We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious mussels and warm atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Vermoeide Model

Het Vermoeide Model
Lijnwaadmarkt 2, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
+32 (0) 3 233 52 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #407 of 966 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious mussels and warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was a cold and damp June night, and the warmth of this lovely place close to the cathedral was most welcome. Actually, the service was really warm and attentive, the old furniture full of charm, and the mussels and fries, though undoubtedly quite traditional, just as they should have been. Add a delicious Mort Subite and a Kriek and that was a really nice evening!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    37
    21
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

From the outside, this place looks promising, but we should have guessed. It's in a touristy part of the city, just by the cathedral,and looked quite stylish. But it's not a great gastronomic experience (and there are plenty of great restaurants to try in Antwerp). The interior feels quite rustic, but the food is mass market stuff that fell well short of the mark – my mussels were so overcooked they practically disintegrated. If you care about food, you can do so much better in Antwerp.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great old restaurant. Great mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great place on the back side of the church. The mussels in white wine were outstanding. The apple pie and coffee were equally outstanding. Helpful staff. The full menu choice for multiple courses would be way too much to eat - but it would be fun trying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoten, Belgium
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Lovely central location with great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had not booked but were shown quickly to the second floor upstairs (warmer in the winter!). The table we were offered was not quite what we wanted and so we asked for a quieter table - no problem at all. Service was swift but not obtrusive, the food was great. There was a wide choice of starters, mains and puddings though we had no room for the latter! Portions are generous and they had a special selection for game lovers - wild duck, pheasant and boar. The wines were reasonably priced. The atmosphere was pleasant - old oak beams and cosy - and there is a pianist some evenings during the week - Friday and Saturday I think. We have just moved to the area and will definitely take guests - it's in the shadow of the Cathedral so a prime location too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very nice restaurant in the centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The restaurant is on three floors done in the olde worlde fashion, on entering with our dog they immediately brought water for her,the staff were friendly and efficient,the freebie starter was very good, my lady friend had steak which she said was one of the best she has ever had,and thats saying something, I had a starter which was good,the salad very fresh,and then mussels in white wine with french fries,the mussels had this funny white stuff in which was fennel,it dominated the meal but it was still good, I advised the very nice owner to tell the chef to leave the fennel out,all you need are onions,white wine and cream,she said she would take it on board,if not go for the "natural", I ordered beer and whisky,the whisky filled a third of the glass,never had measures lke that before,and the bill was very low for what we had,It was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Vermoeide Model also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Het Vermoeide Model? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Vermoeide Model, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.