We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenz Stadslogement

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenz Stadslogement to your Saves list
Residenz Stadslogement
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sweelinckplein 35, 2517 GN The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Residenz is an oasis of elegant calm. I was upgraded from a room to an apartment, which was spacious and beautifully decorated, with every possible comfort. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and I loved the remote-control fire. The huge shower was a wonderful way to wake up and I enjoyed having breakfast served in my room. The owners struck a good balance between being helpful and discreet. The hotel is well-located in a charming square, with a street of useful shops nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
58
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful place with large room, modern bathroom and fire place. Breakfast was served in room. Very nice people but at the same time discrete. People were so kind to give free entrance tickets for 'gemeente museum' which is located close by. Very helpful in giving directions where the highlights of Den Haag are located.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Residenz was exactly as we were led to believe by its Website - a haven of good taste and comfort, but we hadn't reckoned on getting the bonus of Petra and Frank, who were so welcoming and helpful with information.
The whole place was impeccable and our rooms so spacious (we had a large sitting area that led onto the bedroom). We loved the fire in our sitting room.
Residenz is located on a large oval, with a public garden in the middle, giving the rooms lots of light and the area around is very charming and only a few tram stops from the very centre of the Hague.
Thanks to our hosts, we were able to make the best of our 24 hour stay - which trams to take, excellent recommendations for restaurants, which museums were open, where to find freshly made stroopwafels (a delicious Dutch treat of very thin waffles sandwiching a sweet paste), etc., etc.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back and our friends the front on the 3rd floor. Each had a great view. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 nights in a suite at this little hotel in The Hague and it was easily the nicest place we stayed during our 3 week European holiday.
The pictures on the website are accurate -- which isn't always so-- the owners are terrific and everything about the place was first class.
As someone who does a lot of traveling I would definitely recommend this hotel without the slightist hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We have been a guest of Petra and Franks for two weeks now and have truly enjoyed our stay. We had one of the main floor apartments adjacent and have been very comfortable here in the Hague. We have been to this City a number of times but this is easily the best place we have stayed. The accommodation is very nice, all the modern amenities and both owners continuolsy go out of their way to help make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The location is superb as we were able to walk to the city centre, the "Fred" or take the tram wherever we needed to. Because we had a kitchen we were able to shop at the nearby markets and get all of the Dutch food my wife had craved before we arrived.
I am not sure why you would stay anywhere else if you could stay here!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

if you are looking for a place to stay in den haag, it is the best one you can have.
owner are super friendly and helpful, the appts are fantastic. belive me, fantastic.
tasteful design (mixture of the old and the new), brilliant atmosphere, uh, perfect.
it's not in the very downtown, but it's pretty close to all main attractions. cosy rooms, fireplaces, huge dinig room, etc.
other traveller's pix tell you more about it. it is like the pix.
thanks gos for places like this!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

+ The breakfast, personal service and condition of the b & b was wonderful.
Nicest place to stay on our europe vacation. Suggest to everyone.

Stayed with out 9 month old - had a infant bed and everything :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenz Stadslogement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz Stadslogement

Address: Sweelinckplein 35, 2517 GN The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#3 Family Hotel in The Hague
#3 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenz Stadslogement 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenz is located right in the heart of the lively Duinoord neighbourhood of the Hague, on the almond-shaped Sweelinckplein square. The house was built in 1895 in preparation for the arrival of former emigrants returning from the Indias. More than 110 years after it was built Residenz opens its doors as a Guest House. We are a boutique hotel with the charm of a homely bed and breakfast and are ready to welcome you as our guests and offer a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenz Stadslogement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Stadslogement The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenz Stadslogement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.