We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paleis Hotel

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Paleis Hotel to your Saves list
Paleis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenstraat 26, 2513 BL The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were greeted very warmly on arrival and thrilled with our room. Our first impression of a charming Dutch bedroom was enhanced as the windows were open to the street, the sun was streaming in and there was street music adding to the atmosphere. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was delightful. I did struggle to get a wifi connection in my room and as you would expect from a boutique city centre hotel there is some passing noise but there is no traffic as the street is pedestrianised. The hotel is authentic and very well located for sightseeing, shopping and eating - overall a delight!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    46
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
78
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Everything about the Paleis was 5 stars. Our room was pumpkin with beautiful moldings & doors in bright green.The sheets & towels had their logo embroidered . The employees made you feel like they really cared about you & were there to serve you . The location is right in the heart of the city .We paid 166 Euros a night & it included breakfast. If you like little European hotels , you'll love the Paleis

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of the pedestrian area and is close to all sorts of shops, restaurants and attractions. The parking was located a bit far but they explained it well so it was not a problem. The service was unremarkable--friendly enough but not over the top. We did not take breakfast--there is a fantastic little coffee and bakery place right around the corner so we didn't feel we missed anything. We had a twin room and a double room. Both were nicely decorated but slightly tired and dated. As another reviewer noted, some paint is peeling and they need to renovate soon. The bathrooms were spacious although not new. We did not have any issues getting to sleep although one of our roomies did face the street and we noticed the nearby activity at the bars and restaurants. Overall a good stay although pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

A lovely hotel with period furnishings and finishes, comfortable and agreeable, just behind the town palace of the King of The Netherlands. Small charming inner city streets, very centrally located. As a result there are some pubs with late opening hours and revelers can be heard to 4 a.m. or later. Although the polite and pleasant receptionist assured us that the noise would not much reach us, as our room was on the third floor, we were woken up a few times :(

Wifi was free, but there was no signal during the first night which the receptionist could not remedy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street: at the garden side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at the Paleis Hotel last weekend as it had been recommended to us by a few friends who had also stayed there. The central location in the city and the fine selection of restaurants and bars all within walking distance suggested we should try it. The booking on line was easy with a well planned out web site that was not complicated to use. Confirmation as returned in a very short time. On arrival we were met by very helpful staff, they helped us with our cases from the taxi. Check in was easy and the decor of the entrance lobby was very refined and very tasteful.
Our room overlooked the main street and was delightful. Very clean and fantastic bed linen. I love crisp white Egyptian cotton sheets. The room was well laid out with a lovely on suite bathroom. A bath shower that is so easy to use and didn't flood the bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and catered for all tastes. I could even have my favorite cooked breakfast.
A joy to find such a gem of a hotel run by the owner in the heart of The Hague. We will return and thank you.

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have stayed at Paleis Hotel twice - once in May 2011 and with my Wife in June 2013. Both experiences were good in terms of room quality and hotel standards. The last trip was however more memorable. On arrival, we were informed that our reserved room was suddenly unavailable due to some piping problems but they had made arrangements to have us accommodated at a nearby hotel for the first night and thereafter upgraded us to the Executive suite. The room was exquisite. It is a pleasure staying there. Convenient to get around the city and I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The rooms along Molenstraat can get noisy in the early evening. If you need to sleep early, ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Unfortunately, my stay at the Paleishotel was a deception: although the entrance area looks nice and welcoming, the same cannot be said of the room I stayed in. The painted walls were damaged, full of stains and the bathroom had mould in it (the hotel clerk told me this was a recent problem due to issues with ventilation). As soon as I had seen the room, I went down to the reception - after all, it might be that my room was the only one not yet renovated - but I was kindly informed that all rooms were similar and that an update to a more expensive room type was not possible. A paint job would do this hotel good. Without it, it looks not charming, but old and tired. Too bad. Even the friendly staff can't make up for it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paleis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paleis Hotel

Address: Molenstraat 26, 2513 BL The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#5 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#7 Business Hotel in The Hague
#9 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paleis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paleis Hotel is situated right next to the Royal Palace "Noordeinde" in the heart of the "Hofkwartier", the historic centre and the oldest part of The Hague. Here you will find the most selective and exclusive shops, art galleries and antique shops, as well as the best choice of restaurants, from very simple to most delicate.The Paleis Hotel has 20 very luxurious rooms that have recently been renovated in a very tasteful and unique way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Paleis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paleis Hotel The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paleis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.