We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Het Vermoeide Model

Het Vermoeide Model
Lijnwaadmarkt 2, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
+32 (0) 3 233 52 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 876 restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Antwerpen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is a tourist trap!! Great location at the side of the Cathedral, gorgeous roof terrace, and that's where you want to be. Service is good, but the food is very mediocre to say the least.
As an Antwerp resident, it was my first time to come here, and I will only come back for drinks at the lovely terrace. I was ashamed to bring my American guests here. Forget the food, there are way to many excellent restaurants in this city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    31
    29
    19
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location; average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The location is great. We ate outside on the terrace overlooking the cathedral. Lots of steps to get up there but worth it for the view.

The food I had was good, but not exceptional. I felt they were somewhat taking advantage of their location and the tourists. Still, I enjoyed the overall experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nothing better on a summers evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My fiancee and I had a lovely dinner here yesterday!

Be sure to walk all the way to the top of the building where a lovely terrace awaits you on the flank of the gorgeous cathedral! We felt very spiritual sitting up top facing this monumental cathedral :) Lovely views of the old town all around!

Service was very good and the girls working there VERY attentive to your needs and always smiling.

The food choice was excellent, a little bit of everything which I like to see.
Spend some time to have a look around the building, so much to see and so tastefully done.

All in all a truely memorable, romantic evening!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Probanly the best restaurant I know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Whenever I come to Antwerp I will make sure to have a reservation to this great restaurant. The Ambiance is fantastic, the servive great and the food wonderful (especially the grand desert)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Ihave been traveling to Antwerp to 20 years, and my first time in this restaurant. This place is one of the very restaurants that accept Amex in the Grote Markt. Glad I found it. it's a 15th centuty merchants home converted to a restaurant. I have never had a finer meal in Antwerp in my life

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Vermoeide Model also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Het Vermoeide Model? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Vermoeide Model, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.