We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague to your Saves list
Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Johan De Wittlaan 30, 2517 JR The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Room was clean, modern and well appointed. Staff was very helpful & attentive, wifi was free and easily accessed. Breakfast was complete. Close to beach public transit, business area and museum. A little distance from city center.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirHotelTheHague, General Manager at Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Great to hear you find the Worldhotel Bel Air a nice hotel!
Spread the word I would say.

Trust to see you back.

Best regards,
Worldhotel Bel Air

Stephan van der Meulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    92
    53
    20
    3
See reviews for
10
46
16
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Reasonably priced, located within walking distance of several restaurants and shops, 10 minutes away from the city center by tram.
Great room, very clean. There was a convention going on at the hotel and plenty of people moving around and yet inside my room it was still quiet. Free wifi. Very friendly and efficient staff.
A place I surely recommend if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirHotelTheHague, General Manager at Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending the Worldhotel Bel Air as a great place to stay to have a good night sleep.

Please spread the word I would say!

Trust to see you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Worldhotel Bel Air


Stephan van der Meulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staff friendly, quick check in and check out. Rooms need refurbishing. No coffee making equipment in rooms. Parking expensive. Breakfast was included in my case and was ok.
Hotel is sort of in the middle of nowhere, about 30 min walk from city center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirHotelTheHague, General Manager at Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Worldhotel Bel Air and complimenting our staff.

Concerning your remarks I would like to inform you that we do offer rooms with coffee making facilities.

Please let us know when you will visit us again so we can provide your with a suiting roomtype and inform you about the shops, restaurants and bars in the close vicinity of the hotel.

Trust to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Worldhotel Bel Air

Stephan van der Meulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This 4 star hotel belongs to a famous 3-4 start hotels chain group of europe with the name of Golden Tulip Hotels. I got this hotel booked from their London Hotel Branch with a per day cost of 110 Euros including Breakfast. I stayed in this hotel for a good period of 15 days in december 2005. I was given a very warm welcome when I reached there in the early morning hours. The staff of the hotel will look always fresh and warm. I was asked if I would like to change my room from a non-smoking zone to smoking zone, which I refused.


The hotel has 10 floors with around 35 rooms on each floor. Only the first floor is smoking zone. So if you want to smoke in the hotel you will have to book your room on floor one. there is a big restaurant on the right of reception on the ground floor which can accomodate around 100-120 persons.


The breakfast was included in my stay and it used to be a grand breakfast in all senses. You have a minibar in each room. Room was perfectly above my expectations in all respects be it cleanliness or anything. I got the room facing the main road so used to observe a lot of traffic during the day. I used to observe lot of people jogging and walking during the day as temperature would be low during this period (around 1 degrees to 6 degrees) anytime during the day would be good for exercise.


Cycling is one of the very common obsession of people of any age here. The hotel is situated in the heart of Den Haag City adjacent to the famous National Science Museum (Museon) on one side and some international organization buildings like OPCW, World Trade Centre on the other side. The hotel is just 5 minutes away from the main Beach Scheveningen. You will have to go to beach from here by Tram (no. 1). The beach is just opposite to the world famous ''The Holland Casino'' and Queen's Old Palace (which is now converted to a hotel).


The harbor of the Hague is on the walking distance from Hotel golden Tulip. And you will find a number of good restaurants (Thai, Malyasian, Chinese etc.) and people are fond of eating out. Dinner and Lunch timings are early here. Dinners would be around 6-8pm. Wine or Beer with Dinner is very common here. Every Friday a live band show will be there in my hotel restaurant. The hotel has around 324 guestrooms, 8 suites and 8 apartments. A good indoor heated swimming pool, 24 hours bar, cosy rooms with heaters working round the clock, wireless and wired internet available in all the rooms 24 hours a day. I used to pay 17 euros per day for unlimited usage of internet and it was truly broadband connection. TV, taxi, morning alarm,


I utilised all the facilities and found them up to the mark. The staff was active round the clock, services and assistance is very good. Due to Christmas month the hotel was decorated and the people from all around the world could be seen in the hotel for vacations. On weekends, you will find restaurants full upto large extent for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Overall a great hotel for business travellers, slightly let down by its restaurant. I was with a group of delegates and we booked an evening meal for over 20 people. Despite the fact that we had pre-agreed menu choices with them, the service was slow and the portions small (the price wasn't!). But that was the only downer. The buffet breakfast was good and the hotel bar is in a light and airy setting.

As the focus of the trip was a conference at the World Forum (next door) the location was perfect. It also did not take long to get the centre of the beach area (Scheveningen). A tram journey from a stop about 5 minutes walk from the Hotel took 5 minutes, and it was possible to walk the whole way in around 30 minutes. The Scheveningen area has excellent restaurants and beach bars.

The large hotel room was clean and functional, but the WiFi could be slow at peak times, and sometimes it was not possible to get on at all. They need to review the system capacity.

Overall the staff were great.

Room Tip: Get as high up in the building as you can, for some great views over the Hague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirHotelTheHague, General Manager at Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with me on Tripsadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you find our hotel and staff great!

Sorry to hear that your experience in the restaurant was not what you had expected. We took your comments on board and will take action accordingly.

Trust we will be able to welcome you again in our hotel, please contact me when you do so we can make your next restaurant experience a memorable one!

Best regards,
Worldhotel Bel Air

Stephan van der Meulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

No coffee service in the rooms. Room 113 too small. Bathtub had permanent stain. Brochures next to the elevators are all in dutch - nothing in english. Really annoyed. Had to move to the novotel hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirHotelTheHague, General Manager at Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest,

I am dissapointed to hear that you had to move to the Novotel during your stay.

Could you be so kind to contact me on +31 70 352 53 55 so we can discuss the matter and solve it to your satisfaction. You can also e-mail me at info@belairhotel.nl with your contact details so we are able to contact you.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Best regards,
Worldhotel Bel Air

Stephan van der Meulen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is situated near the World Congress Forum and the ICTY in The Hague - but only 15 minutes' walk from the coast. The hotel is welcoming and professional - a big hotel but with a very friendly atmosphere. The staff are top-level and clients are treated like VIPs. The bedrooms are large and well furnished, and the service is excellent.

The hotel is perfectly situated so that it is easy to enjoy and walk around local part of town during breaks from meetings, and is surrounded by museums and restaurants.

A great experience for a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirHotelTheHague, General Manager at Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Awesome to read you had great business trip in the Worldhotel Bel Air.

We always do our utmost to let our guest feel special. Great that you experienced this!

Trust to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Worldhotel Bel Air

Stephan van der Meulen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague

Address: Johan De Wittlaan 30, 2517 JR The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#13 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#19 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Worldhotel Bel Air is a 4-star The Hague hotel ideally situated in the middle of “Het Statenkwartier” across Prime-Minister's residence ”Het Catshuis” and next to the “Gemeentemuseum”.The comfortable rooms and spacious suites offer a views of the sea and lovely The Hague skyline. All rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, flatscreen TV's and air-conditioning.The hotel has the latest in meeting and conference facilities, 300 hotel rooms, trendy Restaurant Purple, Brasserie Butterfly, authentic Embassy Jazz Bar, Bar Lounge, a fitness room and private parking. Worldhotel Bel Air is easily accessible because of it’s convenient location between city centre and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip The Hague
The Hague Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worldhotel Bel Air The Hague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.