We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantin & Moretuslei 136 - 140, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Utrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with family. Overall, I would classify this hotel as very good given that they offer good facilities for a very moderate price.

The hotel is relatively new, so most facilities are very up-to-date. The rooms are tastfully designed in distinctive colors with some wall decorations of (I guess) Belgium painters, the rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the bath room space is limited, but equiped with all necessities and a bath tub. The airconditioning is a bit loud, but switching it off is not an option because temperatures increase rather swiftly.

You can request for the username and passwordn for wifi at the front-desk. Overall, the service offered at the front-desk is excellent. In my case, breakfast was not included and I had to pay 15 euro which I considered to be a fair price given the offerings (various kinds of bread and croissants, scrambled eggs with sausage and bacon, various fruits, various juices, and so on). So, overall I will definitely return and I would advice this hotel for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Many thanks for staying at the Sir Plantin Hotel Antwerp and sharing your experience & positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Always at your service & obviously very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    144
    78
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
148
28
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it quite good. The area around the hotel is a little bit dodgy and we were uncomfortable walking home from the city in the evening (9pm) it doesn't seem to be too well served bu public transport either. The hotel itself is lovely though, if a bit quiet. We didn't see too many other people about whilst we were there but would imagine most people were in the city like we were. The staff were nice and friendly and the room was much better than I had anticipated though the window had been locked open which meant there were mosquitoes in the room at night. The only negative point would be being woken every morning at about 9am by the cleaning staff knocking to see if we wanted our room cleaned, admittedly we forgot to put the DND on the door for two mornings and the time we did she knocked asking when we were checking out! We had a lovely stay here and really loved Antwerp but if we were coming back I think we would rather stay closer to the centre for convenience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Many thanks for staying at the Sir Plantin & sharing your honest opinion. I believe we haven't informed you well enough about the great public transport facilities as we have tram & bus within very close proximity to our hotel...Also bicycle rental (A Velo) next to our hotel. I would also recommend you the vibrant Dageraadplaats (Zurenborg=a very safe upmarket residential area) at only a minute walk away from our hotel.
Always at your service !
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Sir Plantin and would definitely choose it again if staying in Antwerp

Pros:

- Location was great - 15 minute walk to main station and to city area, and approx 30 minutes to old city. Hotel site suggests 10 minute walk to station but that is to the far end of the platform Allow 15 minutes-20 mins to get to main platform and offices
There was also a large supermarket approx 150 metres away.
- Good reception staff
- lovely modern room with LCD TV, Free WIFI & mini bar ( mini bar was stocked with FREE drinks: 4 water, orange soft drink and a beer and replenished each day - great service and much appreciated!!!)
- Nice bathroom with shower over bath and hair dryer

Cons:
- didn't like dark passages. On occasions when walking out of the lift at night the auto light immediately outside the lift was also slow to activate and you walked into pitch black darkness
- Shower curtain rail was poorly fixed and fell down. Had to call service to put it back in place
- Some traffic noise was noticeable in our room which was on the 5th floor facing the street. Could also hear some noise from adjoining rooms
- Fridge cupboard requires better ventilation becoming quite hot

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear, Many thanks for staying at the Sir Plantin Hotel and sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. I can confirm that we have already orderded some better shower curtains and are installing some additional lights in the corridor. Looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kind regards, Wim Van Respaille (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

request/demand a room at the back of the hotel - the rooms at the front do not have decent windows so you will not sleep at all...

Room Tip: demand a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. I was sorry to learn that you did not have a great night rest at the Sir Plantin. On a more positive note, I was pleased to learn that you really have enjoyed every other aspect of your stay with us. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcome you back at the Sir Plantin.
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

After a long business day we checked in to this Hotel. Stylish, very stylisch moderne hotel where the rooms have a free open mini-bar and free WIFI. Near to the motor way and with a small parking garage under the hotel available. Charge was €20 per night but I guess there was no other choice as everything all was pay and display parking. The city centre is a €10+ taxi drive away with loads of restaurants and bars but due to the very bad weather there were not many people about. The rooms are small but again top stylish, clean and modern with a nice bathroom. Nice reception bar with a great bartender but unfortunately steep bar prices. Breakfast was €15 a head so we skipped this. If I would be in the area I would come back though..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Mr. Plants,

Many thanks for your genuine feedback. I have already informed our barman about your nice comments...Much appreciated ! Looking very much forward to welcoming you back at the Sir Plantin.

Once again many thanks & kind regards,

WIM Van Respaille (G.M.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Maybe not in a very charming area, but the hotel iself more than makes up for that. Prices are very reasonable and what you get is a very modern hotel with great comfort: excellent beds and an excellent bathroom with a really good shower. The room is also very cosy and has a luxury feel.

Also ate dinner there one night, and that was really good as well.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear, Many thanks for the lovely feedback and obviously very pleased that we have met your expectations ! Looking very much forward to welcoming back you in the not so distant future as our esteemed guest...Once again many thanks & kind regards, WIM Van Respaille-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

First things first, management need to be congratulated on their selection of staff. It was a pleasure to walk in & find friendly, efficient staff that appeared to enjoy what they were doing.
The Sir Plantin is set in an area that some would describe as shady, we found it quite fascinating & colourful. 10 minute stroll to the train station and then a bit further to the city centre.
Our stay of 3 nights were a pleasure. For the price rooms were spacious, newish and clean. Bath tub was a welcome surprise for the wife.
We were visiting friends who questioned our decision to stay here (due to past reputation), but after a visit said they too would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Wow, many thanks for the compliments ! We are all very pleased you have enjoyed the Sir Plantin and the Zurenborg district. Obviously looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. At your service & best regards, WIM Van Respaille (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Address: Plantin & Moretuslei 136 - 140, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.