We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel! Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Spring, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel! Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is so charming. The lobby is beautiful. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant and it was delicious - also had dinner one night - good food! Beds in he rooms were very comfortable - bath amenities are the best!! Loved this hotel and it is also in a great location. One thing - don't get a massage at the spa - worst massage ever which is surprising as it's in a Starwood resort. Hotel is great and I recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street - which was noisy on a Saturday night from people on the streets. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Jackie,

How great it is to read that Hotel Des Indes as charmed you during your stay with your family. We are sorry to learn that your experience in our Health Club was not to your satisfaction, we do hope that your next experience will be more to your expectations.

For your next stay with your family please stop by the concierge desk for greats tips to go with the children.

Kindest regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    112
    30
    25
    11
See reviews for
56
209
37
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It's really nice hotel (very stylish and nice design). All is perfect (location, rooms - all with unique design, service, breakfast – you can find even whole-wheat bread and all you want for healthy diet).

Room Tip: chose standart room (it's not very big, but cute)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Sonya,

Thank you for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and the time you have taken to write your kind review.

We are pleased to read your room tip; indeed Hotel Des Indes is not a standard hotel but does have unique design.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We arrived at the Hotel after having read about it and knowing we were going into a 5-star Boutique Hotel but were amazed at the Old World elegant atmosphere we found in the entrance, lobby and restaurant of the Hotel. This was reflected both in the service and in the tasteful decoration. The room was a poem in itself: huge, with a very large bathroom, with a large bath, a separate shower room, two washing basins (his and hers) and the big thick towels one would expect in such a setting. The bed was King size, and so was the HR TV screen on the wall, and the sofas to match. But the best experience was the breakfast (included in the room rate), where you could chose from a buffet to suit all tastes. And the location, in the old center of The Hague and very close to the former Queen's Palace (presently an Art Museum) could not have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Joseph,

How wonderful it is to read that you have experienced the true Hotel Des Indes atmosphere. We are honored that you have had a relaxing and comfortable ending to your holiday in Hotel Des Indes.

For any future stay with us please do not hesitate to contact our concierges for all the ins and outs of the beautiful city of The Hague.

Kindest regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel - the decor is stunning and the general feel of it is great. I was upgraded and my room was huge with lovely Molton Brown toiletries and a big bathroom.
There's a gym here but I didn't have a chance to check it out. Wifi is very fast and complimentary, and I also had a great mint tea and cake in the grand lobby area - the best mint tea I've had!
I'd definitely stay here again - it must be one of the nicest I've stayed in, in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Tanya,

We are very pleased to read that you have had an exceptional stay in Hotel Des Indes. As you note in your subject ''like a scene from Great Gatsby'' nice information is that last year’s New Year Eve party was themed The Great Gatsby!

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May 2014. Being a luxury collection property we expected something special. They say first impressions are lasting impressions. We arrived by taxi - there was no doorman available so we took our own bags in - no big deal. Check in was fine and we reached our room to unpack. The room was very cold and we attempted to warm it up with the available heating options. It soon became clear that a cold draught was coming through a small ventilation shaft in the room ceiling immediately above the bed. We called front office to ask if the vent could be closed - answer no. Explanation was that the external ventilation shaft entrance circulated external weather conditions throughout the entire hotel. Outside it was raining, very windy and very cold hence the outside wind driving the cold air into the ventilation shaft and circulating that cold air throughout the hotel. Not willing to sleep under a cold breeze and risk catching flu we asked for an alternative room. We were shown two alternatives - one at the front with street frontage. Being a heritage building there was no double glazing in the windows so room was subject to street noise. We declined and took the second room, number 003, which was up the grand staircase (2 flights), through a door, then a second door then up a narrow winding staircase. The room was tucked away in a corner of the hotel but was quite large. The ventilation was above the door at the end of the bed and faced the television so the incoming cold air was blowing away from us. We ran the heaters for the entire time to keep the room at a comfortable temperature. All good from here - no. On both days housekeeping failed to properly service the bathroom either not stocking up basics like toilet paper or sufficient towels. Our requests for these items was promptly met but should not have happened in the first place. The room had 2 windows - it was raining heavily most of the time we were there and both windows leaked. We had a pool of water on both sills which ran over to the carpet. We alerted concierge who came and mopped up and assured us it would be attended to. Alas, the water was still running in when we left. On the occasions we raised issues with front office/concierge, they were addressed but the assurances we received that it would not happen again or it would be fixed never materialised - nice words but no actions. Next, the beds here have overhead canopies. Looks nice. I happened to knock the underside of our canopy with my arm when putting on a sweater and received a shower of dust and fluff. A look at the canopy top revealed a large collection of fluff that appeared to have been there for some time. When drawing the room curtains it was found they were in similar dusty condition. Given the location of this room my guess is that it does not get a lot of use and therefore is not regularly attended by housekeeping. If I am wrong here then housekeeping do not do a good job. The restaurant - there were two options here, the fine dining area and the area outside fine dining. We opted to sit outside the fine dining area. The food served was nice but again the service lacked what one would expect from a luxury collection propertyor indeed even a nice restaurant. We had to ask for bread, we had to ask for the sweets menu and were never asked whether we were enjoying our meal. At breakfast on the last morning, albeit we were early, there were insufficient cereal bowls so staff substituted with paper plates. There was one nice touch here in that a young lady named Kim looked after us each morning at breakfast, quickly memorising our friut juice choices, tea and toast requirements. She was fantastic. A lot more Kim's would have made our stay here more enjoyable. In the breakfast/dining area there were several chandeliers. The one above where we sat had several blown light bulbs. From an appearance perspective I would have thought maintenance would promply replace blown light bulbs - no. Was not a good look, particularly in this property. On check out the printer wasn't working so I had to have my invoice emailed - on checking, yes, an overcharge on a breakfast which was promptly reimbursed. Am I being too critical here with what I have said - probably. However, I have stayed (and lived) in 57 different Starwood properties, 14 of them have been luxury collection properties. This has been by far my worst Starwood experience. In summary, if you want a comfortable room without a cold breeze in a professionally maintained property and to be looked after by staff who seem to be enjoying their roles and displaying a service culture then DO NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a cold draught.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear World traveler,

We are sorry to learn that your stay with us has not been to your satisfaction and to your expectations. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the heads of departments you have mentioned, and we will use your feedback to improve our service.
As you have explained we are indeed located in a monumental building and therefore we do not have the ability of changing, for example the double glazing of the windows.

Please note that we will pass on your kind comments to Kim. And we hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I live very nearby, a few minutes walk but had to come here as the heat forced me to look for an airconditioned hotel, so I could finally sleep.
I was VERY pleasantly surprised that this hotel is even much better than I ever thought. I am appalled to see that currently this is only the number 5 at TA. People who voted less than 5 stars should be deeply ashamed, although I agree with the previous reviewer that the baths are very deep and inaccessible for people with mobilty problems. I stayed in a room with just bath and shower, not a separate shower so I too had problems getting out of this deep and slippery bath (I am 61 and fat).
I had room 208, a very small single with about 100-110 cm wide bed.
It's opposite the elevator but that does not disturb except the people talking. Direct connection with the spa down in basement with small swimming pool. With the marvelous personell I had only very good experiences. Each of them was exemplary in kindness and service and it's a privilege to talk with doorman Antonio Mareirros, who works there for many years and has all sorts of stories (like in the hotel book in the room) on this legendary and very famous hotel from 1881. Manager Mr Bovsovers writes in the hotel book that he hopes that one day the hotel will be well-known all over the world. If that's not the case yet, the world should be ashamed.
It's the ONLY Dutch hotel that has a miniature in Madurodam!
Great also is that Des Indes has very decent prices in the weekend and a great restaurant, my world's favourite but closed in July and August.
Breakfast is in the lounge, a nice place but with slightly annoying piped music (boring muzak ,should be classical), but a waitress said they cant change it and it's decided in Canada.
Breakfast buffet ( from 7 AM ) is pricey (35 euro, 30 for me) but astonishing in it's offerings, unlike ever seen before. Special breads, salmon, Innocent juices, dried fruits, fresh fruits, everything else you expect, plus (very special ) scrambled eggs in a glass jar with lid. No eggs made to order though but there were hardly any guests, none when I went at 8.30 AM on a Sunday.
This hotel is part of Starwood's Luxury Collection with renowned hotels like Gritti and Danieli in Venice and Imperial in Vienna (and Pulitzer in Amsterdam).
It has top-service. like it once was able to have a museum opened. within 10 minutes ,especially for a delegation who requested it at a time the museum was closed (must have been celebrities).
So it has a swimming pool (open 7 AM till 10 PM, weekends 8 till 8), small but very nice with 2 powerful jet-streams that enable you to swim against the current. Also sauna and steam room and rest room. Massages for 55 euro (1/2 hour) or 95 ,full hour).
My small room 208 was still delightful and had everything you'd wish and a Siemens climate control, which is totally silent, nothing to be heard and as cool as you want. Ultra-comfortable bed ( Sealy, see www.vandamqualitybeds,nl ), Molton Brown products in bathroom, a SCALE, Dutch and English magazines, minibar, hotel history book,coffee machine, water cooker, DVD player and radio, Ironing board, 95 channels on TV
(Incl. BBC and 3 ITV channels) above a small but nice desk, and radio channels on TV incl. classical Radio 4)l. However no culture channels, like Mezzo or Dutch BravaNL. about 21 films on demand for 15.75 or 2 oldies like Out of Africa and Meet Joe Black for 12,95, and 3 documentaries for 9,50 , incl. Felix Baumgartner's Space Dive in 3 languages. All films in English , subtitled in different languages, one in Polish and in Hungarian, some in Dutch.
Best films now are Grand Budapest Hotel and Enough said.
Also on demand music, including classical for 5 euro.
Expensive minibar, drinks 5 euro, 1/4 bottle wine 8,50 euro.
Room service with several meals for 24 hours, good prices. Bottle champagne 99 euro (not highest price I ever saw).
Beautiful hotel in rooms, corridors, lounges, There's a sigar room (the library). Nicest surprise was that there are rooms (incl. my 208) around a courtyard which makes it very quiet (just 2 screams from the street on a Saturday) but for quietness avoid this hotel during the fancy fair around end of April and summer music festivals.
STAY HERE, NOWHERE ELSE !!

Room Tip: Best is around the courtyard, for silence or the front when there's no festivity. 208 is a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Dutchguy,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Des Indes. We are very thankful for your kind and elaborate review.
We are honored that Hotel Des Indes is in your top-3 best hotels. We will be sure to pass on your comments hotel our ambassadors.

With kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a historically important hotel redone to a high fit out level, with several buts:

We were there the days they did a full hotel mattress replacement: through the main lobby, using the passenger elevator, and literally clogging the front entrance. Mattresses remained piled up in the parking across the street until pick up. Door staff seemed more interested in the workers than guests. At the very same time the entry canopy was being repaired with ladders, workers etc. Is July the best time to do all this really?

Bath tub is an accident waiting to happen. It takes a quasi gymnast to get in, and more skill to get out. There is a warning sign on the wall to be careful, but why design a make over like this?

Our room was opened by maids, cart outside, no one inside. We re-entered after breakfast yet no one came back for the 20 minutes we were there. The concierge was alerted and handled this extremely well, including offering us a drink later in the bar. This was a right response, still, with all our belongings left unattended we were not happy.

Desk staff is underinformed; maybe this isn't too much of as tourist city? They seemed baffled by some of our queries like where to breakfast if not in the hotel. They could not tell us, yet we discovered many local spots on our own. One concierge advised us to go a few streets away which we did only to find out the named cafe does not open until 11 AM

You get the idea. This ship needs to be tightened up quite a bit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and the inconvenient period did not make it any better.

Unfortunately with such an big project it is almost impossible that everything goes according to the planning. We can understand that this is not what guests expect from a 5 star hotel due to the lack of space there was unfortunately no other possibilities.

We appreciate your feedback and will take action where possible. Still we hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Des Indes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#5 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#7 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.