We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenz Stadslogement

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residenz Stadslogement to your Saves list
Residenz Stadslogement
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sweelinckplein 35, 2517 GN The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
west sussex UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Getting fed up with Hilton's, spent the night here last night on a business trip and can't praise it enough. The owners have got everything right. Great design, huge room fantastic bed and en-suite and large sitting room. The owners were friendly and helpful and lovely breakfast in the morning, I enjoyed it so much I might have to bring Mrs Rolf over for the weekend.

Room Tip: Romm 1 was lovely but they all look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
56
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Residenz. We had a really nice and spacy room with a modern bathroom and the fire place we enjoyed really much.
We got a nice welcome and the owner took the time to show us our place and explain how everything inside the room works.
We had the breakfast served in our room ( tasty bread, ham, boiled egs, fresh fruits and orange juice made it complete).
The hotel is situated in a typical The Hague house. We liked its stylish combination of old and modern. It is possible to park a car just in front of the hotel. The tram and bus stations are
nearby. The free Wi-Fi works well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is quite extraordinary - the welcome and the size/taste/design/quality/condition/amenities of the room are the antithesis of a chain hotel. Funky neighbourhood with fun restaurants, but we arrived mid-evening and decided to just buy some food + wine from a local supermarket, and eat it by the fire in the room - yes, the room was so cool we enjoyed it way more than sitting in a restaurant.

In the morning terrific breakfast + wonderful hosts Frank + Petra went out of their way to give my partner an itinerary of her way round the city whilst I was in meetings. (Escher gallery is a "must-visit").

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

What a find! Gorgeous rooms and high quality furnishings in a very nice neighbourhood. And the hosts are very helpful and attentive, even driving us to our restaurant! With a fabulous breakfast to send us off for the day.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A great hotel. We felt priveliged just to stay in this woderful hotel. Owners could not have been more helpful.
Breakfast was excellent
It was a little way from centre but it was peaceful and there were lovely restaurants very nearby.
Hague is a very under rated city. We loved the city and its people.

Room Tip: They are all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here one Saturday night. The owners were away for the weekend, so we were looked after by 2 charming friends of theirs. The ladies were extremely welcoming, with a cup of coffee and a chat on arrival.

The hotel (more of a guest house really) is quietly located in a smart residential area. Strangely, you have to pay for parking until midnight, but the ladies provided us iwth a parking disc and charged the cost to our account. The elegant buidling has been very stylishly decorated inside in black and white but, because of its high ceilings and numerous large windows, it is not at all dark inside.

Our room (number 1) on the first floor at the front was very spacious with a spacious and beautifully equiped bathroom. It had more flower arrangements than we have ever seen in any hotel room and enormous windows (including French doors) overlooking the "square" in front. It was very comfortable, with an enormous bed and two easy chairs.

The hotel has no restaurant but one of the ladies recommended and booked one nearby, which was very good. Breakfast was excellent.

During our chat on arrival, we asked how far the city centre was, as we planned to visit it the next mornng. On departure, one of the ladies gave us handwritten directions and a map marked to reflect them - what service!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Residenz Stadslogement is an excellent place to stay. All the suites are very comfortable, perfectly renovated and quiet. The owners look after their guests in a perfect manner. This place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenz Stadslogement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz Stadslogement

Address: Sweelinckplein 35, 2517 GN The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#3 Family Hotel in The Hague
#3 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenz Stadslogement 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenz is located right in the heart of the lively Duinoord neighbourhood of the Hague, on the almond-shaped Sweelinckplein square. The house was built in 1895 in preparation for the arrival of former emigrants returning from the Indias. More than 110 years after it was built Residenz opens its doors as a Guest House. We are a boutique hotel with the charm of a homely bed and breakfast and are ready to welcome you as our guests and offer a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenz Stadslogement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Stadslogement The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenz Stadslogement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.