We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantin & Moretuslei 136 - 140, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Never made it in time for breakfast - Antwerp is known for its nightlife, the beds are comfortable and the room nice and dark. It's easy to sleep in.

I like the location: Zurenborg is a pleasant area with café's and restaurants on the Dageraadsplaats around the back of the hotel.

It is not smack in the center, you might want to take the tram. Or take a bike: https://www.velo-antwerpen.be/en. There's a velo-station some hundred meters from the hotel, and it's a great way to see the city.

I have stayed here a couple of times, and I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your different stays at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp. I'm also very pleased that you recommend our strong price-quality ratio & the charming Zurenborg district (Dageraadplaats).
Once again many thanks & look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - GM TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    159
    89
    31
    11
See reviews for
13
173
29
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was not so close to central which we didn't realise, however getting to city is very easy the tram is cheap and close by 5-10mins walk...on the tram 20-30mins i think.the room was clean i give it average.it can be a bit noisy from the traffic unfortunately thats what you pay for a great view. free bar water and juice that was a plus for us.we stayed 1night so we didn't use any facilities there.we wanted a really budget hotel so it ticked the boxes although i would choose a more central hotel next time..Antwerp is a fab city, we went to MAS museum which was a great place nice views too, the city is very nice great restaurants too shopping was fun..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay at our hotel.
I'm pleased you have enjoyed your short stay with us & obviously very grateful that you are mentioning the great price-quality ratio of the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
Once again many thanks & best regards,
Wim Van Respaille - GM TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This weekend (30th may - 1st june), we spent 2 nights at Tryp hotel. We love it because it's compact, convenient with public transport. Lovely (free) minibar is impressive. Plus, the parking cost behind the hotel is cheap so we did have a city trip by tram 11!

Only, wifi didn't work well on my SIII but it was perfect on Note II of my friend!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
I'm very pleased you did have a wonderful stay and also very grateful for your recommendation.
Look forward to welcoming back & best regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room is o.k., clean, not to small. The bed is very good, not to hard. The bathroom a bit small. The shower is in the bathtube, so you have to step in. The space to shower is narrow. You have to keep your arms beside your body, and you have to bend a little backwards..... There should be a wifi connection in the room. But my two divices good not get a reliable connection. The breakfastbuffet is big, with a lot of choice. The quality of the products avarage. The hotelparking is expensive, If you just stay there for the night look for a parkinglot on the street, that's for free from 21.00 - 9.00. In daytime you have to pay. The deskservice was very polite. So not much to complain, but price - quality depends on what you pay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside. The street might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your recent stay & sharing your valuable feedback.
Your genuine comments are very important and will definitely help us to further improve our service.
Obviously always most welcome & kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Happy with my choice of hotel - it was a fair walk from the train station (15+ mins) which can be shortened by walking through the train station to the glass doors (as if going to the Linder hotel) and walking down the street to join on to the road where the hotel sits (take a look at the map before you go). Reception fine outside of being given a room key for a room that was already occupied ... I was on the 3rd floor at the end of the corridor. Room was fine (corridors are very dark) and importantly the bed was comfortable. Free beer (x1) and water in the minibar was a nice touch. Main issue was the road noise which woke me up around 5am. Will be happy to return for only Eur50 / night room only (ebookers) but will require a room away from the road.

Room Tip: At the back of the building away from the road
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for staying at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp and sharing your positive feed-back regarding this stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

Wim Van Respaille - General Manager - TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Everything was absolutely perfect! The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was really clean and everything we needed was there. The bathroom was nice (bathtub with shower, toilet, sink) although it was a little small. Shampoo and showergel was provided.

We had breakfast in the hotel once, and it was really good. When one type of bread was finished the staff would immediately get new bread.

The thing I liked the most is the fact that the hotel has character. Not just a basic room painted in white (we had the green room).

The city center is 15 mins walk, just close enough to walk. If you don't feel like walking you can also catch the tram. (Tip: get your tram ticket at the station, there is a really nice info desk. They also have free city maps)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
It's always our aim to provide every guest a similar feeling of happiness when staying in our hotel.
I hope to welcoming you back soon at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
Once again many thanks & kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille - General Manager TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Staff was really professional and kind. There were complimentary drinks in the room and a coffee machine was free to use in the lobby. Room was tidy and pretty, nice art on the wall. Bathroom with a bathtub was great. The bed was comfortable and it was quite peaceful, except little traffic noise from the street. We couldn't close our window because the lock was broken but we didn't care to complain about it because that didn't matter to us that much. Also TV could have worked a bit better...
Hotel is located a bit far but still on the walking distance to the station and all the main things you want to see in Antwerp.
All in all, we had a really nice stay in Tryp by Wyndham. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your positive feedback in relation to your recent stay at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
It's always a true pleasure for my team & myself to read that our esteemed guests are appreciating our great value for money and do also recommend us for this.
I look very much forward to welcoming you back at the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp.
Once again many thanks & best regards,
WIm Van Respaille - General Manager - TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Address: Plantin & Moretuslei 136 - 140, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.