We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the charges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch the charges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Mixed feelings about this hotel. It is very comfortable and the location is great. I stayed on Starwood points - so at no cost and as a platinum member. On check-in, several hundred euros were 'pre-authorised' against my credit card. Immediately done but in the meantime, I don't have the money any more (who does?) and it takes a week or more to let me have the credit back. I got away lightly. Two colleagues who were staying with me, also using points, had thousands of euros 'pre-authorised'. They got texts throughout the night - every night - telling them that the hotel had made another charge. None of us were using the minibar or eating in the hotel.

On saturday morning, I asked to extend my stay - on points - by one night. The receptionist said that the hotel was quite full but that she would sort it out for me. When I got back in the afternoon, I was asked to pay more than 400 euros for the extra night - which I declined, saying I was prepared to leave. A long discussion ensued with the duty manager who initially sticking on the 400+, said she would see what she could do. I retired to the room. Later, she told me that although it had been 'impossible', she could indeed extend my stay on points. I thanked her for accomplishing the impossible.

So this hotel will take you for everything they can and try to make you feel grateful. If you are not travelling with a company credit card and don't care what they take off you, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Des Indes and the time you have taken to give us feedback of your stay. We acknowledge your Platinum status with Starwood and can understand your disappointment.

Making the check in authorizations is a hotel policy and we can understand that for your type of reservation the amount authorized has been too high. Our credit card system checks the balance of the guests and if necessary makes an addition to the already authorized amount every night. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the proper department so that this will not be repeated.

Reservations made by points should never be a problem in our hotels but unfortunate for the guest can only be done by calling Starwood service desk.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    117
    30
    25
    11
See reviews for
57
227
40
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited Des Indes for high tea on a Sunday afternoon. We are all vegetarians and the hotel was well able to cater for this. The tea consisted of four courses, all of which were tasty and well presented. The staff was very friendly and the teas, including the hotel's own brand, were excellent. The tea, and the beautiful music from the harpist, made for a very special afternoon in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you have experienced our indigenous Hotel Des Indes high tea, and that it was to your expectations.

Our Sunday afternoons are very popular and we are very proud of our High Tea tradition.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Where to start - Great location in the centre of the Hague with a unique decor with the premise based on old fashioned elegance. The welcome is somewhat intimidating, entering from the sunshine outside into a dark narrow reception. But its a friendly staff at the desk, and I'm quickly checked in and in my room. The room is a "Split Level Executive" with my bed "upstairs" on a galleried mezzanine.
Lighting is poor and I never managed to switch the lights off from upstairs from my bed, which meant a risky walk in half light up narrow stairs. My bags were left downstairs in the lounge (my choice) which was a mistake and left for a cramped living area.
It was a business trip, and the tiny desk and dining room chair were pretty useless for working on a presentation. Wifi was awful at times and the repeated logging in - even after paying for a 3 / 4 day pass was irritating.
Positives - the doorman was a great source of info, and helped me several times, and almost all of the staff were very helpful and very friendly.
Food - the breakfast was great, and the sorbet deserts were super. The Mains were OK. This is not a cheap hotel, so would I go back? Most likely yes if I was with my wife - she would love it. On a business trip - I would need to think about that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for your honest and helpful review. We can understand that this room was not suitable for your reason of stay. Because of the monumental building the rooms have been fitted in to the hotel,instead of a hotel build around the rooms as in a modern hotel.

We would love to welcome you back to accommodate you in a room more suitable to your wishes. Please note that for your future reservations it is always possible to leave a comment with your preferences. With that information we will do our upmost best to arrange the proper room for you.

All our ambassadors are educated with knowledge of The Hague. Our concierges have the best tips about our beautiful city that will make your future stay with your wife memorable.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel, interesting history, and excellent service. Walking distance to restaurants, shops, and hotels in the Hague. There is a spa, small pool, sauna, and gym on the ground floor. Highly Recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Kate,

How wonderful it is to read that your stay with us has been a pleasant experience.
Hotel Des Indes is very proud of the rich history it has gathered over the years and will be doing so in the future. Maybe with your next stay we will have even more interesting stories.

Due to the small size of The Hague we are indeed in walking distance of all the major highlights. Please be sure to stop by our concierge with your next stay, for they have all the ins and outs of our beautiful city.

With kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It's a great hotel, with lavish décor, in a quiet but very good & central location.
The staff are very professional & the breakfast buffet is good.

Just so that all the praise doesn't make them complacent I've noted a few minor areas that they can still improve:
1) Wifi is okay but having different options & the need to constantly log-in is not great. It should be all free, at the premium speed & with a simple one time log-in.
2) Put brown sugar on the tables for breakfast (it's better for coffee than white)!
3) Send you concierge to other nearby cities to expand their knowledge outside of Den Haag.

So, it's not perfect but it is very good & I'll happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Des Indes.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we always appreciate the feedback of our guests, and will be sure to improve where possible.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful place to lay your head and relax. Great area for walking, eating and shopping. Very quite with attentive staff who want to make your stay the best. Rooms are elegant yet comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and kept us going back for more. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and leaving such a wonderful review online. We are very lucky to be in the beautiful city center of The Hague and being the perfect starting point for our guests to experience the indigenous city of The Hague.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent two nights here in the middle of a Netherlands biking trip. We were ready for a comfortable stay after a couple of hard days' riding, and we found it at Des Indes. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and quiet, room service food was delicious, the bath was well appointed and pampering. The bedding was the very best. Our room overlooked a large park -- a lovely view that reminded me of Paris in a quieter day. I would enjoy returning to Des Indes for further exploration of Des Hague. The spa was very weak (though the masseuse was good.) Breakfast was so-so. Staff nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler,

We are very pleased to read that you have had a comfortable stay during your exceptional biking tour through The Netherlands.

The view from our front side rooms is indeed a truly indigenous experience of The Hague. Please make sure to contact our concierges upon your return to Hotel Des Indes to explore the ins and outs of The Hague.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#2 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paleis Hotel
Paleis Hotel
#5 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#6 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Amrath Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen
1.3 mi away
Residenz Stadslogement
Residenz Stadslogement
#1 of 70 in The Hague
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#8 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.