We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star pretentions, 3 star service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Stolkweg 1, 2585 JL The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5-star pretentions, 3 star service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked one night with a Bongo-voucher we had as a gift. The assigned room was in the older part of the building and was 'OK'. Not splendid, a cigaret of a former guest was found in the ashtray on the balcony, the bed was really soft and the safe was closed (probably also by the former guest but apparently not checked by housekeeping). So far, a regular room. When we asked for assistance a front desk employee tried to open the safe, but did not succeed, because the digital key was broken (?). Let's not hope that you forget your safe deposit key numbers and your passport is still in the safe and you are about to fly home, because no one in this 5-star hotel could help you. After some discussion we were transferred to another room in the new part of the building. This was definitely better, with a good bed and firm mattresses. This looks like good service, but we really had to be persistent to get this them finally come up with this offer. Furthermore, the breakfast was just fine, but not 5-star. And then, check-out. We had to wait 20 minutes in queue just to pay the tourist city tax! This really should be organized better in a 5-star hotel. Location is great, between The Hague and Scheveningen, next to two tram stations. But the service is not as high as they pretend to be.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new part. These are much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sandor45,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    112
    60
    17
    14
See reviews for
35
103
23
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was booked into Crowne Plaza Den Haag Promenade on a business trip and was a little surprised to discover is passes itself off as a 5 star hotel. The accommodation is clean and modern but quite small and certainly no better than a Holiday Inn. Like so many 3 star hotels, the rooms are very dark with no ceiling lights and only underpowered wall and standard lamps.

Although the bed was exceptionally comfortable, sleep was altogether denied by the loud rumble and juggering of the air conditioning (which made a noise like a tanker refuelling) and it seemed to be impossible to turn off. It was only after a sleepless night and complaints to the concierge that I was informed that I needed to insert my key card in a slot on the wall in order to be able to adjust the air conditioning controls. Obviously!

Service in the restaurant was non-existent. On my first evening I waited far too long to be show to a table and then jus waited and waited and waited. A menu was hurriedly thrust at me and I waited and waited and waited until I gave up after half an hour or so perusing a particularly unappetising looking menu. There was no service at the bar either which seemed to have been taken over by a roudy party of locals who dominated the barman's attention.

Wi-fi was difficult to obtain. The guide in the room said that the access code was displayed on the top of the TV. It wasn't. The code quoted by reception didn't work. After several attempts and some negotiation I did manage to get a connection but only non- high speed wi-fi was free. The hotel charges for most non-Dutch TV channels

On the plus side, it does have a nice looking pool and a real gym and spa, which is presumably how it earns its 5 stars.

However, this is not somewhere to stay unless you have to. If you get stranded in The Hague or sent there on business it is good enough but 5 star destination it certainly is not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear BOEWULF,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel regarding your stay.

I am sorry to hear your troubles with the air conditioning system and the internet service. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you. Additionally, I am sorry for the poor experience and service issues that you have encountered in our restaurant.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been there for 2 days over the weekend. The hotel is modern stylish. I like this others might not. We have been in the new hotel extension which was without any complaints. Front desk was very friendly but understaffed at checkout. Breakfast buffet is excellent if you know dutch breakfasts. Wifi is free and was ok. TV gear is good but programs are a real lough and not 5 star. But who goes to a hotel to watch TV?

Room Tip: Try to get into the newer extension. Ok it is at the main street but noise was ok at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Even if I got a tour of the hotel, in person, and before visiting Den Haag for the first time, I would've been convinced that this was a five star property. But everything became obvious after entering our room that all was just superficial. Here's my thoughts after a one-night stay with my wife and baby during our first multi-city vacation.

Pros:
- modern, clean, and contemporary looking property. This applies to the bar, restaurant, corridors, room, etc.
- the front desk staff and restaurant service was fantastic - courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly.
- descent location: close to gas station, restaurants, supermarket, parks, and attractions.
- clean and okay bed/bathroom
- parking lot is quite empty (charges apply)
- 2 pm check out for priority members is nice

Cons:
- everything doesn't work the way it's supposed to. Our faucet was wobbly. The water pressure was weak, and the shower switches from hot to cold continuously.
- the design of the bathroom is idiotic. There's a tiny glass pane with now shower doors or curtains. Try not to flood the bathroom...
- Internet was unstable
- unsure if the thermostat actually worked or it was playing a trick on us. We got up every 2 hours to adjust the temperature...the room was stuffy for an hour and then freezing cold the next.
- breakfast was not impressive, especially since we paid too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback, your feedback enables constantly improve our level of service. I’m pleased to read that you’ve liked the level of service provided by the team and the new design of our hotel. I truly believe that the team and the level of service they provide make the difference in every guests stay.

However I’m sorry to hear that you’ve experienced some troubles during your stay. We recently extended the hotel with a new wing and renovated our existing wing to make sure that all our services and product stayed up to standard. We are currently investigating your remarks especially concerning the water pressure and the heating in the room. All rooms are equipped with walking showers (with shower doors) or shower curtains.
Againg thank you for your feedback and I hope that we may welcome you and your family back in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Vincent Pahplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If this is a 5-star hotel (as rated in the Hague travel guides), I'd hate to see what the 3-star hotels are like. This hotel merits 3 stars at best. My room was nice, adequate in size, clean, and well maintained, but a colleague said her room was worn and shabby. the location is good, with 3 tram lines, including to the center of the Hague and to Delft less than 1/2 block away. The employees were nice, but. There was no concierge (I would expect that in a 5-star hotel). The desk personnel were of limited help. A friend and I were able to purchase a day pass for the tram from the desk. The previous day a colleague asked at the desk and was told that you had to go into the center of town to purchase such a pass. The wi-fi service was not very good. The free wi-fi was only for the internet and not e-mail. You got better service if you paid. The TV had few free channels, only one of which was in English. You had to pay for more TV channels. There was no place to print out your boarding passes. You could e-mail it to the hotel and they would print it out for you. I asked if I could print out my boarding pass at the computer and printer opposite the front desk and was told it wold cost me 5 Euros to do that. The free breakfast that came with the room was good.

As I said, this is a 3-star hotel at best. I expected much more from a place that received 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPahlplatz, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and great to hear that you’ve liked the location of the hotel, close to city centre and the beach and easy accessible both by car as public transport. However I’m sorry to read that we didn’t offer the level of service you could and should expect in a luxury hotel. As a guest may expect we offer the basic services such as concierge services and the possibility to print boarding passes, for some reason we failed to provide you with the service in a suitable matter. Your feedback is shared with the team and immediate action is taken to make sure this will and can’t happen again.

Again I would like to thank you for your feedback and I sincerely hope that we may welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Vincent Pahlplatz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is fundamentally not bad - reasonably refined decor in a fairly Seventies-style neighbourhood, opposite a gas station (but 10 minutes walk from the World Congress conference centre - hence the visit). The gym is good. What really let it down, however, was the dreadful internet service. Most visitors, I suspect, are on business, and providing a free wifi service that is just 256k and with patchy coverage is really not acceptable. It means that you can only establish a VPN if you use the paid-for service, even in the reception area - which if you are only in the hotel to sleep and use as a base, is a rip off. Would have given the hotel 4 - 4.5 if it wasn't for this - it was really annoying. According to the staff at the front desk, lots of people complain about it - no idea why they don't fix it, but it is clearly a management issue.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear WRH152,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept my apology for the inconvenience the internet connection may have caused you. Rest assured that these will be shared to our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and ensuring that you have a hassle free stay with us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two days at the Crown Plaza in Den Haag. The hotel is conveniently located, near the city centre. Stuff was friendly, Internet was free (sufficient for email, upgrades of the bandwidth available to purchase). Was greeted in my room with some freshly squeezed juice and strawberries. Fitness centre large, clean, good equipment. Rooms large, bed comfortable. Bathrooms in need of renovation, color is peeling off door for example. Dinner food was overpriced, both in terms of quality and quantity (7.50 for a handful of vegetables). Breakfast: good selection on cold cuts, eggs etc. Funny were the large tomatoes and cucumbers which were presented unpeeled and uncut, like just coming from the farm...a bit difficult to handle, per-cut/ready-to-eat pieces would be much better.
All in all, a good and solid experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Frank M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking and I will pass on your comments about the staff being friendly, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right. I apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade

Address: Van Stolkweg 1, 2585 JL The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade hotel is surrounded by beautiful woodlands, peacefully located in the direct vicinity of the O.P.C.W., the Yugoslavia Tribunal, the Peace Palace, the World Forum Convention Centre, miniature city of Madurodam, Scheveningen beach with its sophisticated boulevard and the lively shopping centre of downtown The Hague.The Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade hotel offers a high standard of service and deluxe accommodation. Throughout the building one can admire numerous paintings from prominent Dutch artists, a unique ongoing exhibition owned by the hotel and included in the official 'Guiness Book of Records.'Among the facilities of Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade you'll find spacious meeting accommodation, hotel rooms and suites. The unique 5-roomed Prominential Suite has been the 'home' for visiting heads of state, dignitaries and leading artists. The Brasserie Promenade restaurant and the Couperus bar with its Grand Cafe make this hotel a culinary paradise. The private parking lot for 200 cars is unique in The Hague. The unique features of the hotel make it the ideal venue for any corporate or leisure visit or any event in The Hague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade Hotel The Hague
Crowne Plaza The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Den Haag - Promenade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.