We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply, I liked it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre

Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kinderen van Versteegplein 18, The Hague 2713 HB, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 66 hotels in The Hague
Brereton, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite simply, I liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I arrived in the late evening, having taken a tea-time flight from Birmingham to Schiphol airport, followed by a train ride to Zotermeer. The advertising said that it was close to the railway station, and, being tired, I hoped it was. Thankfully, it was as advertised.

When booking I had noticed that the cost of a suite was the same as a basic room, and so had plumped for the suite. Wow!! It was very large, and had everything you could want. (I had the Leopard Suite.)There was a large bedroom, large living area, large well equipped kitchen, separate bathroom, and separate toilet. In the bedroom there was a trouser press. (why don't most hotels still have those?) In a closet there was a full-size ironing board and a steam iron. I had a kettle and cups, and an assortment of tea and coffee in the living area. (No drinking chocolate, but reception provided it upon request.) The African decor throughout the hotel was different, but interesting.

The internet was fast, and unlimited. Another plus was the amount of wall sockets. So many hotels have one or two at most. This suite had lots.

Staff were friendly, and the choice of food at breakfast was decent. The quality was quite good. I ate out with colleagues for dinner, and so did not get to try the restaurant in the evening.

My only little gripe was that there was a bit of black mould in the bathroom. Not huge amounts, but noticeable.

Room Tip: If the suite is the same price as the ordinary room, take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
11
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Traveled here for one night while working near the hotel. Although it feels quite old, the hotel is clean and pleasent. The room was large and clean. Getting there late at night, it took a little while to figure out where to park, but that was just me being tired.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend excellent hotel very clean and staff very friendly only problem was location it is right next to a train station but nowhere near airport or city centre so if you don't mind traveling to these places the hotel is ideal

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schinznach Bad
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is directly next to the Zoetermeer Railway station, which brings you quickly to The Hague or to Utrecht. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I use the hotel, because my family lives in Zoetermeer and it is close to my The Hague. The prices are reasonable, but breakfast is excluded. Staff is professional and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel. Travelling all day we arrived after dinnertime, and enjoyed all the amentities of the room including bath and tea / cofee facilities. The room was hot overnight with a loud air conditioning system and the pillows not great, but we have found the pillows a frustration all over Europe, so this isn't really a unique issue for this hotel.

The size of the room is spacious and large and the same goes for the bathroom. We didn't take breakfast and did have free parking, friendly staff, everything we could need was provided. Great value stay and I'd recommend it for short stays or stop overs etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week and used it as a base for exploring the Netherlands. While the hotel's location is not picturesque, being close to both a motorway and a railway line, it is ideally located for using the public transport network with frequent services available from both Dutch Railways to Zoetermeer station, which is no more than 5 minutes walk away and HTM Randstad Rail. This meant that we were able to easily enjoy days out in The Hague (around 15 minutes by train), Gouda (around 20 minutes by train) and Amsterdam (just over 1 hour by train). We were also able to travel easily in less than an hour to and from Schiphol Airport to connect with our flights to and from Holland. The centre of Zoetermeer is around 20 minutes walk away, although trams run from outside the hotel to the town centre for those who don't want to walk. There is another shopping centre with an Albert Heijn supermarket around 10 minutes walk away across the bridge from the hotel. The hotel room itself was comfortable and clean, although it was sometimes hot in the room, however a fan was provided which went some way to cool the room down. The TV in the room had BBC One for English speakers, alongside many Dutch channels. Although we didn't use the hotel restaurant this did appear to be quite expensive from the menus we saw in the lift! There is also a tourist tax, which amounted to nearly €25 per person for our stay, which is worth bearing in mind, although I don't know if this is standard Dutch practice. The hotel staff were friendly and I would seriously consider staying at this hotel again if I was visiting this part of Holland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a stay at this modern hotel on a recent coach holiday. Our room had all the necessary facilities and the bed was most comfortable. The room, however, did have poor air conditioning/ventilation and as a result the room did get very hot and stuffy.
The dining arrangements were quite acceptable. Being with a coach party we were required to dine at a fixed time in the evening (7pm) and there was no choice for the three-course meal. Nevertheless, the dining room was most elegant and comfortable with separate tables for 2 or 4 to sit. The food was good, very well presented and nicely cooked and served to us by friendly and helpful staff. Tea or coffee was also served after the meal.
The hotel had a nice bar and there were tables outside to sit off from the dining room.
The hotel is located close to the railway station and about 20 minutes walk to the town.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre

Address: Kinderen van Versteegplein 18, The Hague 2713 HB, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in The Hague
#20 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable three star hotel with a nice bar and restaurant. But you will find this in a lot of places. Why we are different? We are friendly, helpfull and we will give you a real home away from home feeling. Sincere friendliness and hospitality is what we stand for. We know it's tricky to state all of the above, but hey: we are all human :-). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Zoetermeer
Golden Tulip The Hague
Zoetermeer Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Zoetermeer Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.