We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indonesian Restaurant Poentjak

Indonesian Restaurant Poentjak
Kneuterdijk 16, 2514 EN The Hague, The Netherlands
703600522
Improve this listing
Ranked #355 of 876 Restaurants in The Hague
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I had the Ricetable "Special" and asked for medium spiced. Maybe we should have gone the whole hog and requested HOT as we found the food rather mild. Good selection of dishes, about 20+ and we didn't manage to clean them all. Lamb sate was the very best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    20
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and so friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After mixed experiences when eaing at the more well-known Garoeda (just 2 doors away), I took a friend's advice and went to Poentjak instead. SO MUCH BETTER! The food seemed freshly prepared and just tasted better, the beef rendang was spicy hot (as it should be) and not dried up (like at Garoeda). Our host was friendly and attentive, instead of just going through the motions, and his mother does the cooking! So instead of battling the masses at Garoeda, and putting up with food for the masses, just walk 10 metres to Poentjak and have truely wonderful Indonesian rijstaffel, it's like joining a family for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have had lots of Indonesian meals as I grew up in Holland but my partner had never eaten any - I tried to ask the waiter to recommend a Rijstafel for a novice but he had nothing useful to offer. We ordered a medium priced one for the two of us. The whole place looked shabby and rundown, all the flags on display were dusty and faded and the carpet looked like it could do with a good clean. The staff were indifferent, if not grumpy, and we did not warm to the place. The food was ok but not brilliant. Would not return, as I am sure there are much better places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veldhoven
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“nice indonesian restaurant near the centre of the Hague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a lovely dinner at this restaurant with friends. Opted for the rijsttafel which included goat sate. Never had that before but it was very tasty. Staff is friendly and helpful and we could choose very spicy, spicy or not so spicy food.
We opted for spicy and all of us enjoyed the dinner very much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Located near the center of The Hague we found this nice colonial restaurant. We ordered the Poentjak special Rijsttafel. Surprising choices and very good taste. Service was good. Excellent price/quality ratio. We can recommend this restaurant absolutely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesian Restaurant Poentjak also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Indonesian Restaurant Poentjak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indonesian Restaurant Poentjak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.