We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great situation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria del Sud Classico

Pizzeria del Sud Classico
Oude Koornmarkt, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
03 - 226 52 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #750 of 986 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My review may be coloured by the fact that I was enjoying a lovely day in the beautfiul old city of Antwerp and the restaurant itself may be nothjing special, but i really enjoyed my meal of pasta here, sitting outside in the warm evening sunshine, facing the Cathedral, with half a carafe of house red wine. I thought the prices were quite fair, the service was pleasant and the view was amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    17
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Customer not always right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Thought would try this as looked quiet and not your normal tourists place and early evening. Main course was veal with like a madeira sauce (something like that). Just needed a punch to the meal. Pasta was fresh and lovely. Trouble was when I went for desert nothing looked interesting so went for a sherry which made me feel ill as they kept it in a fridge and was adamant that since I was from England I knew nothing about sherry which they insisted should be kept in a fridge as European style (rubbish)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Very Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went there for dinner with our two kids. The waiters were stressed and rushed. The food was very ordinary, frozen calamari rings and dry, tough ribs. The pizza was ok. The location is nice, on the cathedral square. When we complained about the ribs, the manager dismissively said 'We have been here 20 years!'. The ribs looked like they had been there 8 of those years. Typical restaurant that survives on one time visits from tourists.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was reasonable food at a reasonable price in a very nice setting. We had grilled salmon and grilled prawns - both were very nice. The salmon was served in a Bernaise sauce which was unusual. The staff are italian and the food is genuine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The view of the plaza and church are probably the best thing about this restaurant. The food is average. The Pizza is your best bet, though they do have a homemade lasagna that is fine too.
Food for 3 was 41Euro. The views of the Church are about as good as it gets. Location, Location. Enjoy for a quick casual lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria del Sud Classico also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp Province, Flanders
 

Been to Pizzeria del Sud Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria del Sud Classico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.