We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hofweg 5-7, 2511 AA The Hague, The Netherlands (Zuidwal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was generally very pleased with this hotel. Very central location, a minute to a tram stop, 15 mins walk to Centraal station. Reception helpful with computer and good local info. I had an external room with rooftop views and only noise experienced was seagulls and a thunderstorm. Room spacious with toilet and wardrobe area separated by internal door. Bathroom excellent with good overbath shower. Bed comfortable (I have questioned Novotel mattresses in the past but this was fine). Good desk area. Plentiful storage (although agree with other comments that some closable draw, hanging space would be better than all open). Good multi channel tv (inc BBC1 and 2). Fridge with water at Euro 3 a bottle (a shame as I do feel a bottle per day should be included in rate). Paper cups/stirrer not ideal but I understand this an environmental choice. Breakfast was of good quality and choice but room very crowded and staff struggling to clear tables, replenish food (though a single traveller on next table actually had all his food cleared away whilst he refilled his coffee cup). If visiting The Hague again (and you should !, delightful small city with world class museums, great restaurants, shops and beach promenade 15 mins away by tram) I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    251
    79
    13
    4
See reviews for
158
147
38
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I usually favor either a boutique hotel with local charm or a business hotel with modern conveniences...this falls short of both. The service was good..friendly and efficient and the location is ideal..right in the middle of everything and walking distance to the restaurant and shopping hangouts. What I though was an oversight is the design of the rooms. Firstly they seem to face the inside of the "Passage" which is an indoor/outdoor mall of sorts and thus every sound made is echoed and magnified way into the wee hours of the morning. The electrical sockets were in the worst places..nowhere to plug in near a mirror. The bathroom had no place to put any of the toiletries or hooks for hanging anything. The faucet on the sink was on the leftside and the water splashed each time it was turned on creating a mess. The space allowed to hang your clothes was open and limited and there were no drawers anywhere to put anything in. For a long stay its is quite annoying to keep your clothes in a suitcase.We booked a suite as our daughter was accompanying us and wanted a second area for a pull out bed...however the suite turned out to be a bedroom with a couch which was left made up in a bed the whole time leaving us no place but the beds to sit on. No counter space, no place but the one desk to sit on...and the worst of all...the toilet was in a separate part of the room away from the bathroom..which is fine..but it had no sink. So you had to go from the toilet to the bathroom each time to wash your hands. It just seemed like there was no thought put into the design of the room. This was my first time with the Novotel chain..and probably my last.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

the hotel itself is very simple but the location in the city, the service and the food were very very good. most recomanded for families. all of us enjoyed the stay. many shops and resturants around. the nearby passge is amazing itself.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novoteldenhaagcity, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind and detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful The Hague!

Janine Kots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated in the city center of Den Haag,
I was there together with my husband for a trip of 3 days, stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
there is an underground parking for your car, we left our car there for the 3 days, rate was 17 € per day, which is ok.
the room is very good, clean and has all things you need
there if free wifi, which works fine
the personal is very nice and friendly.
we had breakfast in the hotel, which was really good, no remarks !
I would really recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the hotel...what a great place to be. Right in the centre opposite the Parliament Buildings. We were looking for a house for our Son and his Wife to live in so not in the hotel a great deal but what we saw was good.
We had a room on the 6th floor over looking the roof tops of the shops. It was everything you want from a hotel room and more. We really enjoyed the sofa and the nearly empty fridge so we could put our own drinks in. Great AC as when we arrived it was 34oC!
The breakfast worked for me even though I am Coeliac. No bread, but enough fruit, meat, cheese and eggs to keep me going. The staff were lovely always ready to help and everything was done with a smile.
The reception were also very approachable and willing to help in any way they could again with a smile.
Since we found a place for our Son to live we won't be needing a hotel in Den Haag but if we needed to recommend one this would be it.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor at the end.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hire bikes from the Central Railway Station. 100 Euro's deposit and 7.50 E for the day. You need photo ID. Opens around 04.45hrs and shuts at about 01.00hrs. A great way to see the city and surrounding district.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Location, location, location! Plus, the bed was comfy, rooms clean, breakfast had a huge selection to appeal to every custom (eggs, breads, cheeses, meats, cereal, yogurt, fruit), and the staff was friendly.

We stayed 2nights. Our room was on the 1st floor along the Passage (shopping area), but since it was a monday night it was quiet. On tuesday the noise was minimal at bed time.

We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in The Hague and really enjoyed my stay. Upon arrival I was given an upgrade to the executive floor. The room was very comfortable and large.. As it is located in an 100-year old shopping gallery all I could see from the two windows was the glass panels of the ceiling the gallery. The black out curtains blocked the light perfectly. The bathroom was modern with bath and shower separated in one room and the loo in another space.There was a Nespresso coffee machine as well as an electrical tea kettle.A sofa which I imagine could be transformed into an aditional bed and a working zone with place for computer,with the television and iPod station..Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice. The best thing is the location so central I could walk everywhere I needed during the day. The only minus thing is the linen which could be of better quality. Maybe it has poliester in the composition,it looks old and feels rough on the face.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novoteldenhaagcity, General Manager at Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind and detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful The Hague!

Kind Regards,

Janine Kots
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Zuidwal
Suite Novotel The Hague City Centre
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton The Hague
#2 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
NH Den Haag
#10 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Novotel Den Haag World Forum
#34 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre

Address: Hofweg 5-7, 2511 AA The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Zuidwal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in The Hague
#4 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#12 Business Hotel in The Hague
#12 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#14 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Den Haag City Centre is a 4 star hotel in the monumental Haagse Passage shopping arcade in the very heart of The Hague.The hotel is located opposite the Binnenhof (The Dutch parliament) and within walking distance of museums and shopping streets.The central location makes it ideal for a business stay or weekend away. Our cosy rooms feature paid WiFi and complimentary high speed internet. The hotel also offers meeting rooms,a bar, restaurant and parking garage.The hotel is 100% non smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hotel The Hague
Novotel The Hague
The Hague Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.