We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not go here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Antwerp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Antwerp to your Saves list
Eden Antwerp
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Herentalsestraat 25 - 27, Antwerp 2018, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
NL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Please do not go here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in november but we would not recommend it to anyone........!! The only good thing about the hotel is that it is in a quiet neighbourhood, the breakfast is excellent, free WIFI and it is a 10 minute walk to the train station but that is really everything what is nice about the hotel. The room is not clean, the mold is on the ceiling and tiles of the bathroom, the walls and furniture in the room are damaged and the biggest issue I think is the non smoking policy which everyone ignore's, even the staff!! The cigarette butts on the patio say more then enough and even when you walk the hall you can smell the smoke coming from the rooms. We even noticed that they are renovating the hotel but it is really done to a poor standard. Please if you can book another hotel because this one is not worth your money!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLandman, General Manager at Eden Antwerp, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear,
We are sorry that we were unable to deliver our product to your expectations. Please be aware that we have been refurbishing a lot since you have stayed in our hotel. Feel free to contact us for a special offer to retry the newly refurbished hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    43
    12
    4
See reviews for
8
78
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Antwerp in the snowy darkness of januari was surprisingly interesting. Sandton is situated one street away from the railwaystation, the street is halfway changing its name and not attractive. So i wandered around abit before i arrived in my room, clean but sober, very good bed. The heating system failed after some hours, so they gave me another room. All rooms on the ground floor are looking out on small courtyards, so they are quite dark. But the free use of tea and coffeefacilities in the breakfastroom where compensating the shortages well. The staff was very kind and helpfull, thank you! Breakfast was rather well provided, a lady made a fresh omelet for me. Not nice when you are alone is the missing of a comfortable inviting lounge when you arrive!

Room Tip: All rooms are good when you close the curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvandenBroek, General Manager at Eden Antwerp, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte heer/mevrouw

Hartelijk dank voor uw review. Onze excuses voor het nioet goed functioneren van de airco/verwarming. Wel ben ik blij om te horen dat mijn team meteen actie heeft genomen en u een andere kamer heeft aangboden.

wist u overigens dat wij naast de receptie een klein lounge beschikbaar hebben waar u TV kunt kijken?

Wij hopen u snel weer terug te mogen ontvangen te Sandton Eden Hotel Eindhoven

Met vriendelijke groet

Marc van den Broek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

In December we decided to visit the antwerp Christmas market. A great citytrip!
The Sandton Eden Hotel is centrally located and all great shopping areas, musea, historical sihtseeing are withing walking distance. The hotel is just fine for short citytrips, functional and clean and a calm area. Very pleasant, polite and friendly young man at the reception. Good rates. The building though appears dark and unattractive, poor facade lightning and an unattractive office space next to the entrance. The appearance is not at all inviting you to stay. At first we even hesitated to enter, happily we did because its a fine city hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Besides the excellent coco-mat beds the hotel desperately needs a make over. One elevator was out of service, the remote of the aircon was broken. Electricity wires all over the floor. And the wifi was not working.

Aircon remote was replaced swiftly. My complaints about the wifi were ignored.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Only a couple mins walk from train station and about a 15 min walk to the centre of town. Very busy in morning for breakfast at the weekend though but apart from that we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We wished to cash our airmiles and arrived at this hotel, where a "cosy room" was offered. The hotel is in the middle of the 'Diamond" neighbourhood (i.e., the Jewish quarter), and close to the central railway station. Qualitatively, the hotel is fine. The rooms are small and sober, but the beds are very good. The bath room is fine. The breakfast is OK. But the hotel lacks... a kind of intimacy. But if you're here just to sleep and go on with your trip next day, it's fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have been using this hotel since the 90s and it never fails to please. Everything is OK and the breakfast in the morning is just what you need. The WiFi is bit ropey and is at its best downstairs.

If you are travelling by car I would book a spot in their car park rather than the public one down the road. They both cost the same, 20 euros a day, but the hotel's one looks a hell more secure. I was put off by the broken windscreen glass that greeted me in the public one so I was glad the hotel could fit me in.

Oh and while the roads are up in Antwerp do follow the instructions of how to get to the hotel on their website. However the block at the top of the street does not seem to apply to taxi drivers so you may wish to just take a chance and drive through anyway

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Antwerp

Address: Lange Herentalsestraat 25 - 27, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Antwerp 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eden Antwerp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Antwerp Hotel Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Antwerp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.