We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambassador” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paleis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paleis Hotel to your Saves list
Paleis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenstraat 26, 2513 BL, The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambassador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A jewel in the center of old The Hague, the Paleis Hotel is most attractive and decorated with exquisite taste. The rooms are very comfortable, supplied with very fine bed-sheets and bath towels, providing a restful haven after shopping and sight-seeing in the immediate neighbourhood. A warm welcome awaits you from the friendly and helpful staff who will go out of their way to assist you. The breakfast room, headed by sweet Antonia, provides you with a cheerful and attractive manner to start your day. The procimity of the Royal Palace adds to the atmosphere of cheerful dignity. After several stays at the hotel, my only advice is; "Do not miss the opportunity to spend a few days in this gem".

Room Tip: My favorite room is 308, very quiet, with a view over the Royal gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambassador48486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I visited het Paleis Hotel last week, I was so impressed with everything! It's simply gorgeous inside, the rooms are very elegant, nothing was spared to make the guest feel special, like royalty! Breakfast was great, little antique silver teapots, silver sugar bowl on the table etc complimented the food. It was all a wonderful experience.

Very nice, I definitely will be back!!

Room Tip: If you want to feel like a king or queen at an affordable price, this it it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This deluxe hotel is in the heart of the sightseeing, shopping and restaurant scene in Den Haag! Reasonably priced for the excellent location, decor and housekeeping cleanliness, the staff is very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was in the Hague for business for just two days. I had no idea where to stay, but the guidance provided on Trip Advisor was right on track. I loved my stay at the Paleis hotel. The hotel is situated on a small pedestrian street in the city center. The neighborhood is lovely with 17th century charm and architecture. It is about a 10-15 minute and 11 euro cab ride - depending on traffic, but one could take tram 17 from central station just 2 stops and it is a 5-7 minute walk.

The hotel maintains its historic air with tasteful and elegant decor and real room keys, which one can deposit at the front desk when going out, rather than card keys that one finds at most hotels. The front desk staff was warm and welcoming. The room was a good size, impeccably clean, and the bed was large and quite comfortable.

Around the corner from the hotel is a little restaurant called Pastis that has wonderful live music on Monday evenings; however, the music is not disruptive in the room.

The only two recommendations that I could offer to the hotel would be to have a mini-fridge in the room and to offer some sort of recycling bin in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the moment I stepped into this small, elegant hotel, every staff member did everything in their power to make mine a memorable stay. Situated on a pedestrian street in the old part of town, it has you in walking distance of all the best sites and restaurants. My room on the top (third) story looked over tiled rooftops at the Palace and its gardens. The room was nicely decorated; everything was in perfect condition; the bathroom was new, attractive and functional. Breakfast, in a charming, light-filled room, was the typical--and delicious--Dutch spread with eggs prepared to order. Note: This is not a business hotel. Don't expect business center, fitness facilities, bar, etc. Instead, go for the feeling of being in old Den Haag and for the individual attention and care the lovely staff provide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constanttraveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's was fantastic staying at the Hotel again. It is a classy and elegant place. The bed was very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The cabs (and drivers) that were ordered for us by the reception were also very pleasant. There are a lot of nice little shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We decided to visit the Hague for one of our 'weekend abroad' motorbike trips, and were absolutely delighted by the warm reception and the 'nothing was too much to ask' attitude. We enjoyed a superior room, which was comfortable, clean and thoughtfully appointed. The bed was wonderfully 'huge'. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. Breakfast was included in the price with a varied choice of continental and typically English foods. The location was perfect for exploring the Hague and particularly pleasant as it was situated in the old part of town, near the Royal palace. Whilst we didn't have time to travel further afield, the Palais hotel would be a good location for visiting other well known Dutch places.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and our room was very quiet, although there was a very slight hum from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Des Indes, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton The Hague
Hilton The Hague
#2 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
#7 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mozaic Den Haag
Hotel Mozaic Den Haag
#3 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residenz Stadslogement
Residenz Stadslogement
#1 of 70 in The Hague
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Den Haag
Parkhotel Den Haag
#15 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paleis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paleis Hotel

Address: Molenstraat 26, 2513 BL, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#5 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#6 Business Hotel in The Hague
#10 Family Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Paleis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paleis Hotel is situated right next to the Royal Palace "Noordeinde" in the heart of the "Hofkwartier", the historic centre and the oldest part of The Hague. Here you will find the most selective and exclusive shops, art galleries and antique shops, as well as the best choice of restaurants, from very simple to most delicate.The Paleis Hotel has 20 very luxurious rooms that have recently been renovated in a very tasteful and unique way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Paleis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paleis Hotel The Hague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing