We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past Glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Past Glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although the staff in general is friendly (especially at the frontdesk) this hotel was for me as a Dutch man dissappointing.
Small rooms, loud noises and on top of that even as a hotel guest having dinner in the hotel restaurant they refuse to serve water from the tap as it is not their policy.
Instead they want you to buy Spa Blauw with your wine.
Madness and I refused to do this.
They gave me a hassle about it but when i asked to speak to the manager it was possible.


Plus side is the location and the breakfast room.

Let me put it this way, I can see way the Hilton in Den Haag was fully booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback as it helps us to improve our service.
Please contact our Executive Office when making your next reservation via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    121
    71
    37
    21
See reviews for
50
190
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I was in the Hague on business for a couple of days and stayed where the program would hold, Kurhaus. It was all I expected from a 5star hotel!

Though I booked for just myself, I was upgraded to a double family room. I didn't like the extra bed there but it proved useful as an outfits display platform ;) the room was equipped with everything I might need: from a bathroom scale to an umbrella, complimentary slippers to iron and ironing board.

I didn't get a sea-view room but the hotel is right at the beach so I went out for a stroll. Just beautiful, especially sunset! That was a huge plus for me.

As regards service, I was impressed with the wonderful "ballroom" we had lunch in. All with a pianist playing in the background; very classical. Staff were very curtious and polite and pretty much cordial. The only "downer" is I wish they were a little warmer. Did I mention the food was quite nice and just the right portions.

All in all for the couple of days I was there (my first time in the hague) it was exquisite.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you positive review with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the beautifull Kurhaus on the 11th of August 2012. The building is impressive! Because of the good weather and the firework festival, the hotel was fully booked. A friendly clerc checked us in and our room (with landview) on the 4th floor which was small but nice decorated. Perfect beds and a modern fully equiped bathroom. Only problem was we could'nt change the thermostat (temperature) from the bath tap.. Reported it to the desk, but it wasn't solved.

We booked a package with tickets for Crazy Piano's and dinner was included. The food was allright but nothing special. But the service was poor... In The Hague is a school situated (Hogere Hotelschool) were students learn to be a manager in a hotel; we had the feeling this hotel is a place were a lot of students have there internship, but where is the teacher to tell them what to do?!? We had to waite long for our courses and now we know that Manuel from Fawlty Towers does exist! A young waiter took the wrong food to the wrong tables, it was hilarious how he ran around....

Because we went to Crazy Piano's till 2 'o clock in the morning (live music and a nice place to visit!) we were late for our breakfast (half past 10) The breakfast is great; so much to choose from! But... punctual 11 'o clock; they started to remove the buffet. Perhaps because of preparing the lunch, but this is not hospitality...

It's a pity, with a better service I would have rated this hotel higher!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your feedback makes it possible to improve our service.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

But that should be no excuse for a 5-star hotel to let their standards of service slip.
Saturday morning, breakfast: at 9.00am the buffet was already empty: a few drags of juice in the jugs and a few breadcrusts, no fruit salads. A cheff at the cooking station stating he was not responsible as he was not in charge. Staff was wondering around aimlessly, tables were not being cleared, the queues at the seating desk got longer as the waiter on duty kept leaving his post to direct other staff in the hall. Small guestrooms with small bathrooms, no discount in the underground parking, and for €650 for two nights we certainly felt we did not get value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Please contact us via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when making your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

The area is very downgraded, not fit for a luxury hotel. No beach facilities. No free internet. Check-in slow, with only two (very nice) clerks. Executive Room with see view cost 300€/night. It faced a concrete building, you could see the sea to the left , but that is not what one understands (and pays for) by sea view No cupboards except in night stands. No executive lounge which is part of the cost of the executive room. Instead 1 drink per day in the hotel bar!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your stay. Please contact our Executive Office when making your next reservation via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

There is no doubt that the Kurhaus is an impressive hotel but it falls well short in service standards from our recent visit.
We paid for an expensive package to watch the fireworks display on the beach and this included a 3 course bbq meal. The bbq meal was replaced last minute (with no reason given) by a meal in the main restaurant and we waited one hour (7.30 - 8.30) for the first course to be served and cleared. This was a cold first course and although the main and dessert were served faster, we still waited a long time for each one. Other diners were having the exact same experience around us and waiters were bringing out the wrong food to the wrong tables.
The bar area was chaotic after the meal and we could not order drinks in the bar but only from a waiter outside on the terrace. We tried 4 times to order a drink and eventually got one at 10.30pm after trying to order at 9.15pm.
The package had stated exclusive seating to watch the fireworks but if you had come out too late then you had to stand and watch as the seats were all filled.
This was so disappointing to us as this could have been such a special night. We will remember it now for all the wrong reasons. We have shared our concerns with the Management team.

Room Tip: Use the air conditioning rather than open the windows as the noise levels from outside can be high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,
We are very sorry to hear that we have not been able to meet you expectations during the fireworks festival. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A perfect location for the hotel and an awesome building. Some confusion when we check-in because the hotel made a mistake and cancelled our reservation, but quickly compensated by the front-desk who upgraded us, but also invited us at the restaurant for diner while they were making the arrangement. The restaurant has really to be tried - amazing decoration and food. I really want to thank them for their kindness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurhausscheveningen, Deputy General Manager at Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague
#17 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History, tradition, luxury and excellent personal service form the perfect combination for a stay at the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel. This luxury five-star hotel located directly on the North Sea is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. On entering this former bathhouse, you immediately find yourself in a charming oasis of soothing shades of colour and spacious hallways with sparkling full-sized mirrors. The natural warm colours exude an inviting atmosphere. The magnificent Kurzaal is the showpiece of the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel and evokes nostalgic images of a glogious past. Enjoy a decadent breakfast, relaxing lunch, extensive high tea, delicious Sunday brunch or romantic dinner for two beneath the famous glass Kurhaus Dome. The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel is one of the most experienced conference hotels in The Hague and boasts an impressive portfolio of clients. Whatever your event, the Kurhaus can make it happen! The usage of the WLAN is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.