We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We arrived about 9pm after a tough day and were delighted with the freindly and helpful service from the staff on the front desk, as well as the very comfortable room and quiet central location. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. My colleague Jake was delighted to hear that you have appreciated the warm welcome he offered you upon arrival. It would be a great pleasure to have you as our guests again in the future, so we are looking forward to your next visit to The Hague.
With best regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    76
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
109
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel is clean and nice and well situated close to the centre. The service is good and attentioned. Our room was on the first floor and the single-glassed windows let the traffic noise pass. Fortunately it was a quiet evening!

Room Tip: The rooms to the back or Sophielaan are calmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and compliments, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests! The beds in our Signature Rooms on the first floor are outrageously comfortable, so it would be a shame if the traffic noice would have kept you awake. Luckily the hotel is located in a quiet area of the city centre, so we hardly have any noice disturbance at night, but just to be sure, we have added a note with a request for a quiet room to your reservation profile!
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
With best regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly staff, good breakfast and restaurant, plus a good location, all make this hotel a very good choice. The room was very comfortable with a good bed. The location is good, about a ten minute walk to the downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Geoffrey,

What a pleasure to read your review, thank you so much for your feedback! On behalf of our Chef, Edward Kreuger, thanks a lot for recommending our breakfast and restaurant. We love to prepare the eggs the way you like them during breakfast. Have you already had the chance to try one of our "Ambassador toasties" from the MoodBook menu? Thank you for being our guest!Please make sure you come back to stay with us again so that you can enjoy another memorable stay.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, Surrey. U.K.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Above anything else, the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff is the biggest selling point of this hotel.
The rooms are well decorated and maintained they are clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast was well presented with plenty of choice including freshly cooked eggs to order.
I will stay at this hotel again and have no reservations in recommending the hotel to anyone who is visitig The Hague.

Room Tip: My room was on the 4th Floor and was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Chris,

Wow, mentioning our team as the biggest selling point is a fantastic compliment! Thank you so much for this, it makes us very proud. Also great to read that you experienced the room as clean, comfortable and well equipped. Thank you for being our guest and for your recommendation that the Ambassador is the place to stay in The Hague. Looking forward to your next visit!

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The few visits I have made over the years were further confirmed by staying here. Excellent rooms. Can't fault anything. Staff committed and engaging.. The location is perfect. A short walk from the centre of the city centre and in a quiet area. You won't be disappointed staying here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Sutton,

Thank you for your great review and for recommending Carlton Ambassador to the Tripadvior community. We are delighted that you loved so much about Carlton Ambassador.
Please make sure you come to stay with us again as we look forward to creating more happy memories for you!

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent a torrid weekend at this hotel, service was warm, friendly and professional.
Room was clean, well equipped, with a great bright bathroom.
I would highly recommend the place.
Small but thoughtful touch, was offered free coffee whilst waiting for a cab on a rainy day...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your amazing review! Sharing your experiences bij letting the Tripadvisor readers know that the Carlton Ambassador is the place to stay in The Hague is a huge compliment for our team. I really appreciate your compliment about the small touch offered by one of our staff members whilst you were waiting for a cab on a rainy day. We are very much looking forward to your next visit to The Hague.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for leisure. Weather was really hot but aircon was great and kept room lovely and cool throughout. Staff were all pleasant and willing to help with anything I needed. Great breakfast. Good fast free wifi in the room. My room contained everything I would expect to find - all well maintained and very clean.

On a really quiet street but just two minutes walk to tram/bus stop to take you direct to city centre or the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Archie,

We are so pleased that our team helped to create such a comfortable stay for you. Good to hear that the air conditioning kept your room cool and that you were able to enjoy the fantastic weather in our city during your four nights stay. Our new breakfast Chef Jimmy loves your great comments about the quality of breakfast and looks forward to prepare your eggs again soon!
Thanks for taking the time to write such a beautiful review.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#9 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.