We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bart-A-Vin

Bart-A-Vin
Lange Slachterijstraat 3-5, Antwerp 2060, Belgium
+32 474 94 17 86
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 876 restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $22 - $29
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wonderful food, excellent wine and truly great staff who really put across their passion for food.

The ingredients were fantastic, and it felt like they had been selected and combined with a lot of care and attention. It was a small menu but I like this approach as it means the ingredients are fresh. I have a dairy allergy and they were very accommodating and I didn't feel I was missing out!

We were made to feel very welcome and it was one of the best restaurants experiences I've had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    43
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steak Tartare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

There is tremendous atmosphere in this little restaurant that seats 24, from the polished original tiles of this small packing house to the overhead rails that carried carcasses you know you are in the centre of meat country. The steak tartare or "americain" (the meat is minced rather than cut) is infused with basil which gives it a truly tasty aroma. Ask Bart to suggest the wines by the glass. He has a superb selection he picks up from his travels. A reservation is a must for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Bart-a-Vin is a small restaurant run by two guys who really care about good food and wine. There's a limited menu, but that's because everything they do is freshly prepared and cooked right in front of your eyes and it just tastes sublime. Bart talks you through the menu, and will advise you on some wonderful wines to accompany your choices (if that's what you want). This place was definitely a highlight of our trip to Antwerp. We had a perfect lunch here; fantastic salmon and slip soles, grilled vegetables with creamy mozarella, and a great tartare which is their signature dish. You need to book ahead, but you'll be very glad you did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice and quiet restaurant in the meat packing district with a very simple menu. Only 2 options: meat or fish. But super delicious.
Also a very nice wine selection: name your taste and get a delicious wine served with your meal.

Be aware that the restaurant is closed during weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a surprise! I had already heard so much about this place and tried many times to book a table but every time a friendly person told me the restaurant was fully booked.
This time I was lucky and turned out lucky I was.
It is really well hidden and for sure tourist who never heard of it, will never ever find this place.
It is a small restaurant with only few places. That explains why it is difficult to book a table, for sure during weekends.
But that would still not be the case if the food and the service wasn't good.
The menu is limited but still making a choice is difficult. I ordered a dish of mixed grilled vegetables with mozarella and as main a piece of porc with gratinated potatoes. Waaauw, what an honest dishes. I guess I never had a piece of porc so tender and tasteful in my life.
I asked for pairing wines and informed them about what I don't like to drink. The suggested wines did go really wonderful with the food.
I was so tempted with the Chocolate Moelleux they had on their dessert list, I just could not resist. And thank God, I couldn't. So often this is a heavy dessert but here it was light as I hoped it would be.
It is a place to remember and to return to. Hopefully I will have more luck next time when I try to book a table than mostly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bart-A-Vin also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Bart-A-Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bart-A-Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.