex of cleverly re-used buildings, including a chapel. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is generous (included in room price), and the staff friendly and helpful. Only problem was noisy and erratic banging in the middle of one night when a wedding reception was dismantled -- must have been tables and chairs being collapsed. I expect this is not a common occurrence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends for one night. It is indeed a beautiful old building with a peaceful courtyard/garden, charming details, but also narrow hallways and staircases. At some places the building could use a touch-up (carpet, paint, etc). The ladies at the reception desk were friendly and helpful. The nearest parking garage is at least a 5-minute walk, so don’t bring too many (heavy) suitcases.

Our room was what you’d expect of a three-star hotel, a bit on the small side, but clean, and good beds. Bathroom was small and simple. Minor detail: our towels were small thin hand towels (something I would use as a cleaning cloth). The next day we did notice a pile of bigger towels, so maybe we were just unlucky and they ran out or something. The safe in our room did not work, but we didn’t bother to contact the reception about that.

Breakfast was excellent: a fair choice of fresh bread, toppings, some fruit and yoghurt. Eggs are made on request. Good coffee. Very friendly and service-orientated staff.

Location is fine: it is a 15-minute walk to the Groenplaats and while walking there, you already pass some shops and restaurants. Opposite to the entrance gate is a square with some bars and (when the weather allows) terraces.

If you’re fairly independent, this hotel is a great option. But except for breakfast, you will have to go out of the hotel for food and drinks (which is not a problem in Antwerp!). Also, during the night, there is no staff available. In case of emergencies (or a lost key card), you’ll have to call someone. All in all: charming hotel, good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Nice quiet hotel with all necessary amenities. Some minor things need to be improved - the connection on wi-fi is often lost and asks for password every time you restore the connection. Breakfast is fair, but doesn't offer many choices. The foods are good, though. My room didn't have any AC, and I don't know if people feel comfortable there during summer time. Some rooms are old-fashioned and some are more modern, some rooms are equiped with fridges and tea-making facilites and some are not. Please check it in advance.

Room Tip: My room didn't have any AC, and I don't know if people feel comfortable there during summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Single rooms may be a bit on the small side (though the bathroom is a good size), but where do you find a hotel these days that still offers single rooms at a REASONABLE rate ?

Ideally situated in the city-centre, the room was clean, breakfast was nice (included in the roomrate) and personnel was very friendly - could you ask for more at about €60 per night ? I don't think so.
The only downside to the room I had is that it was impossible to open the window, especially since it offered such a beautiful view of the garden. Though it gave me no problem during my stay, I suspect this may be uncomfortable in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residentie Elzenveld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residentie Elzenveld

Address: 45 Lange Gasthuisstraat, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residentie Elzenveld 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residentie Elzenveld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residentie Elzenveld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.