We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top interior, top 'cuisine', top service and ... top prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay with rates from €79
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Top interior, top 'cuisine', top service and ... top prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Usually this top notch hotel/restaurant doesn’t match with our wallets (like an omelet for e 12,-). But due to a socalled Restaurant Week in our hometown The Hague, we had the opportunity to experience lower prices at the both highly acclaimed as very expensive Hotel Des Indes. The luxurous interior is wonderful and strongly give you the idea that for a few hours you are living like the rich and famous! The special Hotel Des Indes Restaurant Week Menu delivered a choice of 2,3 or 4 courses wine arrangement (13 euro, 19,50 euro and 25 euro). We went for the 4 course wine arrangement featuring as the starter a cob terrine with pesto, aspic and a caviar dressing and then in between gamba and Peking duck with a special rice and bean ravioli and a tropical sauce. Next the main menu: Dutch veal with apple and rosti. Finally as the dessert a chocolate cake with a sorbet of Poire Williams and lemonmelisse. All courses not only looked mouthwatering but were also very delicious. We were delighted about the subtle blend of different tastes and the tasteful variety …. as you could expect from the famous Hotel Des Indes! We also loved the way the waiters explained the courses, my wife considered this as a big plus. So in the end we enjoyed our stay and the dinner in the luxury Hotel Des Indes very much but soon after we were back in our own world, haha!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and we have passed on you wonderful comments to our team.

Please note that Hotel Des Indes organises it's own restaurant week eveny 4 months. Our beautiful Desintroduce menus are then also available for a nice price.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    95
    24
    25
    10
See reviews for
49
170
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is an amazing hotel, it has a beautiful bar and is a perfect place for afternoon tea. There are numerous bars and delightful small restaurants on your doorstep and is only about a 10 minute walk to the city centre. Staff are excellent and the hotel has a warm welcoming atmosphere.

Breakfast is quite expensive - although lots of choice and a very splendid spread - but there are lots of lovely cafes to choose from where breakfast is a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, then there are lots of quiet rooms, one side of the hotel is quite noisy opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, and for your stay in Hotel Des Indes.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also the breakfast. Our entire breakfast is completely fresh every day and of course all items are home made.

As you already write, we have several different room possibilities, which means that every stay, you can try a different room with a different look and feel.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location with great views at the city of The Hague. Spacious rooms and the bathrooms are also spacious. Good service. Nice lounge, Excellent High Tea. Lovely Nespresso machine in the room. Big screen TV. Pitty there is no free WIFI in the rooms, just in de lobby/ lounge.

Room Tip: Request a room located in the front of the hotel, at the Lange Voorhout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for the time you took to write a review on Tripadvisor.

As you already mention, from Hotel Des Indes you have a great view over the city of the Hague but you can even see the coast. Hotel Des Indes is located in the city center of the Hague, but also close to the beach. Perfect if you want to go for a nice stroll.

The internet in the lobby and lounge is indeed free of charge. You are also able to use free internet for 30 minutes in your room.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights when on business trip to the Hague in January 2013. A very charming hotel, beautiful rooms (mine was on the 4th floor, so a nice view) and a very nice restaurant. Try their afternoon tea - a traditional service with delicious food (don't plan on a large dinner on the same day - the food that comes with the tea is going to keep you full for a day or so). I usually stay in the lovely Pulitzer hotel in Amsterdam when in the Netherlands, but will consider staying in the Hague again next time I am in the country. All in all, very traditional hotel rich in own history, nice service and very decently priced (at least off-season).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and it would be a great pleasure to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Please also note that The Hague is not that far from Amsterdam and could indeed be a nice alternative if you wish to stay in a more quiet city.

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed in the Hotel des Indes for 1 night during company event. Sorry to say this but we failed to get at least some comfort and good sleep in this 5* hotel.
First: we got a room #1 on the ground floor, under the main staircase. The room had no view at all (some technical facilities just next to our windows), so we could not see anything. Second: almost the whole night we have heard the people going up and down the staircase. We immediately realized that the noise will be disturbing and asked the staff to give us other room. The receptionist warned us that it will be a room with a street view and we will hear people screaming outside till 5 a.m. Does she mean that the 5* hotel has no sound isolation? We have prefered to stay under the staircase. Moreover, this dark, noisy room without view is called "deluxe" or "suite". Difficult to imagine how the ordinary room looks like.
Another small detail: the bathtube is not comfortable at all, difficult to get in and out, difficult to pick up the towel, the floor is very slipery. It is a minor detail, but you expect that in 5* hotel everything is perfect.
And again, the staff: when we asked to give us a room on the upper floor, around 5 p.m., there were still plenty of free rooms on the upper floor (reserved for the same company). But for unknown reason, the staff refused to do so.
The only thing that corresponds to the 5* standard was breakfast.
I understand that this hotel is quite particular, historic place, but unhelpful staff and absence of night rest is a serious problem for any hotel.

Room Tip: definitely not on the ground floor, try higher floors looking inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Traveller,

We are very sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We would very much like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay due to noise. Obviously, what you describe is not our usual procedure and we are always very willing to accomodate you and your wishes at all times.

We take your feedback very seriously and have discussed this with the relevant departments.

If there is anything else we may assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was only here 2 nights, but those 1 nights were great. The rooms are beautiful and have nice touches such as a Nespresso machine, china teacups, towel warmer, good bath amenities, slippers and a robe.

The internet is quite expensive (19 euros a day) if you want more than the 30 minutes of slow free service. This would be a problem for me if I were staying more than a couple of nights.

The property was originally built in the 1800s as a private mansion, but was turned into a hotel after about 20 years and has housed MANY dignitaries from Charles Lindbergh to the Rolling Stones.

If you stay here one tip is that the room numbers are painted onto vases mounted next to each door. I was tired when checking in and didn't notice the vases and so went up and down the hall several times looking for a room number!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for the time you took to post a review.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mention, our room numbers are stated on a little vase next to the room door. These vases are traditional tulip vases in Delftware. As a Luxury Collection Hotel, this indigenous item is very special to us.

Kind regards,
Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having been fortunate to stay in a few other SPG Luxury Collection Hotels (Hotel Pulitzer; Amsterdam; Hotel Alfonso, Seville; Sheraton Algarve, Albufeira) , I have to say that the Hotel Des Indes was one of my favorites. Due to the snow our arrival to the hotel was severely delayed and we didn't check-in until after 11pm. But the lateness of the hour did not hinder the friendliness of the hotel staff, Caroline at reception was wonderful, she even escorted us to the elevator.

We were upgraded to an executive room on the 4th floor (423), the SPG floor. At first it was a bit of a challenge to find our room since the room numbers were written on vases to the right of the doors. My wife & I had a good laugh about that since we wandered the halls for a few minutes looking for our number. The room far exceeded my expectations. But the real star was the bathroom, what can I say, I'm a HUGE fan of heated floors! Don't know what the previous reviewer was talking about we certainly did not "freeze to death" in our room, temperature was perfect for a blustery cold January night.

Room service was great too. There is a limited 24hr dining menu but the selections should appeal to most. We tried the pizza (w salami & mushrooms) and the tempura prawns. When I placed the order the staff member apologized that it would take 30-45 minutes to arrive, but I think it took less time than that for our food to arrive.

We passed the time waiting for our room service in the elegant hotel bar. Drinks are pricey (approx €14 for most cocktails) but the ambience and décor of the lobby make up for the price. The cocktail menu seems like a journey back in time featuring unique and delicious old school drinks.

The Hotel Des Indes is a wonderful member of the Luxury Collection. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Fourth floor is the SPG floor. Executive rooms feature heated bathroom floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Des Indes and for the wonderful review you shared on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us last week and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

As you might know, it is still snowing in The Hague and the Lange Voorhout (the square in front of the hotel) looks enchanting. Now the hotel really looks like a palace from a fairy tale!

Kind regards,

Rem Bastiaens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, 2514 EG The Hague, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#6 Business Hotel in The Hague
#7 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.