We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food - Service : 10 - 0” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Isola di Gio

Isola di Gio
Bordeauxstraat 11, Antwerp, Belgium
+32 3 203 09 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 1,025 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Food - Service : 10 - 0”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had an excellent dinner at Isola di Gio, but unfortunately the quality of the dishes was not matched by the service of the two ladies in the restaurant. Even though it was OK at the beginning, it went from bad to worse through the evening. They probably have so many customers that they do not need to care about service. We had to ask three times for an extra bottle of water, and were waiting half an hour after the dinner before any request for desert and/or coffee came. Our appetite was at that time over ... Fortunately, Antwerp has other Italian places to offer where food and service CAN be combined. We will therefore soon return to Il Famosi, in the central part of the town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    1
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected culinary delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stumbled on this small restaurant by accident, as we needed a quick place to eat before attending a concert at the nearby Lotto Arena. It turned out to be a delight, as the food was excellent: a wonderful filetto (steak) with pecorino cheese and tasty, homemade spinach ravioloni. The desserts were also of good quality, a traditionally made tiramisu and a rich chocolate cake.The owner and his wife were friendly hosts and the service was quick, as we had requested. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great experience: go and try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Recently went to this restaurant, taht I would definitely class within my 10 favourites in Antwerpen. This is not Italian cuisine, but Italian gastronomy at his best! And a nice interior, and friendly and polite service by Gio's wife... great restaurant!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Best Italian of Antwerp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This restaurant is defitnly the best Italian in Antwerp.The food is delicious and fresh. The service is perfect and the area is very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Last night a good friend and I went for a good Italian dinner, we thought. Sitting outside on the terrace we noticed a sign "Please do not smoke while food ios being served". Very nice! But when my friend mentioned to the waitress that the people next to us were smoking we were not only asked, but told to leave the premises as we had no business interfering with the restaurants policy! The food is execellent, but they sure need some lessons in hospitality, they won't see me again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola di Gio also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Isola di Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola di Gio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.