We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Argentinian steakhouse in Antwerp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El bife

El bife
Hoogstraat 5, Antwerp, Belgium
3 226 84 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 960 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Antwerp
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite Argentinian steakhouse in Antwerp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This restaurant remains to be our favourite Argentinian steakhouse in Antwerp and we regularly return here to eat a big steak. The Argentinian owners/staff are very friendly and nice. They also speak English, which is not always a rule in Antwerp. The meat has always been the first quality, also salads and french fries, includin a nice food arrangement. The restaurant is always very clean and the prices are reasonable (there are other steakhouses in Antwerp which offer low quality for higher price than El bife). The only disadvantage is that the place is closed on Wednesday and we tento to forget about it :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

To start with, athmosphere is nothing special. The order was mixed up and as a result I have ended up eating a dish that I have not ordered. The side orders were not served until we have asked for them twice. The steak was tasteless and difficult to even cut. Very poor price/quality.
There are many more nicer restaurants in Antwerp to spend your money and your evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
2 reviews
“Meat as it should be !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

1st class meat... We enjoyed the 750gr steak for two.
Was grilled exactly to our wish. Excellent taste.
We will be visiting soon again

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Good meat and servings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went to this restaurant because both my wife and I are meat lovers. After seeing the picture we were sold.
I asked for the 750gr beef and it's good. The meat is tasty, it's well cooked (medium rare, although they ask your preference) and quite generous. Cannot say it's the best I ever had, but it's quite good.
My wife had grilled mix and it was also very good, although less generous serving.
Our son (2 years old) had the kids menu (chicken) and was quite a lot.
The staff is very friendly and they do their best for you to fell comfortable there.

Recommend to all meat lovers (mainly) but not only.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best filet I've ever had.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Came here with my daughter and her family on our last trip to Europe. They raved about how good it was, and we were not disappointed. In fact, it exceeded our expectations and we loved it so much, we came back again for another great meal before we left for home. Located in a great location just off the square in Antwerp near the cathedral. The staff was excellent, the atmosphere was casual and warm, and the owner was great. Again, the food was definitely the best we had on our entire trip through Germany, Netherlands, Belgium and Spain. If you are going to be in Antwerp, this is one place you don't want to miss!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El bife also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to El bife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El bife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.