We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent one night at the Ambassador hotel in October and was impressed by the warm welcome and friendly personnel. Also, the extensive breakfast including a variety of warm dishes was very much to my liking. Upon request, these dishes could be customised to specifc needs.
Although the hotel is situated on a central location, with all of The Hague's virtues at close distance, the direct environment of the hotel is very quiet. Final point worth mentioning are the excellent beds, which ensured a good night's sleep. All in all a definite come-back-to hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words about our hotel and service. We have shared your review with our entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to The Hague.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    70
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
99
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I moved to this hotel since it is near to my colleague apartment. The price is extremely expensive for the quality of the hotel. Though it is clean and nicely decorated, you can notice that most of the furniture and bed are quite old. I am sure that there are other hotels in Den Haag with similar quality but more attractive price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent hotel and superb staff. Great location in and around all the embassies and not to far from the centre. I had stayed here on several occasions and have found every room very charming ad tastefull decorated with very comforatble beds. Breakfast is a little megre but fresh eggs make up for this.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to share your experiences in our hotel with other travellers. We have had the pleasure of welcoming you numerous times of the last few years and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. Though I was only there for a short time, the service I received was absolutely fantastic. From reception, to room service, to the bar - the staff were friendly and polite.

The room itself was large and comfortable. My only critique is that there were two twin beds pushed together, instead of a king size bed. That didn't matter too much to me though, as I was only staying for one night.

The bar was nice and had an extensive range of beverages. The breakfast in the morning was good too.

Would certainly stay here again when I am back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay in our hotel, which we have shared with the entire staff.
We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced because of the twin beds. Please don't hesitate to inform us about your preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate your wishes.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is simply one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Located in the Diplomatic quarter within easy reach of the city centre attractions and trom stop for a trip to the nearby seaside at Schevenigen.

Restaurant excellent including champagne for breakfast if that appeals. Fresh food and fruit in great abundance.

A very large and comfortable room, beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012. Wonderful location, very nice and well-appointed rooms, very caring staff who went out of their way to take care of guests and give tips on what to see and do. Would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel this month and we are happy with it. It is comfortable and nice boutique hotel, and if we go to the Hague again this is where we would be staying. It is close to the center yet it is in a quiet area which makes it perfect for resting. The hotel inside is also quiet, very friendly staff which makes you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to The Hague.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#3 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#10 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.