We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, The Hague 2514 EG, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes) (Voorhout)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 64 hotels in The Hague
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Amazing rooms - decor and convenience, one of the most luxurious and beautiful interiors I've stayed. Great location in the historic part. When I was checking in the staff offered free drinks for me an my colleague on the occasion of my recent birthday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed staying with us.

We strive to make every stay into an unforgettable one and surprising you for your birthday is part of that.
We hope to welcome you back soon to Hotel Des Indes.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    75
    20
    19
    7
See reviews for
40
124
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely luxury weekend stay at this hotel. The service was excellent - we arrived before the standard check in time but our room was ready early which was a bonus and what a lovely room they gave us. We were on the 3rd floor in a superior room. Although not a huge room, it was in a grand style. The bed was really comfy and it was nice to have the extras like an espresso machine, slippers, bathrobes, a card with the weather and temperature for the next day, some tea for 'sleeping well', and a turn down service where they even put on a bit of relaxing music for when we got back to the room. Anything I rang down for, the reception was quick to bring up to the room.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and the service was great. In particular, Arjan looked after us very well and tempted us into the chef's tasting menu which was definitely worth it! the restaurant is decorated in a really stunning style and the food was wonderful. We also had a lovely cocktail at the hotel bar and found Michael very good in helping us choose one.
The hotel has a great location not far from some lovely restaurants, shops and bars.

The one thing I would fault if anything, is the price of Euro 34.95 for the breakfast. Although it was delicious, it would have been nice to have a menu at the table with some extra things such as eggs benedict or an omelette available to order, to make it really worth the price.

Overall, a real luxury break in a hotel that more than lives up to its 5 star rating.
This hotel was recommended to me by several people and it certainly lived up to my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of Hotel Des Indes.

We are glad to read that the hotel was recommended to you by friends and that we lived up to your standards. As you can imagine, we are always seeking to deliver a consistent and high level of service.

Hotel Des Indes is located in the city center of the Hague, surrounded by many nice restaurants. But, as you have experienced, our own restaurant DesInDes is also one to remember!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel has a very high standard. It has the grandeur of a big stylish hotel while it is a medium size hotel. The room and bathroom were top. The bar and restaurant area are really very attractive. A few minor points for improvement. The hotel doesn't have sufficient parkings for its guests. Upon arrival the doorman asks me to park the car at the nearest parking which is approx 1,5km away or a 10min walk. It was pouring water that afternoon.... Besides, we noticed a very young and unexperienced staff in the afternoon tea restaurant which resulted in a slower service. As such the young staff was very friendly and tried to deal with it. A mix with a more experienced staff supervising the younger staff would solve that issue. Other than this,I think that Hotel des Indes is the best hotel to stay in Den Haag.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to provide us with some feedback. This enables us to improve our level of service, something we are always seeking to do.

As you already mention, we have a very nice lounge were we serve anything you'd fancy. Especially our cocktails are worth recommending. Our bar tenders are masters in creating drinks to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Firstly, The Hague is enchanting, people are friendly and Des Indes is very sexy, indeed. This hotel is the epitome of luxury in every sense of the word. The staff here are a great asset to the hotel. Kudos to the lady at concierge with the blonde hair her directions were correct and she read us very well. I guess my faux fur gillet and berry was a give away that I liked fashion? None the less she knew where there was an exhibition on that I would like. Which I loved. Also interestingly enough, when we had suggested places we had read about she mentioned that they were not as luxurious as our choice in hotel. Nice touch lady!

Reception are very warm, check in was seamless. At this point I would like to congratulate the reception staff on their mannerisms and for example standing when a lady is present. Very suave!

We also were recommended a Vietnamese restaurant little V – (never judge a book my its cover) not impressive from the outside, but go in its a beaut. Food is superb.
One day I did decide to have breakfast, unfortunately before I had sat down with a cup of coffee I was asked to give my room number. Slightly embarrassing, i’m not a banana thief! moreover minor hiccup. She needed to know.

In the mornings we would open the curtains to a courtyard view, beautiful. Nespresso machines In the room, YES. Brilliant. Round of applause! Blah blah blah get dressed and head for another coffee and some fresh croissants in the lounge area. I shudder to taint this sterling review but could have come a little quicker. However, they were fresh and tasty.

On the Saturday I took my book downstairs and read and drank red wine. This is when I really appreciated where I was. There is a rich history to this hotel, which I would hate to tell you all now, and be wrong but should you decide to stay here. Which you must! There is an information booklet from reception with interesting facts and anecdotes.

The thing about REAL five star hotels is the devil is in the detail. Really small pool? Who cares? – there is a built in current. If my partner is having a shower I guess I can’t use the mirror right. Wrong – it only steams up the side the centre stays steam free. Internet access by the exit is complimentary. There is also a book in the room about the hotel with stories from previous managers etc. The stairs creek – which adds to the historic feel.

The team at Des Indes are professionals. If hospitality is about catering to ones every need its done well here.

Des Indes is like an affair, romantic and exciting but has to come to an end. Until next time, darling xxx

Room Tip: ask for a 4 poster bed. They have them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your travelling journal with us! We are delighted to learn that you have started an affair with our hotel. We really appreciate the way you write about the hotel, and indeed, after reading your story we can imagine falling in love with an historic property like ours.

Asyou describe, Hotel Des Indes has many historical features resulting in a great mixture of modern comfort and sofisticated style. Hotel Des Indes tries its utmost to keep the history alive.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed a long weekend in the Hague. The price we got through booking.com was extremely reasonable for this level of hotel. We stayed at the SPG floor where the rooms were very cosy and comfortable. The location is perfect for a city trip because it's in the middle of the historical center and everything is within reach. The service was just perfect. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review! It would be our pleasure to have you back as our guest.

As you mention, Hotel Des Indes is located in the city center of The Hague and therefore it's a great location for a city trip. The Queen's working palace is very closeby, but also the government buildings and ministries. The Hague really is an upscale city, with a great history, and Hotel Des Indes is proud to be part of that.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lelystad, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the moment we stopped our car in front of the hotel until the moment we got into the car everything was perfect.
Very, very attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful room ( executive twin) with absolutely amazing beds. Coffee and tea making facilities in your room off course.
Bathroom with rain shower and bath and really exciting decoration.
Our windows were at the front of the hotel, with lovely view outside.
No loud noises outside but this was November so not many people about.
Finished our stay with lovely high tea in the rotunda. The atmosphere is so relaxing....
Could not find anything missing or negative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Hotel Des Indes indeed has some Executive Twin Rooms as well. Those rooms are great in size and offer 2 big beds which is great when visiting with a friend.

As you already mention, we offer complimentary coffee and tea facilities in the room. Those enable you to enjoy a nice cup of your liking before going to bed.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Don't use the car service. It was some ridiculous set cost like €10 to the train station which is literally one block away. Wonderful location near the art museum. Great room with tall four post beds. The hot water could be improved too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIndes, General Manager at Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Global Explorer,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor and for staying at Hotel Des Indes, A Luxury Collection Hotel!

For taxi services in the Netherlands you always start off with a fixed rate. The fixed rate depends on the time you travel by taxi and on the company. Central station can better be done by foot than by taxi, what we also communicate towards our guest in general. We will definitely pick this up with our colleagues again.

Kind regards,

Pierre-Henri Bovsovers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Also Known As:
Le Meridien The Hague
The Hague Le Meridien
Address: Lange Voorhout 54 - 56, The Hague 2514 EG, The Netherlands (Formerly Le Meridien Hotel des Indes)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Voorhout
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#4 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Business Hotel in The Hague
#6 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical grandeur and elaborate elegance, Hotel Des Indes is a haven of luxury in the heart of The Hague. This five star deluxe retreat already embraces you even before you enter with the yellow facade and features a 315-square-metre health club, exceptional restaurant and sophisticated meeting facilities. Each room blends contemporary amenities with iconic architectural statements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.