We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hotel and superb staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, The Hague 2514 EG, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes) (Voorhout)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€145 (EUR)
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in The Hague
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel and superb staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I returned to the hotel Des Indes after 3 years from my last stay, and it is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed. There is something unique about this hotel which I haven't found in any other hotel. It's full of history, and at the same time it is a wonderful contemporary hotel. You sense its 132 years of history, but you are also surrounded by a wonderful, rich contemporary design which gives the Des Indes a theatrical look and feel. It's also extremely well proportioned: it's not a big hotel but it is not small either. The common areas are suitable to host anything from a royal dinner (in fact, they have!) to an informal conversation over tea. There are plenty of cozy corners, all enriched by the red, gold and purple velvet chairs. I find the color scheme of the hotel just fantastic.
Accommodation is superb. We stayed in a junior suite, which is in fact one very large room with a canopy bed, a sofa with table and chair, and a work desk. Despite the fact that there is no separate living room, the suite is big enough to make it a very pleasurable space to work or enjoy a drink in company. The little touches like a Nespresso machine, superb teas and the possibility to complement them with local sweets and snacks only add to the welcoming feeling of the hotel.
On both nights of our stay I had the best sleep I can remember in a hotel; the bedding is of really very good quality.
The bathroom is stunning, large, contemporary and functional. Small details such as the dimmed light by the mirror which is perfect at night make the accommodation very pleasant and pleasurable.
Breakfast is abundant and of excellent quality. There are several sorts of bread and pastries, cold cuts and cheese, eggs, bacon, fruits and cereals. Many products are local. We had dinner one evening during one of the special "des introduce" weeks, when there is a special menu. The dinner was very good (5 courses to discover the "umami" taste, all with a Dutch flavor) and the wine arrangement let me discover some really good wines. The service was outstanding, and all the staff were extremely professional and friendly. Elmar in particular was an example of how the staff makes the difference in a hotel like Des Indes.
The gym and the spa are truly enjoyable even if they are not very large. The gym is very smartly arranged so that there are a variety of machines and treadmills and also space for exercises. The spa has a large sauna, a steam room and a small swimming pool. The pool however has some jet streams that make it possible to swim as if one were in a lap pool. It does the trick - and after a few strokes you can relax on one of the four relax beds nearby. There are also a number of massage and treatments rooms in the spa.
All this makes the Des Indes one of the top hotels I've ever stayed at. The difference is made by the staff, by their true desire to serve, respect and listen to the guests. As an example, at check out I suggested that they could install 2 more reading lights by the relax beds in the spa. When I got home, I found a personal email from Emelie, the duty manager, thanking me for my stay and for my suggestion about the lights, which she will discuss with the management team. It's only a small example of how this hotel makes staying there special.

Room Tip: If you have specific requests, best thing is to contact the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your review on your stay in Hotel Des Indes. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to write such a complete story on your experiences with us.

As you already mention, our chefs do their utmost to always prepare the most beautiful dishes and use products that are really indigenous. This results in wonderful combinations that are an adventure on its own.

During breakfast, we aim to offer something nice for all of our guests and besides the buffet we also have many a la carte breakfast options.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    80
    21
    20
    7
See reviews for
43
136
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel from 1881 could easily have remained in the glorious past, but instead it has renewed itself without losing its unique character. The hotel has recently been renovated so all rooms and facilities look new. We had a nice room on the 4th floor from which we could see the whole town. The room was spacious and clean, the staff very helpful. From the hotel we were very close to the old city centre, so we could have a nice walk around. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: 4th floor has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about your stay in Hotel Des Indes. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

As you already mention the hotel was completely renewed recently but still breaths the old luxurious atmosphere from the old days. For us however, it is really important to make sure all modern facilities are available to make your stay both memorable and comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here one night with a family (two children, uncle, and parents, one who is disabled). We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The children received a free special make your own ice cream on arrival, which they really enjoyed. The rooms were beautiful. They were not quite as big as some of the rooms at other places we stayed in Holland, but as this was a larger city I had expected that. I didn't experience any of the problems others have mentioned with children. In fact, my children swam in the pool and felt welcome everywhere there. We had requested an extra bed because we knew ahead of time the room counted children as one person, and there was plenty of room. They also changed my parent's room to one that had a walk in shower when they found out my dad was disabled, and at no extra charge. I found this a great experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your experiences.

Please note that we have passed on your comments to our team and that it was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests.

Also, children are always very welcome with us, we offer special children's menus, amenities and there are many children's facilities around the hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was clean . Hotel of course is very impressive from the inside. Room was spacious and had tea and coffee making facilities. Room had petals sprinkled all over (maybe because we mentioned that we just got engaged). the tv in the room is placed in the corner of the room behind a big piece of furniture. Not really practical. There was a concierge that took us to our room which wasnt really necessary as we carried our own luggage. He walked us to our room and poointed out the obvious : "this is the tv" , "this is the bed", "this is the bathroom" , 'that is the window" ....??? it was a bit silly really. I have been to a lot of luxury hotels and this just seemed like a waste of personnel. He waited around akwardly for a tip , which I refused to give as he didnt do a thing!

During checkout the same concierge passed us by and didnt even bother to greet just gave us a mean glance, terrible! Unlike the rest of the staff who greet whenever you pass by,....as is normal. He must have been upset we didnt tip. Shame as the rest were very friendly and helpful even had a turndown service. He kind of spoiled the image I have of Des indes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ceecee,

Thank you very much for your visit to Hotel Des Indes and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to learn that you had a positive experience with us. However, we are sorry to read that some service interactions were not up to our standard. We will discuss this with our team to avoid repetition in the future. Please do note that our entire team is informed about the fact that tips are included in their wages and therefore tips should not be expected as you describe. Let us please apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel and completely blew me away, it's not the normal modern hotel am used to. but was pleasently suprised with the large rich interiors of the room. It's almost like a boutique hotel somewhat.

The hotel is also just next to a road that goes down with plenty to eat and drink, this makes your stay even more interesting as things are round the corner.

Hotel staff were top class and my stay was the best without doubt.

Room Tip: Do take a walk outside and down the street, it's jsut there and an absolute delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for the time you took to write a review on your stay on Tripadvisor.com.

It is a delight to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon.

As you already mention, Hotel Des Indes is situated very well in the center of The Hague. The Denneweg, which is right around the corner offers a great collection of antique shops and wonderful restaurants.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the entrance to our departure, the entire experience was a once in a lifetime one. All the members of staff that assisted us, or saw in the corridor greeted us sincerely. this made us feel very comfortable during our stay.
Furthermore the city of The Hague is definitely worth paying a visit to!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Traveller,

A sincere thank you for your very nice comments on Tripadvisor. We are very proud to read that you have experienced your stay with us as a great one and it is our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate when I went to the Hague with my family and the usual 5 star hotels were full and 'left' with Des Indes which I have not heard before. I was pleasantly surprised. Has huge rooms for European standard, its a former holiday palace and hence has a rich history with a palatial interior. Has modern facilities - LCD TV and a Nespresso coffee machine! What separates it is the staff. So helpful and friendly from the porters to checkin in and banquet. Breakfast spread is a lot more than other hotels I have been to in Europe. Location is 12 mins walk to central train station and 3 mins to a tram location. Smack in a line of boutique shops and 5 mins walk to the Hague shopping district and historical places. The rooms are old and hence in one of our stay, my room had a cold breeze through the window. This was easily solved by the hotel who supplied us with an extra portable heater. It is part of the Sheraton chain.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your visit to Hotel Des Indes. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have shared this online.

Hotel Des Indes is part of Starwood, and Starwood also has brands like Sheraton for example. In all of the Starwood brands you are able to use your SPG membership.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, The Hague 2514 EG, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Voorhout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#6 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Splendia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.