We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“understaffed but decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dock's Cafe

Dock's Cafe
Jordaenskaai 7, Antwerp, Belgium
+32 3 226 63 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 960 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: $22 - $108
Cuisines: French, Italian, Seafood, Oyster Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“understaffed but decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's a nice place with really comfy decor, red velvet drapes and modern decor. Upstairs there's a private glassed-in room shaped like a gazebo in the middle of the room for a group of maybe 6 or so. Interesting, comfy atmosphere.
The dim sum was inexplicable expensive for what it is. The other food seemed in line.
Quite understaffed.
Busy place on a weekend. Don't be surprised to have to wait even with reservations. If that bothers you, then don't bother. We nearly walked out to go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    100
    34
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always good to go back to the Docks Cafe, a great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have been lucky to visit on many occasions and its always good. There are two floors to eat on, its nicely decorated with lots of wood, light and airy too. The food is varied, something for all, typical Belgian dishes are there of course, good fish, mussels, seafood and a varied selection of beers and wine all well kept and served at the right temperature. The atmosphere is calm and non touristy. I will keep visiting!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“Top notch mussels, amazing dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We chose to eat at the Dock's Cafe because almost all of the other restaurants seemed to be closed on Monday night and it was suggested by our hotel. The fare is primarily seafood though other choices are also possible.

There are a lot of things to recommend about this restaurant:

1. Extremely large choice of beers and wines
2. Responsive, polite, friendly staff
3. Relatively quiet atmosphere, warm wood decor, not pretentious
4. Mussels were outstanding -- some of the best we've ever had and we live near a coast with lots of fresh seafood available to us. Portions were huge. 2 people could easily split one serving of mussels.
5. Dessert was incredible -- we had chocolate cake with molten chocolate inside, fresh black cherries and ice cream. Don't share this one! Everyone will want his or her own!!!

Only down side was minor in that the service was a bit slow but one later told us that they had almost double their usual number of customers for a Monday. They were clearly dashing up and down the stairs to address all of the customers' needs in the upper and lower dining areas, so it was hard to fault them. And as noted already, the staff were very polite and friendly.

All in all, an excellent meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Had a lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just showed up at 7 and asked if they had space. They accommodated us and sat us upstairs. Aside the fact that it was a little hot up there, every else was great. The service is superb, plenty of staff to take care of you. Very helpful with wine suggestions. Decent selection of wines by the glass. The food is a little expensive here, but the quality is there. We lived a couple of blocks away and only made it there towards the end of our stay as we thought it looked a bit corporate. We're very happy we tried it. The apps were great, I wish I got the mussels too - they looked super. The chicken was the stand out dish (I usually don't order chicken at restaurants as well have it at home often - but I did at the suggestion of the server. The skate was just ok. All in all,I would certainly return. Despite the fact that it was a little more expensive than some restaurants, I still think it's a decent value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Eat Here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We head for Dock's if we have an opportunity to be in Antwerp. Superb food and a beautiful setting. Once we sat at the oyster bar on the upper floor, as the place was packed, and that was entertainment in itself, watching the barman prepare the plates of oysters or plateaus de fruits de mer. Sorry to read that someone had a poor experience, which must surely be very rare (no place is perfect). My fish was perfectly grilled, and the seafood platter enjoyed by my spouse was actually too much for one person!

Prices seem high now but prices in Belgium generally have increased with the expansion of the EU and the prosperity it has brought. But it was worth it to dine one more time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Cafe also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Dock's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.