We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central

Save Saved
You added Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spui 180, 2511 BW The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in The Hague
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrived here for business, you cannot get a better hotel in the heart of The Hague.
Conveniently located in the centre of The Hague! Public transportation nearby, shops etc. aswell

Rooms were very clean and neat. Warm interior with everything you need. Beds were good and i had a nice view across the square looking right into City hall. It is very much a business hotel and would recommend it as such. Families should look elsewhere.

Breakfast was decent and everything was there, had a slightly grumpy employee who didn't greet me when i did, but, small things can happen. It did not ruin my overall experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    187
    39
    7
    0
See reviews for
46
123
43
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Mercure is an efficient, clean and good hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of The Hague, the central station, etc... It does not have much character or atmosphere but rooms and bathrooms are modern and clean. You can be sure of what you are getting when you book here even if it does not have the "wow" factor of some hotels. I have stayed here on and off over the last four years - probably 5 or 6 times a year. For a "chain" hotel, the reception staff are particularly good and welcoming.The evening meal options are limited but buffet style breakfast is good.

Room Tip: There is very little difference between the normal (on lower floors) and superior rooms (higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The exterior of this hotel isn't impressive but I really liked the interior and the effectiveness of the staff. Really nice lobby and effective rooms. Everyhting is modern, clean and it is easy to stay there. The reception staff was very helpful and had no lines. The location is much downtown, close to shops and restaurants and both of the stations. Little further away from World Forum where I had the meetings but that's ok, rather stay in a downtown hotel than close to the conference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again in our hotel, in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Havind to spend three days in The Hague while en route, we decided to stay in the Mercure hotel. The hotel is situated in walking distance of the city center. We booked this hotel through booking.com, because of which we received a significantly better rate including breakfast! The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms are modern, clean and simply decorated. The beds are fine and eveything is fresh and clean.
There is a closed parking next to the entrance of the hotel which is convenient albeit a little bit expensive. The normal cost of this parking is 25 euros per 24 hours, but the hotel gives you a discount of 5 euros. So parking is convenient. The breakfast is absolutely marvelous! I have seen almost every kitchen in the world taken into acount! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your response. The price should be the same on every site;
we will check our procedures, to offer the best price everywhere.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rooms are of a fair size with all the amenities you expect. Comfortable bed. Spacious shower with good water pressure. Very clean. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. Room service was on-time and the food was of good quality. The wifi is free, fast and stable. I appreciated having an empty mini-fridge instead of a stocked minibar, this way I could keep a few things like yogurt and fresh milk. The location is very central, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, etc... I walked there from Den Haag Centraal train station and it took less than 10 mn.

My only criticism of this hotel is that it is rather sterile and dull, it didn't bother me but some people may not like it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Good to see that your stay in our hotel was convenient. Hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want a reasonably priced hotel in the middle of the Hague, especially for business travel, this is a good hotel to use. It has reasonable meeting rooms and free wifi. The bedrooms are comfortable and not fussy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. Hope to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central

Address: Spui 180, 2511 BW The Hague, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#5 Family Hotel in The Hague
#5 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#6 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#7 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Den Haag Central is located in the lively heart of The Hague, within walking distance of several ministeries, the inviting shopping streets and numerous theatres. Schiphol Airport is only 45 km from The Hague. The hotel boasts 159 completely refurbished executive rooms, a cosy bar which also serves meals and a public undercover car park. Our hotel is the right address to make your meeting a success. Our hotel is 100% non smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure The Hague
Accor The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.