We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Obnoxious Owner” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Peerdestal

De Peerdestal
Wijngaardstraat 8, Antwerp, Belgium
+32 3 231 95 03
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
De Peerdestal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #149 of 985 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $31 - $111
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rude Obnoxious Owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went there on our first night in Antwerp at 9pm to get a table. The owner/chef stood at the door. He told us that the kitchen was closed in an obnoxious manner. We asked if he knew anywhere he could recommend. This seemed to annoy him more and he told us that all the restaurants were closed by now. We walked literally up the road and found a restaurant called 'Het Vermoeide Model'. Really good food! We stayed here until gone 11pm and it was still busy. Our friends went to De Peerdestal a couple of days later, not knowing of our experience, and had an awful meal including cold grisly steak. They were telling us about it when we realised it was the same place. We obviously had a lucky escape!! Avoid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    96
    27
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A good time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We walked in without a reservation and got what seemed to be the last available table. Good service if a little slow but then we weren't in any hurry! We decided to go for meat as they clearly specialise with hams hanging above the bar and good meat hanging in a cabinet. Our jamon starter was unfortunately disappointingly industrial slices which could have been from a packet - certainly not sliced from the hanging examples over the bar.
The steaks for the main course really made up for it though - excellent quality and flavour and perfectly cooked.
The wine list was reasonably priced too.
All in all an excellent evening and with a couple of small quibbles we agreed it was well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a lovely lunch--my wife had lobster (yummy) and I had the baked cod (very good). Service was pleasant (Serge our waiter was charming) and atmosphere was shabby chic. No complaints , we 'll be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Waiter was friendly, attentive and welcoming.
Food was very good - we were quite pleased. Had onion soup (excellent), an Austrian steak (which was gristly - not too good, actually), a beef fillet with Madeira sauce (excellent).
And the bill was not out of line.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A shocking experience - very disppointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A relatively frequent visitor to Antwerp, and a former resident, I was looking for a good restaurant for me and my two teenage sons for dinner. I was attracted by the proximity to the hotel, and also by the menu, with a monthly menu looking appealing. Other reviews had been promising, so off we went. Booked via the website, which was successful. A lovely room, the restaurant promises well. The staff were a little surly, and were all outside smoking when we arrived, but we put this down to it being a hot day, and they were probably rather uncomfortable inside all the time.

My elder son and I ordered a Cote de l'Os, and my younger son the decadent burger, a burger with among other ingredients, foie gras. However, he didn't want the foie gras, so we asked for it without.

The Cote de l'Os came with salad and fries.

The cote de l'os was so tough it was almost inedible, and we asked for medium rare, so really no excuses. There was gristle all over it, and we struggled to eat it at all. The fries were indifferent to say the least, sad and soggy, and really not what you would expect in Antwerp.

The decadent burger without foie gras was tolerable, and came with an excellent sauce, the only acceptable part of the meal. Most staggering of all was the fact that we were charged full price for the burger, despite not having the most expensive element. There was not attempt to take this into account.

We were so disappointed. The meal that we were presented with was utterly unacceptable, and for the money was a disgrace.

So sorry to the people who have had a great experience, and perhaps we chose badly, but we just could not recommend this place under any circumstances. Sorry..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Peerdestal also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to De Peerdestal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Peerdestal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.