We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Save Saved
You added Carlton Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Ambassador Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in The Hague
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent hotel and superb staff. Great location in and around all the embassies and not to far from the centre. I had stayed here on several occasions and have found every room very charming ad tastefull decorated with very comforatble beds. Breakfast is a little megre but fresh eggs make up for this.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to share your experiences in our hotel with other travellers. We have had the pleasure of welcoming you numerous times of the last few years and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    55
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
69
12
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. Though I was only there for a short time, the service I received was absolutely fantastic. From reception, to room service, to the bar - the staff were friendly and polite.

The room itself was large and comfortable. My only critique is that there were two twin beds pushed together, instead of a king size bed. That didn't matter too much to me though, as I was only staying for one night.

The bar was nice and had an extensive range of beverages. The breakfast in the morning was good too.

Would certainly stay here again when I am back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about your stay in our hotel, which we have shared with the entire staff.
We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced because of the twin beds. Please don't hesitate to inform us about your preferences and we will do our utmost to accommodate your wishes.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is simply one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Located in the Diplomatic quarter within easy reach of the city centre attractions and trom stop for a trip to the nearby seaside at Schevenigen.

Restaurant excellent including champagne for breakfast if that appeals. Fresh food and fruit in great abundance.

A very large and comfortable room, beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012. Wonderful location, very nice and well-appointed rooms, very caring staff who went out of their way to take care of guests and give tips on what to see and do. Would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel this month and we are happy with it. It is comfortable and nice boutique hotel, and if we go to the Hague again this is where we would be staying. It is close to the center yet it is in a quiet area which makes it perfect for resting. The hotel inside is also quiet, very friendly staff which makes you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with other travellers. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to The Hague.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Two colleagues stayed in this hotel. Well travelled, but first time in The Hague, and they really enjoyed it. We had lunch together o nthe terrace. The dagmenu was superb. Warm, mixed fish salad, followed by strawberries and cream. Fresh, and beautifully served.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Our Chef was especially pleased with your comments about the lunch you have enjoyed on our terrace. Hopefully we will able to welcome you again on another sunny day!
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Carlton Ambassador is very nice place. I needed a place to stay in The Hague for a business trip and the Carton was recommended to me by a friend.
The hotel is located relatively close (walking distance) to the city centre, but there is no direct need to leave the hotel at all. They have a very good restaurant and a nice bar where I was able to enjoy some of the finer whiskys from their huge collection.
The staff is friendly and helpfull and always available. The rooms have all you'd expect in a hotel room. They are clean and the beds are comfortable.
If I ever need a place to pend the night in The Hague again (business or pleasure) I will surely return to the Carton Ambassador.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonAmbassador, General Manager at Carlton Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are ever so grateful for the wonderful comments you have shared on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure having you as a guest in our hotel and we sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you again. We are confident that we still have a few whisky's you would appreciate.
With kind regards, Arwin Paulides - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Ambassador Hotel

Address: Sophialaan 2, 2514 JP The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in The Hague
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#8 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Ambassador Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Carlton Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlton Ambassador
Carlton Ambassador The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.