We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice & clean, modern comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp to your Saves list
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantin & Moretuslei 136 - 140, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value, nice & clean, modern comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Maybe not in a very charming area, but the hotel iself more than makes up for that. Prices are very reasonable and what you get is a very modern hotel with great comfort: excellent beds and an excellent bathroom with a really good shower. The room is also very cosy and has a luxury feel.

Also ate dinner there one night, and that was really good as well.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear, Many thanks for the lovely feedback and obviously very pleased that we have met your expectations ! Looking very much forward to welcoming back you in the not so distant future as our esteemed guest...Once again many thanks & kind regards, WIM Van Respaille-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    144
    78
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
148
28
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

First things first, management need to be congratulated on their selection of staff. It was a pleasure to walk in & find friendly, efficient staff that appeared to enjoy what they were doing.
The Sir Plantin is set in an area that some would describe as shady, we found it quite fascinating & colourful. 10 minute stroll to the train station and then a bit further to the city centre.
Our stay of 3 nights were a pleasure. For the price rooms were spacious, newish and clean. Bath tub was a welcome surprise for the wife.
We were visiting friends who questioned our decision to stay here (due to past reputation), but after a visit said they too would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimvanrespaille, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Wow, many thanks for the compliments ! We are all very pleased you have enjoyed the Sir Plantin and the Zurenborg district. Obviously looking very much forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. At your service & best regards, WIM Van Respaille (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here for just 1 night. It was a little bit further out than I had thought, and the immediate neighbourhood was slightly run-down, but the hotel itself was clean, friendly, stylish and interesting. I didn't eat here so I cannot comment on the food. The room was a reasonably good size. Bathroom was clean and the shower had very good pressure. I liked the style of the room(s) - seemed a unique and original use of some old master paintings and imagery.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Many thanks for the much appreciatedd feedback on your recent stay ! I do agree that the immediate neighbourhood is slightly run-down (there are definite plans to upgrade the area) but can highly recommend you the very beautiful & vibrant Dageraadplaats (Zurenborg) at only a few steps away from our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Kind regards, Wim Van Respaille - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Greeted by friendly receptionist that provided us with a map and showed up all of the must-see areas and how to get to and from these areas via public transit. Room was small for North American standards but quite spacious for European standards. Room was very beautifully decorated and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Shower was powerful but the shower curtain was a bit old and dirty. Room came with free minibar that was replenished each day we were there.

The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from Antwerpen Centraal and is located near a trendy locals area with great restaurants and bars. However, at first glance the street that the hotel is on a street does not seem to be the greatest looking street but never felt unsafe despite walking home late at night after going out and going to a concert.

Overall very pleasant experience and would definitely stay here again if ever in Antwerp again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like this. We were pleased to notice that you had an excellent & pleasant stay with us and that we did meet up to your expectations. Warm regards, WIM Van Respaille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

"Sir Plantin likes mystery" said the sign. Annoyed by the language was I. Despite referring to itself as a person, the hotel was actually very nice. The staff was kind, the rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable and it was well-insulated. The mini-bar doesn't have much in it, but it's free to guests. The wireless was also free and the bathroom was fairly large for a European bathroom. The only downside is the location--it's less than a K from central station, but there's not really anything of interest close-by. As a result, I'm not sure I'd stay there again if I were there to check out Antwerp. Nonetheless, the price is good and everything else is better than you'd expect so if you don't mind a long walk or bus ride to the major attractions, go for it.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We specifically booked this hotel because of the location : at walking distance from the many quality restaurants and bars in the Zurenborg area. We had a warm welcome by the staff at the reception, received good information about the area. Nice, modern and quite spacious standard rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear,
Many thanks for your nice reaction & obviously looking forward to welcoming you back at the trendy Sir Plantin.
At your service !
Wim Van Respaille - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Good new hotel in Antwerp. Free internet and minibar. Bathroom is nice and clean. Rooms on the streetside are pretty loud. The rooms in the back were very hot because of the sun and the airconditioning was not on. Staff was friendly put sometimes too slow and not very helpful. Had better experience at Ramada or Crown Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsirplantin, General Manager at TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear,
Many thanks for staying at the trendy Sir Plantin.
I regret the fact we didn't fully meet your expections and would like to apologise for the mentioned problems with the airco. Please note we do offer a 'No Excuse' guarantee, meaning we will do our utmost to fix the problem immediately (or offer you another room) or a compensation if we can not fix the problem.
I hope we can welcome you back in the not so distant future and prove we can meet your expectations.
At your service !
Kind regards,
Wim Van Respaille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp

Address: Plantin & Moretuslei 136 - 140, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, where history meets a trendy lifestyle.TRYP Antwerp Hotel invites you to discover its world of charm, style and luxury. Our ideal location, in the centre of Antwerp, Belgium, between the Central Station and the motorway around Antwerp, gives you easy downtown access. TRYP Antwerp Hotel is the place to be to enjoy many restaurants in the charming district of Zurenborg and its magnificent “Belle Epoque” architecture.Best location in downtown Antwerp. Located in downtown Antwerp, between the Central Station and the motorway encircling the city Surrounded by the beautiful squares, restaurants, bars and shopping opportunities of Zurenborg, Antwerp’s famed Art Nouveau District Just 700 metres from the Central Station and 2 kilometres from the historical city centre 2.5 kilometres from Antwerp Airport Discover boutique luxury and seductive style in the heart of downtown Antwerp Belgium. The TRYP Antwerp Hotel would be honoured to welcome you as its esteemed guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.