We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in The Hague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenz Stadslogement

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residenz Stadslogement to your Saves list
Residenz Stadslogement
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sweelinckplein 35, 2517 GN The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in The Hague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lovely family home atmosphere, gorgeous rooms and delightful location in a lovely part of the town halfway between the City centre and Scheveningen. Petra and Frank were welcoming, friendly and helpful - everything was just to our taste

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
62
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Residenz for two nights while visiting family in the area. This hotel is an absolute gem. We had a huge and beautifully decorated room, enormous bathroom and private balcony overlooking the square and a small park. The hotel is slightly away from the city centre but do not let this put you off. The neighbourhood is charming and it is very close to a tram which takes you to central station in no time at all.

Free wi-fi, lovely breakfast, coffee machine in the room, superb Rituals products in the bathroom - Petra and Frank give you real value for money. I would not hestitate to recommend Residenz to anyone staying in the Hague. Beats a soulless chain every time.

This hotel is gay-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here for 13 nights last month. Frank and Petra are very service oriented, resourceful and equally friendly. We were upgraded to 1 bedroom apartment, which had a fireplace, kitchen, great coffee and delicious breakfast. The interior design was done so well, modern and eloquent. The hotel is in a residential area with easy access to public transportation, restaurants, grocery store, the city center and the beach. I highly recommend this place, if you book this place -- you won't be disappointed at all. Thanks Petra and Frank for a nice hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed with my partner who was on business.
Room was stunning with a gorgeous balcony, huge bathroom, coffee machine and an electric bed.
Location was half way between the beach and the city. I spent time in both so a perfect location for me. Tram stops only a very short walk and the neighborhood was lovely and quiet.
Hotel would be great for a romantic getaway or a business trip.
A very nice change to a commercial hotel. Please don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Frank and Petra last night. We booked last minute on Thursday and arrived on Friday to the most lovely location, beautiful house, fantastic dramatic decor, coffee and drinks on arrival for us and the children, bags quietly whisked up to our room and a thorough explanation of the city, sights and restaurants! The anticipated bedroom was almost an entire apartment with an air of real luxury and, above all, spotlessly clean. Nespresso machine, mini fridge and extra beds for the children. Our bed was the most comfy of any hotel ever stayed in and all 4 of us slept soundly all night.
Breakfast this morning was so good that it was a little intimidating!
The hosts are just amazing, friendly and so polite. The city centre is a pleasant 25 minute walk away with a gorgeous little shopping street, with bakery, right opposite the house.
Totally and utterly faultless experience...and I am really hard to please!
Don't hesitate - possibly the best little hotel in the universe!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful coming home in The Hague Netherlands. A room with a fireplace, the best bed we ever slept in a hotel. Quiet, beautiful design and a gorgeous breakfast. Friendly welcome by owners who do everything to make your stay memorable. Tramway stop at 5 minutes and a 10 minutes ride tot the city center. Park your car in front of the hotel and enjoy The Hague. We stayed before in big expensive hotels all over the city, none of them can top the Residenz. We will return, home at the Residenz, for sure.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in February after reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were very impressed. The room was spacious and comfortable with lovely decor and the owners were friendly and helpful, giving us advice about places to eat, trams and so on. A great place to stay if you find the big chain hotels too impersonal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenz Stadslogement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz Stadslogement

Address: Sweelinckplein 35, 2517 GN The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#3 Business Hotel in The Hague
#4 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenz Stadslogement 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenz is located right in the heart of the lively Duinoord neighbourhood of the Hague, on the almond-shaped Sweelinckplein square. The house was built in 1895 in preparation for the arrival of former emigrants returning from the Indias. More than 110 years after it was built Residenz opens its doors as a Guest House. We are a boutique hotel with the charm of a homely bed and breakfast and are ready to welcome you as our guests and offer a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residenz Stadslogement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Stadslogement The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenz Stadslogement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.