We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giuliano's

Giuliano's
Schoolstraat 13, 2511AW The Hague, The Netherlands
070 3455215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 885 Restaurants in The Hague
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a small but very popular restaurant so a booking is essential especially on the weekends. We come here almost every month and have never been disappointed with the food. Our favourite is the Linguine Vongole and it is advisable to tell them if you want to have this as they will then get the clams fresh for you. We also had a very good buratta salad which is so much better than mozarella. The tables are tightly packed but it adds to the atmosphere and the service is always impeccable although you have to ask for the breadboard sometimes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

They serve real italian food and have a nice selection of wine. I highly recommend this place.

It is a small restaurant, so I recommend you to make a reservation in advance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sardines!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We first went here last minute on valentines day. We were surprised to get a table! The food was excellent, we loved the breadboard with tapenade and aioli and the decor beautiful. The staff were friendly but the tables were soooo close together. We figured that this was because it was valentines day but we went again in spring and the layout was the same. The food was not quite so good, but still good on this second visit (different choices). It's a nice place if you don't mind having no elbow room or your conversations overheard.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Every year I visit this place with pleasure. I think that is family restaurant. As a italian I highly recommend this place. They serve real italian food. Fresh pasta, good selection of wines and of course very helpful and friendly staff make me feel at home. What I like the most is open kitchen, small size of this place and walking distance from my hotel. The best italian food in town!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really wanted to give it 4 - but the service is bizarre!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right - positives - Really enjoyed the food and the ambiance (very small and dark - may not be to everyone's taste - but I loved it). Negatives - service is very slow and not very attentive - but when the waitresses did come to the table they were really pleasant - but it felt a bit fake after one of them actually rolled her eyes at one of our party and stormed off...So I feel quite mixed about it...whilst the food is very good - the service really needs to be looked at - it is not a big place - so more attention at: acknowledging you/ quicker at giving menus/table checks should be very doable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuliano's also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Giuliano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giuliano's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.