We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly staff, good breakfast and restaurant, plus a good location, all make this hotel a very good choice. The room was very comfortable with a good bed. The location is good, about a ten minute walk to the downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Geoffrey,

What a pleasure to read your review, thank you so much for your feedback! On behalf of our Chef, Edward Kreuger, thanks a lot for recommending our breakfast and restaurant. We love to prepare the eggs the way you like them during breakfast. Have you already had the chance to try one of our "Ambassador toasties" from the MoodBook menu? Thank you for being our guest!Please make sure you come back to stay with us again so that you can enjoy another memorable stay.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    64
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
86
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warlingham, Surrey. U.K.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Above anything else, the friendly and helpful attitude of the staff is the biggest selling point of this hotel.
The rooms are well decorated and maintained they are clean, comfortable and well equipped.
Breakfast was well presented with plenty of choice including freshly cooked eggs to order.
I will stay at this hotel again and have no reservations in recommending the hotel to anyone who is visitig The Hague.

Room Tip: My room was on the 4th Floor and was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Chris,

Wow, mentioning our team as the biggest selling point is a fantastic compliment! Thank you so much for this, it makes us very proud. Also great to read that you experienced the room as clean, comfortable and well equipped. Thank you for being our guest and for your recommendation that the Ambassador is the place to stay in The Hague. Looking forward to your next visit!

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The few visits I have made over the years were further confirmed by staying here. Excellent rooms. Can't fault anything. Staff committed and engaging.. The location is perfect. A short walk from the centre of the city centre and in a quiet area. You won't be disappointed staying here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Mr. Sutton,

Thank you for your great review and for recommending Carlton Ambassador to the Tripadvior community. We are delighted that you loved so much about Carlton Ambassador.
Please make sure you come to stay with us again as we look forward to creating more happy memories for you!

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent a torrid weekend at this hotel, service was warm, friendly and professional.
Room was clean, well equipped, with a great bright bathroom.
I would highly recommend the place.
Small but thoughtful touch, was offered free coffee whilst waiting for a cab on a rainy day...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your amazing review! Sharing your experiences bij letting the Tripadvisor readers know that the Carlton Ambassador is the place to stay in The Hague is a huge compliment for our team. I really appreciate your compliment about the small touch offered by one of our staff members whilst you were waiting for a cab on a rainy day. We are very much looking forward to your next visit to The Hague.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for leisure. Weather was really hot but aircon was great and kept room lovely and cool throughout. Staff were all pleasant and willing to help with anything I needed. Great breakfast. Good fast free wifi in the room. My room contained everything I would expect to find - all well maintained and very clean.

On a really quiet street but just two minutes walk to tram/bus stop to take you direct to city centre or the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Archie,

We are so pleased that our team helped to create such a comfortable stay for you. Good to hear that the air conditioning kept your room cool and that you were able to enjoy the fantastic weather in our city during your four nights stay. Our new breakfast Chef Jimmy loves your great comments about the quality of breakfast and looks forward to prepare your eggs again soon!
Thanks for taking the time to write such a beautiful review.

With best regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A beautiful small hotel in a beautiful part of The Hague. Staff very helpful and knowledgable about the area and local transport, they even had tramtickets for us and printed out routes to take from the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with coffee and tea facilities and bathrooms spotless. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the centre of town with its government departments and also very close to the Peace Palace. Restaurant and terrace pleasant and food and service excellent. Train station not far for direct access to the Amsterdam Airport. Marianne v

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Marianne,

Thank you for your fantastic review, you have given us a superb description of Carlton Ambassador. It is always a pleasure to receive great reviews and recommendations from our guests. Our Chef (Edward Kreuger) and Food & Beverage Manager (Jules Blanken) are more than happy with your compliments about the quality of the food and service. They are looking forward to serve you again on our sunny terrace!

With kind regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menemsha, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

On a recent trip through France, Belgium, Holland, and Iceland this is the hotel about which we will have the longest good memories. Tired of a long road trip that had us going astray a couple times we arrived exhausted, but our spirits were quickly revived by the genuine warmth and helpfulness of the staff from the moment we arrived. And that genuinely warm spirit of hospitality was evident throughout or two-day stay. We have stayed in very good hotels in Asia and Europe but can unreservedly this one as among the best as an overall experience. One more note: we also loved the location. It is in a quiet neighborhood yet within walking distance of the city center.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are comfortable and tastefully done. Be sure to get a room facing the (qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a huge compliment to read such glowing feedback, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with the world. Fantastic to hear that, during a trip through several countries, you will have the longest good memories of Carlton Ambassador. We love to offer the ambience you describe! You might skip one country next time to stay longer at the Ambassador, we are looking forward to that moment.

With warm regards,
Arwin Paulides
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#9 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.