We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes) (Voorhout)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€145 (EUR)
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegant and charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Wonderful place to lay your head and relax. Great area for walking, eating and shopping. Very quite with attentive staff who want to make your stay the best. Rooms are elegant yet comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and kept us going back for more. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and leaving such a wonderful review online. We are very lucky to be in the beautiful city center of The Hague and being the perfect starting point for our guests to experience the indigenous city of The Hague.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    85
    24
    22
    7
See reviews for
48
153
31
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent two nights here in the middle of a Netherlands biking trip. We were ready for a comfortable stay after a couple of hard days' riding, and we found it at Des Indes. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and quiet, room service food was delicious, the bath was well appointed and pampering. The bedding was the very best. Our room overlooked a large park -- a lovely view that reminded me of Paris in a quieter day. I would enjoy returning to Des Indes for further exploration of Des Hague. The spa was very weak (though the masseuse was good.) Breakfast was so-so. Staff nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Traveler,

We are very pleased to read that you have had a comfortable stay during your exceptional biking tour through The Netherlands.

The view from our front side rooms is indeed a truly indigenous experience of The Hague. Please make sure to contact our concierges upon your return to Hotel Des Indes to explore the ins and outs of The Hague.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at Des Indes during the King's Day festivities. There was quite a lot going on around the hotel with the carnival out front and the nights of celebration honoring their King's Birthday.

Our room was picture perfect. We could open up the window for fresh air and hear the sound of the seagulls and then the bells of the nearby churchs. It was a large enough room with coffee, tea and turndown service in the evening. Everything was replenished as needed and very clean.

The hotel has a lot of history and they have a channel on the tv outlining it all. Famous people from all over have stayed here. Kings, queens, presidents, musicians, movie stars and much more. (They have a framed picture of all the dignitaries with autographs outlining them).

The dining area is quite impressive with the great staircase and amazing attention to detail, as it was back in the day. Huge chandeliers on the enormously high ceiling give a greatness to the entire room and the feeling of royalty. It was breathtaking.

I cannot say enough about the staff. They were so helpful and accommodating with our accessible room. They are so informative about the area, history of hotel and tours. Some have worked there for 20+ years! They are truly and asset to the company! We were so comfortable in the hotel, that we left some items behind for an upcoming wedding (in Ireland) in the closet! If it wasn't for Anne-Marije and Daan assuring me they could send it ahead to one of our next destinations (during a bank holiday week), we would have been scrambling to buy new clothes! We are so grateful to them and their team for getting our things safely to us!

It was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in and hope to come back to again some day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and leaving such a wonderful review online.
The rich history of all our famous guests is what we dearly cherish and we are very proud to share this with our guests who visit the hotel today.

We strive to go the extra mile for our guests, and our ambassadors Anne-Marije and Daan are definitely there to go the extra step. We will be sure to mention your kind comments to them and the rest of our ambassadors.

With kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, the location cannot be better. The service was phenomenal, although I have to give a special nod to the concierges, who were AMAZING and made my brief stay outstanding. The lobby and dining area are so beautiful my pictures cannot do it justice. I slept amazing well, but the rooms are a little garish for my taste. But that's just me. I'd stay here again FOR SURE. I could recommend it WITHOUT RESERVE.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Indeed we are very lucky to be in the beautiful city center of The Hague. We are very happy to read that our concierges have made your brief stay so amazing! The knowledge they have is something that we cherish and makes Hotel Des Indes the perfect starting point to discover The Hague and The Netherlands.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back and remember that we are pleased to assist you even prior to your arrival.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and son just left The Netherlands after five days in The Hague. The location of Hotel des Indes is perfect. A short walk to the Centrum area, museums, and cafés. Far enough away from the bustling of the shopping area to have a relaxing stay bit able together to the area I with a short walk. There are cafés and wine bars around the corner of the hotel also. The staff was exceptionally helpful including the front office, concierge (Maurice) and the doorman. We happened to be there during the King's Day celebration which included the carnival. It occurs every year from around the end of April through the first week in May. While it was a minor annoyance it also added to the charm of spending the time in The Hague during the national festival. The noise terminated by 1100PM and that was the time we went to be anyway. We are platinum members of SPG and had requested suite upgrade but the alternative room we were given had a great view and was spacious for the three of us. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting The Hague.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Room 360 which was in front of the building and gave us a view of the park area (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear SPG Platinum member,

How wonderful it is to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Spending your trip during our King’s Day weekend may cause some problems, but as you mentioned that is the charm of our small country.

We hope that we may have the honor of welcoming you and your family back to Hotel Des Indes soon.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I took a short break to the Netherlands in late April, primarily to go and see the Keukenhof Gardens, and decided to spend some time nearby in The Hague after this. Our first mistake was not checking pubic holidays in the Netherlands, our visit coinciding with Kings Day and the festivities/celebrations associated with this.

We had found a good discount deal for two nights online so booked the Hotel Des Indes, obviously first having checked the ratings here on Trip Advisor.

On arrival after a long day at the Keukenhof gardens, following our overnight sleeper ferry from the UK, we were somewhat concerned to find a large fairground occupying the majority of the square in front of the hotel. Though it was only around 5pm the music from the various thrill rides was already quite "bass heavy" and we wondered how things would be inside the hotel - we may have found out why there was such a discount for these dates.

We used the hotel car park, which is directly outside the hotel. At 36 Euro per night this is far from cheap, but as The Hague is not that "car friendly" (trams and bicycles being the obvious alternatives for getting around) this was the best option for us. The Valet parked our car for us and our bags were swiftly taken away to reception, awaiting our check-in.

At reception the gentleman that checked us in spoke excellent English, and apologised for the fairground outside - obviously they have no influence on this, but the apology was appreciated. He assured us that the music would stop at Midnight (which it did) and explained about Kings Day in the Netherlands and the associated festivities that weekend, including the fairground outside.

We were offered an optional room upgrade, and the cost for this included Breakfast and premium high-speed WiFi access (free rate-limited WiFi access was also available) for less than just adding breakfast each day, so we took up this offer. Our upgraded room was on the 4th floor, room 423, and this was quite large with an excellent view over the rooftops of The Hague, but more importantly it was around the side of the hotel away from the fairground. It had a large canopied bed and plenty of room, with a generous bathroom that had an interesting multifunction shower over the bath.

The bed, pillows and bed linens were very high quality, and both my wife and I commented on this being one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in. The room also had a pod-type coffee maker and a small minibar, with complimentary bottled water each day. The one thing we did note was the lack of milk for tea (tea bags were provided, but only powdered creamer). A quick call to reception had a jug of fresh milk delivered to our room, and there was room in the mini-bar fridge to keep this cool. When we pointed the “tea but no milk” issue out to the receptionist at checkout they said they would look into this, and on return home around 12 hours later that evening after our return ferry crossing, I had an email from the hotel saying they had addressed this issue and would offer milk to guests in future - an excellent prompt response, and great customer service from an organisation that listened and acted to customer feedback. Some larger chain hotels could learn from this!

The bathroom had two sinks, always of benefit in the mornings even on holiday, but the bath was fitted into the corner and there was quite a high step into this. I had no problems being over 6 foot tall, but my wife at around only 5 feet did struggle a little. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure during our stay, and the multifunction shower had both invigorating and relaxing options. To be fair, fitting a bathroom with all of the modern fittings into such an old (listed?) building is not going to be easy, and they had made a good job working around the structural limitations the building imposed.

We made use of both the bar and restaurant (dinner and breakfast) and both were very good. There was an excellent selection available at breakfast each day with a hot and cold buffet, plus additional hot options available to order. My wife and I ordered two poached eggs each, and these arrived within a few minutes and were cooked exactly to our request, the yokes still soft on the inside.

The staff spoke excellent English, as well as German, Spanish and Italian that we heard during our stay - not just social chit-chat but proper conversations. We were impressed by the local knowledge and linguistic skills of all the staff we met during our stay, both young and old(er).

We did go and have a look at the Spa and leisure facilities at the hotel, but did not have time to use these during our visit sadly. There is a small swimming pool in the basement, and plenty of room around this to relax on loungers etc. I do not believe that it can be easy to add such leisure features to older buildings, but this had been done well within the limitations imposed.

Outside the hotel, the majority of the other buildings in the street facing the square are embassies for various countries, including the UK & USA - the latter having a large security fence!. This is clearly the “upmarket” end of town, but still has shops and bars plus the obligatory canals for scenic walks a short distance away.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Des Indes. We would certainly stay here again if visiting The Hague, and would like to thank all of the staff who made our stay here so special.

If you want to be close to the town centre, shops, canals and tram lines etc, then this is a good place to stay. It is certainly not the cheapest option for hotel accommodation locally, but the quality of the rooms and fittings, attention to detail and genuinely helpful and caring staff more than make up for the additional costs involved.

The fairground did not prove to be an issue in the end, even when it was in full swing you could only faintly hear it from our room, but we may pay more attention to the holiday calendars of our holiday destinations in future just to be safe.

Room Tip: The room upgrade option, including Breakfast and WiFi, was a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear world traveler,

Thank you very much for your kind and well detailed review of our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you have had the true indigenous experience in Hotel Des Indes as well in The Hauge.
Indeed the period you have visited us is not the most ideal time, but it is very good to read that we have exceeded your expectations. We are very keen on making sure all our ambassadors are able to assists our guests from all over the world. Therefore ability to speak different languages is preferred.

As you have mentioned Hotel Des Indes is a monumental building and we have limitations to change the structure of the building, but then again that gives the hotel its royal charm.
Dear traveler we again would like to thank you for your stay and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a really nice hotel. The staff are very well trained, the decor is good, the rooms are what you would expect - elegant and comfortable. Everything very smooth from arrival to departure. The bathroom was large enough for a walk in shower but there was just one over the bath which was a shame. The gym is small and a little dingy with low roof and crammed in machines - for me this lets it down. Go for a room with a view - we didn't get one. Didn't try the evening meals as there are so many restaurants nearby. It really is a great location

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Des Indes! We are pleased to read that you have had a pleasant stay and are grateful for your helpful feedback.
Indeed as you mentioned Hotel Des Indes is located in the city center of The Hague and therefore we are in walking distance of very good restaurants as well as other high lights the city has to offer.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Des Indes in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Voorhout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#6 Business Hotel in The Hague
#7 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.