We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophialaan 2, The Hague 2514 JP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in The Hague
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel was chosen as the meeting place for Eisenhower Fellowships alumna to meet for a weekend of discussions/social enjoyment, and it proved very successful. The hotel is nicely situated amongst quiet diplomatic residences and within walking distance of the centre of The Hague. The room was pleasant (it was difficult to reach the clothes hangers as everything is so high) and the staff helpful. The food is very good. We had as buffet dinner and the display of dishes was of a high standard.

Beware if you are driving. Parking is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for this wonderful review. It was a great pleasure to welcome the Eishower Fellowship in our hotel and we really enjoyed having you as our guests. We have shared your comments with our entire team and especially with our Chef! With best regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    54
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
67
11
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel is located in beautiful neighborhood close to public transit, center of city and the staff was helpful. However, our room was worn, the soap dish and safety handle in the shower were loose, wifi was very hit or miss, wallpaper was scraped and base of sink was cracked. Heard that the signature rooms were nice, and for the price we expected a little more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest.
We offer free unlimited WiFi access in our entire hotel and generally this service is really appreciated by our guests. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while trying to access the internet. We do our utmost to maintain our rooms in the best possible way and unfortunately you did not experience this.
We sincerely hope to welcome you in our hotel at another time in order to make sure that you will enjoy the kind of stay that other guests have written about on Tripadvisor.
With best regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I wish I could give 5 stars. Unfortunately hotel's staff behaviour was far of being perfect.

For quite a long time I haven't met such an incompetent and unfriendly receptionists. The guy at the check in was terribly serious and didn't make a good impression. As it was a kind of punishment for him working there. As we upgraded the room he helped with the bags but in rather silly way taking mine and letting my female friend to take care of her own bag. It's not anti-feministic, just c'mon help the lady. But the worst was to come. At the check out they charged us too much for the upgrade and the parking. As we said that yesterday we've been told about 25 euros, the webpage says 25 euros and there was huge poster in the lobby saying 25 euros, the girl charged 30 euros and even didn't bother to check it. I know it's terribly small amount of money but really? She looked as it was her summer student job and she didn't care at all. Very, very, very bad impression! Also the waitresses during the breakfast, all very friendly and kind, didn't care much about used plates on our table. They should be more attentive.

My friend wrote about this to the manager and she quickly respond and apologise and offered us free upgrade next time, which was really good idea because we liked the hotel (our room) so much.

Now only nice things! The (signature) room was just beautiful! Very stylish, very comfortable, perfect bed, nice bathroom! It was one of the nicest room I've seen. The first one - I think deluxe one - wasn't so bad neither, but for 25 euros we wanted to spoil us a little bit. Very good idea. I would just recommend the hotel for the room.

I just loved the breakfast, I've got poached eggs, good coffee. The breakfast buffet was rich and food was very tasty. Loved the idea with individual little bottles of milk. The dining room was also pleasant and all together I had very enjoyable breakfast.

I highly recommend the hotel and I'm going to stay there again in the nearest future.

Room Tip: Book signature room or upgraded your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Following our reply to your friend's review, we would also like to inform you that the charges for the upgrade to our Signature Room were incorrect and have been refunded immediately. Furthermore we would like to emphasize that the service you have experienced is far from our standard and we sincerely apologize for this. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon. During your next visit we would really like you to experience a stay as it should have been, starting with a free upgrade to our lovely Signature Room! With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location is on a very pretty, quiet, leafy street near the central area (10 min) walk. It's in the embassy area, so there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity. However, a tram stop is conveniently located just a few minutes walk away (at the end of street, near the circle). The room was comfortable and charming with period furnishings in cheerful colors. The coffee/tea station was equipped with a water kettle and chocolate candies. The bathroom was a good size with a separate tub and shower. Bathrobes were a nice extra. The bedding was high quality. The Hotel staff was cheerful and very helpful. They provided an area map and were knowledgable with directions during our stay. I also had an issue with a lost passport and they went out of their way to help me. They took my issue seriously, and made significant efforts to assist me. They even followed up with me via a phone call after I had checked out of he hotel. I was very grateful and impressed by their customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Carlton Ambassador as your base whilst you were in The Hague. We are so pleased you enjoyed our central location and that our front office team was able to assist you with your lost passport. Thank you also for your comments on our guestrooms and bathrooms. Fantastic that you were impressed by our customer service! We do hope that you come back to the Ambassador during your next visit to The Hague!
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with the most helpful staff who helped us trace our missing luggage. Comfortable room with everything you could need. An easy walk into the centre of the city and near transport links to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review and also for your recommendation. We are thrilled that you choose to stay at Carlton Ambassador and we are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here when me and my husband went to visit some friends in The Hague and the hotel is very good.
It was clean and a good location. We were very pleased during our stay. Not the best in the area but very good for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arwin_Paulides, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review of Carlton Ambassador. We are glad that you and your husband experienced our hotel as very good. We sincerely hope you have the opportunity to come back to the Ambassador so we can make sure your next stay far exceeds your expectations. With best regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and staff, hearty ....breakfast and good size rooms.
The hotel is several blocks from the primary Resturants and shopping. For the price a good value. I would stay there's again...............................

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We kindly thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in our hotel with other travelers. We would be pleased to welcome you back to our hotel during a future visit to The Hague.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Address: Sophialaan 2, The Hague 2514 JP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.