We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldnt go back but great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamonds And Pearls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diamonds And Pearls to your Saves list
Hotel Diamonds And Pearls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pelgrimsstraat 26, Antwerp 2000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“wouldnt go back but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Booked into this hotel for 3 nights and stayed in the " junior suite " . Firstly please dont book this hotel unless you are supremely fit !! reminded me of Anne Franks house . The room was in desperate need of TLC ! furniture was tired looking , bathroom was dated and the mirror was suitable only for a giant ! On the plus side the beds were very comfortable and the hotel is in a great location , in a lovely cobbled street with lovely restaurants and bars . The was no one around in the evening , bar was closed and the restaurant , apparently it was a flemish holiday . The staff on checking in and out where less than friendly . Overall a shame, could be a lovely hotel , as its in a great location but it appears to lack any direction .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    15
    5
    20
See reviews for
25
31
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Finally arrived at hotel having driven and walked past it a few times as no clear sign outside. Was met by uninterested staff who seemed almost put out at our arrival! Was asked for payment before being shown rooms.
Rooms were certainly unique in their style. Beds extremely soft, so much so one teenager rolled of it in night.
There was mould around the bath.

Room Tip: Very narrow and steep staircase to rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Liked: The location is excellent. We liked the decour of the bedroom, big chandeler and old fireman's helmet included! Breakfast was good, Cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, salmon, breads, cereals. Drinks were a bit patchy, some days you got pink champagne and others you didn't. Once you broke the ice with the staff they were friendly but they seemed too busy too often to build much rapport.

Disliked: Our room was tucked away at the back (room 5) and spread over 3 floors with the WC and shower on the 2nd and bedroom on the 3rd so hope you like stairs! To get to the room you have to walk through the restaurant (which is rather compact anyway) and squeez past inconviently placed tables.

Room was dusty, room service consisted of 'throw a couple of new towels in' and they forgot to lock the door everyday!- having said that, as it was tucked away and next to their office, the risk wasn't great...but still!

Staff were usually busy with the restaurant and so you did feel like a bit of an extra getting in the way. You also get a fair bit of noise as the restaurant wraps up towards the end on the evening (11-12ish), bottles being dumped, staff socialising etc...

Overall, is wasn't terrible but we've stayed in much much better for half the price. Antwerp is pricey and this wasn't a great deal more expensive than some out of town places and even hostels. Quite honestly-pay a bit more or try your luck elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Upon arrival we were told that there was no hot water in our room. We were told we could stay at an alternative hotel 15 mins walk from the centre. We had booked this hotel because of it's location, directly in the city centre. The Hotel Manager also said we could take the room with no hot water and with a small discount. We were unsure what to do so said we would think about it. In the meantime, the hotel advised that a plumber was coming to check the problem. We left our leggage at the reception and went to have a drink and to discuss our options.
After approx 1 hour we received a phone call from Diamonds and Pearls to say that they could not fix the water problem. With reluctance we decided we'd have to stay at the alternative hotel and decided to walk over there to see how it was. When we arrived (the IBIS) we immediately decided it was not the hotel for us. It was clean and tidy but with no character whatsoever, it was almost like a hospital room and not at all what we had in mind for a romantic weekend away.
I decided to call the D&P again to tell him we would take the room there and accept there would be no hot water. The Manager advised the room was no longer available because he had decided to start painting and decorating it - at 17.00 on a Saturday I find that very hard to believe. We believe the hotel was over booked and there was no room for us at all.
I would absolutely NOT recommend this hotel. The manager was a bare faced liar and doesn't know the first thing about customer service.
As a result we checked out of the IBIS (luckily without having to pay) and we checked in to the Hilton which I can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vic. Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

When we reached Hotel Diamonds and Pearls we were not sure about it due to its extremely glitzy decor- hence the name. We were shown to our room up the extremely steep stairs and it was quite large, predominantly decorated in black with 2 huge mirrors a large bed and a black tiled bathroom!

Our bags were deftly transported up and down the stairs on arrival and departure by very fit staff members!

We soon settled in and found that it was very comfortable with maybe 2/3 other guests whom we rarely saw . Breakfasts were great and the Russian cook Tatiana? even cooked us eggs on our last day.

The hotel (B&B) is right in the bar/ restaurant district close to the Cathedral - not too noisy considering the area. No chiming beel etc!

It is a shame that the maid did not bother cleaning and servicing the room every day.
Otherwise this weird and wonderful hotel would have earned full marks from us!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

I had the room in the back, which was bigger than my own appartment at home. Three levels make it perfect for people sharing a room but who want privacy. There was a large comfy bed with a kitchy couch, armoire, and cute tables and chairs, downstairs. The second level was two toilets (?!) and a space-age shower with great water pressure. The third level had two single beds.

Breakfast was great (as everyone mentions). There are billions of good restaurants of every price range right by. It's spitting distance from the cathedral and 10 min by taxi to the train station.

The only hitch is so small: There was no one on staff at night. The rooms were so big, we decided to share, but there was no one to ask if this would be ok!

By the same token, there was no one staffing the bar. We could have likely played bartender and served our ourselves free drinks.

I found it perfectly clean and the common areas very stylish and comfortable.

I'd move in tomorrow if I could and live there full time!

  • Liked — Stylish common areas
  • Disliked — No staff at night time
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night with his parents. Upon arriving, there was some sort of problem finding the reservation and it was obvious there was some last minute room switching.

The Good:
Breakfast was wonderful, with hot, homemade food. The lounge downstairs was immaculate with high quality materials. Location was perfect at a good price. a few blocks away from the square and cathedral with lots of restaraunts and shopping nearby.

The Bad:
While it's obvious parts of the hotel have been remodeled, other parts have been completely ignored which is inexcusable. Example: the first room we were put in had a beautiful bathroom with glass tiles. It had a wonderful balcony. However, the carpet was filthy. A huge dark stain took up most of the room. Furniture appeared to come from a garage sale. Second room had missing tiles from floor.

Recommendation:
With a little investment Hotel Diamonds and Pearls could really be a great little hotel. Replace the carpets, broken tiles, and a few pieces of furniture. It looks like they used high-grade materials when they started renovation and ran out of money.

  • Liked — Breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Room quality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamonds And Pearls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamonds And Pearls

Address: Pelgrimsstraat 26, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diamonds And Pearls 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Diamonds And Pearls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamonds And Pearls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.